The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   [NFHS Rules] Sequence of events (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/54778-nfhs-rules-sequence-events.html)

Stat-Man Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:38am

[NFHS Rules] Sequence of events
 
MS Girls

Team B is whistled for a shooting foul against A.
Immediately after the shooting foul call, the second official notices Team A has 6 players on the court and calls the T.

Team B shoots two free throws and gets the ball.

Official calling the T says Team A wasn't entitled to the free throws for the shooting since they were playing with 6 players. :confused:

I do know that the T for 6 players is called when discovered, but I didn't think it nullified any other action.

I was under the impression that when you have a personal foul followed by a T, the fouls are administered in the order in which they occurred/were called. In this situation, I was under the impression Team A got to shoot the shooting foul and Team B would shoot the technical free throws and get the ball at half court.

BillyMac Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:04pm

Wasn't Entitled To The Free Throws ??? What The ..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man (Post 627414)
Official notices Team A has 6 players on the court and calls the T. Official calling the T says Team A wasn't entitled to the free throws for the shooting since they were playing with 6 players.

This official would be wrong.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man (Post 627414)
I do know that the T for 6 players is called when discovered, but I didn't think it nullified any other action. I was under the impression that when you have a personal foul followed by a T, the fouls are administered in the order in which they occurred/were called. In this situation, I was under the impression Team A got to shoot the shooting foul and Team B would shoot the technical free throws and get the ball at half court.

"You Are Correct Sir!"

http://cdn.holytaco.com/www/wp-conte...6/mccarson.jpg

Penalized if discovered while being violated: Having more than five team members participating simultaneously, if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. If it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after the ball became live following the first dead ball, it is too late to assess any penalty.

BillyMac Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:14pm

Check It Out ...
 
Six players versus five players. Guess who gets the easy dunk. Good example of how fair is not always the same as the legal application of the rules:

Blazers score with six players on court : InsideHoops

Ch1town Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627418)
Penalized if discovered while being violated: Having more than five team members participating simultaneously, if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. If it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after the ball became live following the first dead ball, it is too late to assess any penalty.

When did excess of 5 become a CE? Surley the Master of Myths was joking?

BillyMac Mon Sep 28, 2009 06:39am

Does Not Compute ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ch1town (Post 627552)
when did excess of 5 become a ce?

ce ???

mbyron Mon Sep 28, 2009 06:43am

Correctable error.

Ch1town Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:23am

48 hours are about up, guess this one has gone to a cold case...

BillyMac Mon Sep 28, 2009 06:25pm

And Please Don't Call Me Shirley ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 627552)
When did excess of 5 become a correctable error? Surely the Master of Myths was joking?

It's not a correctable error, but, as in a few other administrative-type technical fouls, there is a time limit. Please review these casebook plays:

10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.

Adam Mon Sep 28, 2009 07:35pm

I'm pretty sure 6 players must be discovered while being violated. If the official didn't notice the 6 players until the ball was already dead, he's wrong to call the T. Not a good night for this official, IMO.

mbyron Mon Sep 28, 2009 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 627744)
I'm pretty sure 6 players must be discovered while being violated. If the official didn't notice the 6 players until the ball was already dead, he's wrong to call the T. Not a good night for this official, IMO.

That's what I was thinking. Both claims, actually. :cool:

Camron Rust Tue Sep 29, 2009 03:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627737)
10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

Note that this situation is NOT for participating with 6 but for an illegal entry/substitution...something they can even be pointed out to the officials by the scorekeeper during the next dead ball. This would be a T whether there were 5 on the court or 6 on the court as a result of the illegal entry. If there are 6, you could technically have two different infractions if A6 "participates".

BillyMac Tue Sep 29, 2009 06:32am

Dead Ball, Live Ball, Time Limit ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 627744)
I'm pretty sure 6 players must be discovered while being violated. If the official didn't notice the 6 players until the ball was already dead, he's wrong to call the T.

Not quite. Team A has six players participating. A violation, or a foul is called. During the dead ball time immediately following the violation, or the foul, Team A notices that is has an extra player on the court and pulls that player off the court. At that time, as the sixth player is walking off the court, the infraction is recognized by the official, before the ball becomes live. At this time it is not too late to penalize for the sixth player. If the ball had become live after this situation, and then the table yelled to the officials that there were six Team A players participating a few seconds ago, then it would be too late to penalize.

BillyMac Tue Sep 29, 2009 06:36am

Need A Little Help From My Friends ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 627778)
Note that this situation is not for participating with 6 but for an illegal entry/substitution. If there are 6, you could technically have two different infractions if A6 participates.

Maybe we could call two technicals, but would we? And if we did call two technicals, would the rules back us up? Citations please.

