![]() |
This happen last night in a HS summer league. The game was held at a local HS.
A takes the ball out after a made basket. A1 tries to throw a full court length pass. The pass is so high, that the ball lodges into a basket hoop, near the ceiling. To explain, the hoop was one of the side hoops that was put away electronically. What do you have and why do you have that? Peace |
Since it was a throw in, I say violation, spot back where the original throw in took place, especially if the baskets were outside the lines.
I don't have any rules or my book here to back me up, just a gut feeling. If it was during play, I guess a AP? |
The ball seems to me to be clearly OOB. The result is a throw-in violation. The team that was defending the throw-in would be entitled to a designated spot throw-in at the spot of the previous throw-in.
Quote:
Chuck |
Yep, ball hitting object outside the boundary lines is OOB. Pretty basic rule knowledge Rut, I'm surprised you didn't know that one.
Z |
Quote:
If, however, somebody were to tell me authoritatively that it only refers to the supports for the basket, etc., then it doesn't seem to be covered in the rules. In that case, I would still call it OOB and blame it on 2-10 :) Chuck |
Quote:
This is generally legal and in play if the official is wearing white shoes and the ball is easy to palm. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
This sounds like an area where you could go either way, talk fast when explaining it to the coaches and pull it off even if you had no clue what call to make. I mean, if they knew the rules, wouldn't they be officials? :D |
Quote:
If, however, you say that the equipment is in play, then you have a different situation. You have a throw-in that simply hasn't ended. The ball is live but there's no possession. So if you blow the whistle, you have created a dead ball when there is no team control. That would result in an AP procedure. I would not rule that way, but I could at least see the logic of it if somebody wanted to go that way. Personally, I think that the "equipment" above the court is OOB and would call a throw-in violation. Chuck |
Now, Chuck, how simple does it get? "The ball is out of bounds when it touches the ceiling, <B>overhead equipment</b> or supports." If a side court goal, that's rolled up, isn't overhead equipment, what is? It's no different than if it hit a scoreboard, ceiling, bleachers, or a disco glitter ball over the court. It has nothing to do with whether the ball lodged or not.
It ain't that difficult. Even mick is making lite of it. |
My only concession to the AP solution is that "overhead equipment" is somewhat ambiguous. It could mean anything that's overhead, like the disco ball. Or it could refer specifically (and only) to the equipment that is being used in the game; e.g., basket supports or wires that run all the way to the ceiling, the shot clock, a hanging scoreboard.
If someone were to contend that overhead equipment is only the stuff that is specifically related to the game being played at the time, then you could make a case for the AP. But as I've said, I think that it should be interpreted as "anything" that is overhead. I'm just trying to give Rut the benefit of the doubt. Chuck |
Quote:
I also think everyone is reading way too far into the "overhead equipment" rule in 7-1-2d. The rule does not mention overhead equipment 'being used in the game' (as some have suggested), so it applies to all overhead equipment equally and without restriction. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Are you playing debil's advocate? :) |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Chuck (Debil's Advocate, Esq.) |
Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
And I used a whole lot less words. But MTD Sr. would be proud of you! :) |
<i>Typical of you Z to think this is a black and white discussion. I am asking what do you have, not whether I got the rule right or not. Or better yet, I did not say what we did or did not do.</i>
This <b> is </b> a black and white situation. The rule is VERY clear about overhead equipment. And things like overhead baskets are exactly why the rule is there. Basic stuff. You can't sell AP or anything else because this one is as cut and dried as it gets. Z |
Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
Chuck [Edited by ChuckElias on Jul 17th, 2002 at 08:43 PM] |
Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
|
Quote:
Zebraman, I could not have said it better. Having said that, you should know that I have now given you the kiss of death because I have agreed with you. |
You go Z
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Because it does not specify any certain types of "overhead equipment" it applies to all "overhead equipment." If we treat this as the ball being lodged between one of the two 'official' backboards and rims, what's next? Does a team score two points if the ball goes through the hoop of a suspended basket? How will you figure out the 3-point line in 3-dimensional space? |
Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
Are you saying you wouldn't rule a ball which hit an overhead banner out of bounds? (Or that you would consider that the rules state this is not out of bounds?) Guys and gals, let's remember one thing - this is basketball. It's not arena football. It's not indoor soccer. It's not pool/billiards. You're supposed to use the floor and (in some cases) the backboard to dribble and hit the ball off of (maybe a player or ref, too.) If you still don't agree that this is "overhead equipment," invoke 2-10 (along with some common sense) and call it an extension of the ceiling. |
This is one of those cases............
