![]() |
Backcourt Violation Technicality
I was taught this in my Basketball PE class more than 10 years ago by my school's basketball coach:
"In oder to establish yourself in the frontcourt, both your feet, and the ball, should cross the line." He then proceeded to dribble the ball in the backcourt with both feet in the frontcourt, then stepped back in the backcourt. He said that was not a violation. I showed the move yesterday to my buddies while waiting our turn in a pick-up game and they all cried violation. Who's wrong? Who's right? Was I taught correctly by the coach, but the rule became outdated (remember, that was more than 10 years ago)? Thank you. |
The coach is right about a dribbler. All other inbounds players are in the front court if they have something in the FC and nothing in the BC.
|
Your coach was correct and the rule is the same today.
4-4-6 During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) They saw it called a violation once in middle school, or 2) It should be a violation, therefore it must be in the rules that way. |
Snaqs, don't forget my favorite fanboy meme:
I don't care what the rule says, it's not fair and the referee should rule a violation anyways. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45am. |