The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lodged ball. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/5430-lodged-ball.html)

BktBallRef Wed Jul 17, 2002 08:11pm

Ok, I'll leave you alone!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
"any object above the level of the top of the backboard"?
= Overhead equipment!

And I used a whole lot less words. But MTD Sr. would be proud of you! :)

zebraman Wed Jul 17, 2002 08:35pm

<i>Typical of you Z to think this is a black and white discussion. I am asking what do you have, not whether I got the rule right or not. Or better yet, I did not say what we did or did not do.</i>

This <b> is </b> a black and white situation. The rule is VERY clear about overhead equipment. And things like overhead baskets are exactly why the rule is there. Basic stuff. You can't sell AP or anything else because this one is as cut and dried as it gets.

Z

ChuckElias Wed Jul 17, 2002 08:39pm

Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
"any object above the level of the top of the backboard"?
= Overhead equipment!

Honestly, I disagree with that. What I wrote is not equivalent to "overhead equipment". My phrase would also cover hanging banners or other decorations or even a stray bird, which are clearly not equipment. I think I've added enough words to this thread, tho. I'll recuse myself from further argument. :)

Chuck

[Edited by ChuckElias on Jul 17th, 2002 at 08:43 PM]

Dan_ref Wed Jul 17, 2002 09:00pm

Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

... I think I've added enough words to this thread, tho. I'll recuse myself from further argument. :)

Chuck
No need to do that Chuck, just stop posting on it. ;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jul 17, 2002 09:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
<i>Typical of you Z to think this is a black and white discussion. I am asking what do you have, not whether I got the rule right or not. Or better yet, I did not say what we did or did not do.</i>

This <b> is </b> a black and white situation. The rule is VERY clear about overhead equipment. And things like overhead baskets are exactly why the rule is there. Basic stuff. You can't sell AP or anything else because this one is as cut and dried as it gets.

Z


Zebraman, I could not have said it better. Having said that, you should know that I have now given you the kiss of death because I have agreed with you.

JRutledge Wed Jul 17, 2002 09:48pm

You go Z
 
Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
<i>Typical of you Z to think this is a black and white discussion. I am asking what do you have, not whether I got the rule right or not. Or better yet, I did not say what we did or did not do.</i>

This <b> is </b> a black and white situation. The rule is VERY clear about overhead equipment. And things like overhead baskets are exactly why the rule is there. Basic stuff. You can't sell AP or anything else because this one is as cut and dried as it gets.

Z

Whatever you say. :rolleyes:

Peace

Mark Dexter Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
I also think everyone is reading way too far into the "overhead equipment" rule in 7-1-2d. The rule . . . applies to all overhead equipment equally and without restriction.
I agree. But it is not explicit on that point.

Exactly - it's not explicit.

Because it does not specify any certain types of "overhead equipment" it applies to all "overhead equipment."

If we treat this as the ball being lodged between one of the two 'official' backboards and rims, what's next? Does a team score two points if the ball goes through the hoop of a suspended basket? How will you figure out the 3-point line in 3-dimensional space?

Mark Dexter Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:02pm

Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
My phrase would also cover hanging banners or other decorations or even a stray bird, which are clearly not equipment.
Forgive me for playing the Devil's Advocate of the Devil's Advocate . . .

Are you saying you wouldn't rule a ball which hit an overhead banner out of bounds? (Or that you would consider that the rules state this is not out of bounds?)

Guys and gals, let's remember one thing - this is basketball.

It's not arena football.

It's not indoor soccer.

It's not pool/billiards.

You're supposed to use the floor and (in some cases) the backboard to dribble and hit the ball off of (maybe a player or ref, too.) If you still don't agree that this is "overhead equipment," invoke 2-10 (along with some common sense) and call it an extension of the ceiling.

JRutledge Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:07pm

This is one of those cases............
 
where the NF or even College for that matter goes back and makes a rules editorial revision. The issue seems obvious, but the rules do not "clearly" state what happens in this case. I know some will say that it is clear, but every year in at least one of the sports I do, they make an editorial change to close the gap or confusion in the wording. I guess you could say that the touching procedes the lodging in this case. But if there was a newer official or an official that has not seen this before, it makes for an interesting debate. That is why I posted the question. All obviously do not agree on what the "actual" ruling is.

Peace

Mark Dexter Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:33pm

The hanging backboard not OOB - I don't agree with it, but there could be an arguement for that case.

But to call an AP situation for the ball trapped between the backboard and rim?? Let's look at a few rules which dispute this.

First, 6-3-3d - you go to AP when "A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free-throw or throw-in follows."

Let us, then, examine 1-8, backboard position. It states, in part that the backboards must be "midway between the sidelines," have the "plane of the front face perpendicular to the floor," and goes on to specify measurements to pinpoint the location. If we want to be hyper-technical, then a backboard suspended in the "up" position is not really a backboard, per the rules, and therefore would not apply to the qualification of 6-3-3d, thus rendering your point moot.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jul 18, 2002 06:01am

Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
"any object above the level of the top of the backboard"?
= Overhead equipment!
[/QUOTE]
Honestly, I disagree with that. What I wrote is not equivalent to "overhead equipment". My phrase would also cover hanging banners or other decorations or even a stray bird, which are clearly not equipment.[/B][/QUOTE]So if you hit a bird flying above the level of the top of the backboard,it's OOB.If you hit a bird flying below the level of the top of the backboard,the ball's still in play.What's the call if it hits a bird that's flying half above/half below the level of the top of the backboard?Now that's a tough judgement call!:D

I'm with Z,Tony,MTD Sr.,et al.It's a simple,straight-forward call.It's been OOB since Dr. Naismith removed the wire mesh from around the court.

BktBallRef Thu Jul 18, 2002 07:57am

Re: Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
It's been OOB since Dr. Naismith removed the wire mesh from around the court.
D@mn! That's why we can't keep those birds off the court! :D

A Pennsylvania Coach Thu Jul 18, 2002 08:08am

In the definitions part of the rule book, is there a definition for "equipment"?

Brian Watson Thu Jul 18, 2002 08:12am

2003-2004 POE:

Overhead Equipment...

Dan_ref Thu Jul 18, 2002 08:26am

Re: Re: Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
It's been OOB since Dr. Naismith removed the wire mesh from around the court.
D@mn! That's why we can't keep those birds off the court! :D

I worked an AAU game this summer in a gym that had a bird's nest way up high in the rafters. The coach told me the biggest problem was avoiding the occasional splats.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1