![]() |
Quote:
Like it or not, NCAA-M and NFHS say that once the officials signal with opposite calls in a block/charge, it is too late for either to change...with an exception for being in the restricted area. |
If that's true, then I am wrong. I can live with that. I will continue to pregame holding signals to stay out of the blarge nightmare. Because even if I am right, having two officials with two different calls and signals is a pregameable and avoidable situation.
|
Quote:
The narrow reading of this, in plain language, leads to the very simple conclusion that this is the only time prelims are binding. It doesn't "damage" any other rules, in that it has a very limited application as spelled out in the case play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I wonder what Nevada would say on this ;)
|
Quote:
I've never had one, but I've been lucky. One of my first varsity games in CO I hit the whistle and went straight for the charge. My partner had a whistle and held his prelim, but he had a block (we talked later). It was backcourt in transition, I was C and he was new T. Last season in a 3-man JV game, I had a PC from C. I turned to report it and noticed the L had vacated so I moved to administer the throwin. He took C and went downcourt. At the next quarter, the other official informed us that we had both called and reported the foul without knowing it. |
Quote:
|
I'm going to see what my commish has to say on this one. I have a funny feeling he will say: "get together, it cant be both so make one call not some cheesy double foul, and then figure out which one of you two knuckleheads should have held his preliminary signal and dont do that again." But then again, he's a common sense guy :)
|
Quote:
HS or college supervisor: "report the blarge and never let it happen again" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Situation: A makes a drive to the basket, jumps and releases the shot. Two whistles sound. Two fists go up. L appears to make the pc signal. C appears to make the block signal. C and L make brief eye contact. C reports the foul and they line up to shoot.
Coach B: But, wait! What did he call? Nearest official: (shrugs) Nothing, I guess. end of story |
You skipped part of the story:
Quote:
|
The big difference between the blarge and all OTHER conflicting opinions or "calls" is that the others have a clearly defined sole responsibility (line coverage), the two calls are not different opinions of the same contact, or one official has a call and the other has a no-call. All of these are easily resolved by defering to the official who has sole responsibility for the line or determining which of the two acts occurred first. As for the blarge, there are primaries and secondaries involved (even double coverage areas), not exclusive areas. The positions at which they occur can be in a spot where it could be considered either official's primary. Defering to one official over the other has about a 50% chance of being right.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am. |