![]() |
Help with a play
We were discussing this play at camp, and I wanted to see what you will say.
A1 shoots a shot behind the 3 point line and the ball is made into Team B's basket. A1 is fouled on the shot by B1. What do you do? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Concur, No basket and no shoots unless A in bonus or foul ruled flagrant or intentional or excessive contact.
|
Quote:
|
Concur w/ Snaqs, FB, and BNR.
Case Book play 4.41.2. |
It's 7 Up, It's The Uncola ...
Quote:
|
For Coaches And Fanboys With No Casebook ...
Quote:
|
Will Never Happen, But Worth Theoretical Discussion ???
Team A is down three points with just a few seconds left in the game. A1 is chasing a loose ball at the division line. The ball is about to go out of bounds, at the division line, right in front of the table. A1, in a race with defender B1, is able to catch up to the ball, but does so in such an acrobatic, athletic, and contorted manner, that in spinning around, he is only able to shoot the ball:
a) exactly in line with the division line, with the trajectory of the ball toward opposite the table. b) at an angle such that the trajectory of the ball is toward the backcourt, and therefore, toward Team B's basket. In both a), and b), B1 fouls A1 before A1 returns to the floor after A1's shooting motion. The buzzer ending the fourth period sounds while the ball in in the air in both a), and b). In both a), and b), the ball doesn't enter the basket. Both teams are in the bonus. What's the theoretical call? |
Quote:
You know I knew it, just wanted to see if you did,:p |
Quote:
My guess is the purpose of the post is to start a discussion on whether the decision to determine if a foul was a shooting foul or not is dependent on the action of the ball handler or the subsequent result of the flight and/or action of the ball. It's the action of the ball handler. If they are fouled while performing action that normally leads to the release of a shot, it's a shooting foul. That's pretty basic. |
A1 shoots the bonus, the foul causes the ball to be dead. It's the same thing
|
Quote:
|
If Team A is in the bonus, we shoot the bonus. If Team A is not in the bonus, the ball will given at the spot near where the foul occurs however it's the end of the 4th quarter, team b wins by 3
|
Good Guess ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
One And One, Or Three Shots?
Quote:
What's the theoretical call? Really. It's the off-season and I need my interpretation fix. |
Quote:
|
if A1 throws the ball at Team Bs basket from behind the 3-point line and it goes in ... this only counts as two points correct?
|
Quote:
correct |
Quote:
Billy: My rulings are not theoritical. We are going to shoot three free throws in both (a) and (b). There is no reason to think that A1 is doing anything but attempting a three-point field goal attempt. A number of years ago, in a boys' H.S. game, I had to throw the Home AD out of our dressing room because: With time running out in the first quarter, H1 attempts a field goal that bounds off the rim in the far quarter. V1 runs the ball down and starts to fling the ball toward V's basket from about 80 feet away. Just before he releases the ball H2 hacks him across his throwing arm and then the buzzer sounded. V1 shoots three free throws to end the first quarter. The Home-HC wasn't happy about the award of free throws until I gave him an explaination of the rule. The only problem the Home-AD didn't like my call and thought he had the right to burst in to the officials' dressing room at half-time. I took great pleasure in writing a game report about his conduct because he was a MichiganHSAA registered Track/Field official. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59pm. |