The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control Established on Throw In (NFHS) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55469-team-control-established-throw-nfhs.html)

jearef Sat Mar 13, 2010 08:14pm

[QUOTE=Rags43;668170]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637095)
The difference is that in 9.9.1D, the player catches the ball in the air after it was touched. When it is touched, the throwin ends. When he catches it, player control and team control are established. Since he has FC status when he catches it (he jumped from the FC), it's a violation when he lands in the BC. The exception only applies if the airborne catch is the touch that ends the throwin.

In 4.12.6B, player/team control isn't established until the ball and player are both in the BC.

Does this help?


Not sure this is correct High School wise. When touched, yes throw in ends. This DOES end the throwin, but DOESN'T establish Team Control. He caught the ball in the air, so where he started doesn't matter when it is thrown from out of bounds. He has Team Control in Backcourt. 10 Second Count begins. NO Backcourt Violation.

Where he started doesn't matter? :confused: :confused:

Camron Rust Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:51pm

[quote=Rags43;668170]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637095)
The difference is that in 9.9.1D, the player catches the ball in the air after it was touched. When it is touched, the throwin ends. When he catches it, player control and team control are established. Since he has FC status when he catches it (he jumped from the FC), it's a violation when he lands in the BC. The exception only applies if the airborne catch is the touch that ends the throwin.

In 4.12.6B, player/team control isn't established until the ball and player are both in the BC.

Does this help?


Not sure this is correct High School wise. When touched, yes throw in ends. This DOES end the throwin, but DOESN'T establish Team Control. He caught the ball in the air, so where he started doesn't matter when it is thrown from out of bounds. He has Team Control in Backcourt. 10 Second Count begins. NO Backcourt Violation.

As illogicial and idiotic as the current ruling is, the above play is a violation.

The rule SHOULD be that team control is established when a player is dribbling or holding the ball and has both feet in contact with the floor....but it is not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1