![]() |
Jump ball or out of bounds?
I was working a game at a camp using 3 person crews. Player a1 in transition just over mid court near sideline jumps in the air to throw over head pass. b1 jumps as well and the pass is stuffed. b1 lands out of bounds with both players still touching the ball. We have a double whistle as trail calls out of bounds and lead calls jump.
I have been thinking about this and still not sure of correct call. What would be correct, with rules reference? This was NCAAW but would like NFHS as well. My thought is that the oob would be correct because you would need to land to get to the jump ball ruling. Of course that was my original call as well, so my bias shows. |
Quote:
If the stuff prevents the pass from being thrown, then you have a held ball situation. Would you call him for traveling if he landed in bounds? The held ball happened in the air before any violation was committed, that's your call here. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's like lifting the pivot foot before the ball is released: you have to see whether it's released for a dribble or a pass. The travel happens when the pivot foot is lifted, but you can call a violation only after the player dribbles. I do some metaphysics and other hair splitting for my day job. ;) |
Quote:
<font color=red>I don't agree here. Where does it say you <B>have to wait</B> to make the call?</font color> Now, I agree that many officials may wait to see if the ball truly was prevented from being released before the player landed, or, in other words, having a patient whistle to watch the whole play. But I don't know of any requirement that the player has to land before the call is "official", so to speak. In your traveling example, what happens after the player releases the ball is important in determing whether a violation occured - was it a dribble or pass? In the held ball example, the held ball occured in the air, so there's no requirement to wait. See, I can hair-split with the best of them. :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
"An opponent places his/her hand on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try. The OP and this is covered under situation for 4.25.2 since a held ball came first; HELD ball is the correct call |
Quote:
and as in your case "... prevents an airborne player from...." (4.25.2) neither seem to apply here Hopefully a shooting foul was called |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
I did edit my post Thank you I hope for a good call once in awhile :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
On the other hand if the shooter jumped in the air and as the defender was approaching dropped the ball on the floor, very different situation. Perhaps a bit more details is required please. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21pm. |