![]() |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
a foul, but it's okay to yield to your partner here just because he gave a prelim, which you believe to be wrong, and you gave none? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. I have not spoken with an assigner, rules interpreter, or even just a veteran official who reads this differently. 2. It doesn't make sense to think they wrote a case play to enable two beligerent referees who refused to yield. If they wanted it done the way the college women do it, they'd have worded the case play the same way. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
You are arguing with the wrong people on this. In fact, you have now also earned my "Tilting at Windmills" Award (which I usually reserve for Snaqs): http://www.hope.edu/dining/catering/...s/windmill.jpg I agree the "best" method is the NCAA-W method, which is the 2 officials come together and figure out whose primary the call should come from, and go with one call. But we do not get that option in NFHS, no matter how hard you try to fit it in to your logic. It is straight forward, in black-and-white, and in the case of the blarge only. If you want to lobby the rules committee to change it, I'll be one of the first to sign your petition. In the meantime, rulz is rulz. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Some things can be done without trying. |
Quote:
Just my two cents. |
Quote:
Plus, if that coach knows the rule, you'll have an even more difficult time getting him to understand why he's getting screwed. |
Ironically, we sorta had one of these tonight. BV two whistle I was lead. A1 driving to the basket down the far side of the lane. I called a blocking foul, and went to report it. Partner had switched and was already on the end line holding the ball by the time I had finished. Coach B asked what I had called. I said blocking on 21. He said "What did y'all do, flip a coin?" About this time somebody in the stands yelled "He called offense." We moved on.
After the game partner told me had indeed blown his whistle and made the PC signal, but when he saw my hand up he immediately deferred because he thought I had the best look. The contact he saw was the dribbler clearing out with the inside arm, and I'm still not sure, but I think his whistle was first. With the benefit of instant replay, I think we would have gone with his call, but he made the decision to give up his call, and it turned out not to be a big deal. So, my question now is, this was not a true blarge, but we did make conflicting preliminary signals, so do you hardliners say this had to be a double foul or not? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Perhaps your objection is that too many "notional blarges" end up being treated as "true blarges" by following the procedure of the case play. |
Quote:
Our play had significant differences from the case play. The point of the question was whether some think that the opposing preliminary signals aspect is broad enough to cover this situation as well. I, obviously, do not. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm. |