Ch1town Tue Sep 29, 2009 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627783)
Not quite. Team A has six players participating. A violation, or a foul is called. During the dead ball time immediately following the violation, or the foul, Team A notices that is has an extra player on the court and pulls that player off the court. At that time, as the sixth player is walking off the court, the infraction is recognized by the official, before the ball becomes live. At this time it is not too late to penalize for the sixth player. If the ball had become live after this situation, and then the table yelled to the officials that there were six Team A players participating a few seconds ago, then it would be too late to penalize.

Thanks, I see what you're saying B Mac. I like how the rulebook words it though, penalized if discovered while being violated. That whole first dead ball after becoming live crap sounds like a CE to me. I hate CEs :(

Adam Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627783)
Not quite. Team A has six players participating. A violation, or a foul is called. During the dead ball time immediately following the violation, or the foul, Team A notices that is has an extra player on the court and pulls that player off the court. At that time, as the sixth player is walking off the court, the infraction is recognized by the official, before the ball becomes live. At this time it is not too late to penalize for the sixth player. If the ball had become live after this situation, and then the table yelled to the officials that there were six Team A players participating a few seconds ago, then it would be too late to penalize.

Billy, I disagree with this. I dont' see what rule basis you have for calling it if you didn't actually see A6 participating. The rule is very clear that it must be discovered while being violated in order to be penalized. There's no wiggle room.

Especially, in your scenario, where the official doesn't notice it until he sees A6 walking off the court. You do not know positively how he got on the court nor how long he's been there. It's too late.

Camron Rust Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627784)
Maybe we could call two technicals, but would we? And if we did call two technicals, would the rules back us up? Citations please.

In some cases, we could...

05-06 Interps...

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2) <!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

BillyMac Tue Sep 29, 2009 05:26pm

Clarification ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 627831)
Billy, I disagree with this. I don't see what rule basis you have for calling it if you didn't actually see A6 participating. The rule is very clear that it must be discovered while being violated in order to be penalized. There's no wiggle room. Especially, in your scenario, where the official doesn't notice it until he sees A6 walking off the court. You do not know positively how he got on the court nor how long he's been there. It's too late.

Good point. Let me clarify. What I'm trying to say is that this infraction may be called during live ball activity, or during dead ball activity, as long as the officials are sure that six players participated. The officials don't have to know how he got on the court, or how long he participated, as long as they are certain that he participated. Once the ball becomes live with five participants, it's too late to penalize. How's that?

BillyMac Tue Sep 29, 2009 05:38pm

I Hate These Situations ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 627836)
In some cases, we could: 05-06 Interps: SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Camron Rust: Nice research. It's now backed up by the interpretation, we can give two technical fouls for basically one act.

But can we go back to the original situation of a sixth player coming off the bench to participate, without reporting, and being beckoned. Are we going to call one, or two technicals? 10.2.2 does say a technical foul (singular) is charged, not technical fouls (plural) are charged. To further complicate the casebook play, it doesn't say whom the technical foul is charged to, a team technical foul for six players participating, or a substitute technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned. What do you think?

Adam Tue Sep 29, 2009 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627909)
Good point. Let me clarify. What I'm trying to say is that this infraction may be called during live ball activity, or during dead ball activity, as long as the officials are sure that six players participated. The officials don't have to know how he got on the court, or how long he participated, as long as they are certain that he participated. Once the ball becomes live with five participants, it's too late to penalize. How's that?

I'll have to think about that, but the rule says "discovered while being violated," so I have to think that unless you actually see the participation, you cannot penalize.

Now, that's not to say I wouldn't call this if, just after a violation whistle by my partner, I count and see 6 standing on the floor and know for a fact that no one came on after his whistle.

And, while common sense would dictate that there are time constraints on how long you can hold off on penalizing, consider the following scenario:

1. A has 6 players during live play.
2. U1 whistles an OOB violation against the defense just as U2 realizes the 6th player is playing.
3. A6 sits down immediately.
4. U1 puts the ball in play.
5. U2 gets his head out of his a$$ and blows his whistle to get that 6 player T.

Common sense says one thing, but what rule says it's too late?

Adam Tue Sep 29, 2009 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627911)
Camron Rust: Nice research. It's now backed up by the interpretation, we can give two technical fouls for basically one act.

But can we go back to the original situation of a sixth player coming off the bench to participate, without reporting, and being beckoned. Are we going to call one, or two technicals? 10.2.2 does say a technical foul (singular) is charged, not technical fouls (plural) are charged. To further complicate the casebook play, it doesn't say whom the technical foul is charged to, a team technical foul for six players participating, or a substitute technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned. What do you think?

In normal 6 player situations, there's no way to determine which player illegally subbed, and usually that's the case. Normally, the sub was done properly, but one of the players supposed to come out didn't realize it.

If you see the illegal sub, get that player with a T. If you don't, it's a team T.