where the NF or even College for that matter goes back and makes a rules editorial revision. The issue seems obvious, but the rules do not "clearly" state what happens in this case. I know some will say that it is clear, but every year in at least one of the sports I do, they make an editorial change to close the gap or confusion in the wording. I guess you could say that the touching procedes the lodging in this case. But if there was a newer official or an official that has not seen this before, it makes for an interesting debate. That is why I posted the question. All obviously do not agree on what the "actual" ruling is.
Peace |
The hanging backboard not OOB - I don't agree with it, but there could be an arguement for that case.
But to call an AP situation for the ball trapped between the backboard and rim?? Let's look at a few rules which dispute this. First, 6-3-3d - you go to AP when "A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free-throw or throw-in follows." Let us, then, examine 1-8, backboard position. It states, in part that the backboards must be "midway between the sidelines," have the "plane of the front face perpendicular to the floor," and goes on to specify measurements to pinpoint the location. If we want to be hyper-technical, then a backboard suspended in the "up" position is not really a backboard, per the rules, and therefore would not apply to the qualification of 6-3-3d, thus rendering your point moot. |
Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
Honestly, I disagree with that. What I wrote is not equivalent to "overhead equipment". My phrase would also cover hanging banners or other decorations or even a stray bird, which are clearly not equipment.[/B][/QUOTE]So if you hit a bird flying above the level of the top of the backboard,it's OOB.If you hit a bird flying below the level of the top of the backboard,the ball's still in play.What's the call if it hits a bird that's flying half above/half below the level of the top of the backboard?Now that's a tough judgement call!:D I'm with Z,Tony,MTD Sr.,et al.It's a simple,straight-forward call.It's been OOB since Dr. Naismith removed the wire mesh from around the court. |
Re: Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
|
In the definitions part of the rule book, is there a definition for "equipment"?
|
2003-2004 POE:
Overhead Equipment... |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
As I said in my very first post in this thread, I would call this play a throw-in violation, based on the "overhead equipment" part of the OOB rule. And even if that rule doesn't really apply I would call it OOB "and blame it on 2-10" (as I said in my second post in this thread). Now I am really done with this thread!! The more I say, the more confused the situation becomes. Chuck |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
Man,I love these technical discussions! |
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Ok, I'll leave you alone!
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Let's get back to Rut's original post. He noted that this is a side basket that was not put up all the way. Not the main baskets where a ball lodged in the rim results in a jump ball.
I believe that anytime a ball hits an object over the court, it is a dead ball, ball goes to opposing team. This means side baskets, scoreboards that hang over the middle of the court, etc. This is not volleyball. Volleyball has rules to cover how to play when there are overhead obstructions. In Rut's scenario, the throw-in hits an obstruction (regardless if it was over the court or not), thus resulting in a violation. Opposing team gets throw in at the point of the original throw-in. I do believe that the same holds true if the ball is in play. example: A1 trys a long shot at the end of the quarter and hits a ceiling beam (I know a small gym). I would blow the ball dead the moment it touched the beam and award the other team the ball nearest the spot of the touch. Now a good question would be what if A1 when throwing in the ball, heaves it the length of the court and it gets lodged in the rim. What would we have then? (mostly like another throw in violation) |
Sigh. Any off-court or overhead THING is out of bounds except for either backboard and rim. It doesn't matter if it's a throw-in, a shot, a pass, a kicked ball or whatever. The original sitch is cute but a no brainer. OOB. OOB on a throw-in is a violaton, ball goes back to the spot.
|
Quote:
|
Throw-in violation....unless before the game this was to be consider an exception to that particular gym! I would hope not!
AK ref SE |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12am. |