BillyMac Tue Sep 29, 2009 05:48pm

Is An Interpretation Good Enough ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 627912)
1. A has 6 players during live play.
2. U1 whistles an OOB violation against the defense just as U2 realizes the 6th player is playing.
3. A6 sits down immediately.
4. U1 puts the ball in play.
5. U2 gets his head out of his a$$ and blows his whistle to get that 6 player T.
Common sense says one thing, but what rule says it's too late?

No rule that know of, just an interpretation: 10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

BillyMac Tue Sep 29, 2009 05:50pm

An Alternate Universe ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 627913)
If you see the illegal sub, get that player with a T. If you don't, it's a team T.

Sounds good. Makes sense. Rational. Well thought out. Not very complicated. Are we posting on the Official Forum?

Ch1town Tue Sep 29, 2009 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627915)
No rule that know of, just an interpretation: 10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

I do remember reading this once before! Now I see where you were coming from, but it only pertains to that sitch. I still think it's useless. If, for some reason we don't count our players & make eye contact prior to the ball becoming live, if 6 are still participating, we hit 'em live while being observed.
What was the purpose of adding that one with so many others unsolved mysteries...

Honestly, I believe the sound official/crew would get that when the 6th player steps on to participate.

Adam Tue Sep 29, 2009 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627915)
No rule that know of, just an interpretation: 10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

that's for a substitution T, not for a 6 player T. Different rules, Billy. :)

Back In The Saddle Tue Sep 29, 2009 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627911)
Camron Rust: Nice research. It's now backed up by the interpretation, we can give two technical fouls for basically one act.

We have a interp that allows us to do that, yes. However, if you look at the situation in the interp, the only way to make it "right" or "fair" is to give more than one T. I wouldn't consider this interp as license to hand out multiple T's for the same offense unless the situation was as extreme as the one in the interp. (Unless the little punk really ticked me off :D)

Just my $0.02

Camron Rust Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 627951)
We have a interp that allows us to do that, yes. However, if you look at the situation in the interp, the only way to make it "right" or "fair" is to give more than one T. I wouldn't consider this interp as license to hand out multiple T's for the same offense unless the situation was as extreme as the one in the interp. (Unless the little punk really ticked me off :D)

Just my $0.02

Agreed.

BillyMac Wed Sep 30, 2009 06:21am

Administrative Technical Fouls Time Limits ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 627737)
10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 627925)
That's (10.2.2) for a substitution T, not for a 6 player T. Different rules.

So if during the intermission between the third and fourth period, the scorekeeper tells the officials that six players participated during the third period, several live balls, dead balls ago, then it's not too late to penalize?

Six players, player changing numbers, and participating after disqualification, are all penalized if discovered while being violated. Is the time limit the same for all three, or does the, "charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball", apply to all three?

What is the time limit for each of these three? I thought I had these administrative technical foul time limits figured out. Obviously not. Can we explore this further.

Adam Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 628000)
So if during the intermission between the third and fourth period, the scorekeeper tells the officials that six players participated during the third period, several live balls, dead balls ago, then it's not too late to penalize?

Six players, player changing numbers, and participating after disqualification, are all penalized if discovered while being violated. Is the time limit the same for all three, or does the, "charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball", apply to all three?

What is the time limit for each of these three? I thought I had these administrative technical foul time limits figured out. Obviously not. Can we explore this further.

Billy, there's no time limit for penalty, but for discovery. And no, if the timer tells me 6 players were playing three live balls ago, I don't count that as being discovered in time. I know the timer is part of the officiating crew, but not on this one.

If I don't see it, it didn't happen.

BillyMac Wed Sep 30, 2009 07:05pm

If Snaqwells Doesn't See It, It Didn't Happen
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 628078)
If I don't see it, it didn't happen.

Snaqwells: Thanks for your response. So let me see if I've got this straight. Team A, unbeknown to the officials, has six players participating during a live ball. A whistle sounds for a foul, violation, inadvertent whistle, time out, or intermission, making the ball dead, and at that time one of the officials realizes that there are six Team A players on the court during the dead ball. At that time, is it to late to discover and penalize?

Also, If Snaqwells isn't in the forest, and a tree falls ... Oh, never mind.

Adam Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 628139)
Snaqwells: Thanks for your response. So let me see if I've got this straight. Team A, unbeknown to the officials, has six players participating during a live ball. A whistle sounds for a foul, violation, inadvertent whistle, time out, or intermission, making the ball dead, and at that time one of the officials realizes that there are six Team A players on the court during the dead ball. At that time, is it to late to discover and penalize?

Also, If Snaqwells isn't in the forest, and a tree falls ... Oh, never mind.

I will say it this way. If I count 6 immediately after the whistle and absolutely know they did not come on the court after the whistle, I might call the T. But I'd have to be 115% positive.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1