![]() |
foul or travel?
A1 and B1 are both chasing a loose ball, with lots of incidental contact. A1 jumps in front of B1, controls the ball in mid air and lands with both feet simultaneously. A1's momentum, combined with a generous bump from B1, causes A1 to take a rather large hop with both feet.
Is this (1) foul on B1 (2) travelling on A2 (3) no call This happened in a rec league game. I could not call foul on B1, they both had equal rights to the ball and neither had position. In real time, I saw the hop and called travel, but now that I have time to think I might go with a no call. This might be a HTBT situation, but what do you think? |
Quote:
The action which you have described MUST be either a foul or a travel. The referee gets to make a judgment decision about the amount of contact and whether it placed A2 at a disadvantage or not. If the referee decides that A2 got to that spot of the floor first, then B1 is not allowed to bump him out of it whether he has the ball or not. That's a foul. If the contact occurred prior to A2 reaching that spot, then it could be ruled incidental, but the transgression made by A2 in his footwork after controlling the ball can't be overlooked. From reading your description, I would be most likely to charge B1 with a foul. |
Quote:
Like Nevada said, you are left with calling a foul or a travel....a no call is not acceptable...and which one to call depends on exactly the criteria Nevada mentioned...did the bump cause the travel or A1 was going to travel anyway. |
I called that foul in my last game of last season. The coach of the fouling player was directly behind me as I turned to report it. I kinda shrugged to him because I knew it wasn't much of a foul, but before I could say anything he said, "you had to call that one."
Ordinarily this coach has no problem getting into an official's face, so that reaction surprised me a little. |
These are the calls I have my most delayed whistles on. A bump by B1 causing A1 to travel is a foul on B1.
|
In this case, I think I made the right call. A1 tried to grab the ball and stop on a dime, and he didn't quite make it. B1 was trying to stop while A1 was still in the air but had no where to go.
On a block/charge, you are watching the defenders feet and you set up for the call. I think this situation caught me off guard- In the loose ball situation I wasn't watching carefully for the position like I should. Tough call- I'll know better next time. Thanks for the replies! |
If illegal contact causes a violation the contact must be penalized... no matter what the player was "trying" to do.
Say the same play happened near a sideline & the bump caused A1 to step on the line. You can't go no-call there & if you call the OOB I'm sure As coach wil let you know that his player didn't step out on his own will. What came first the chicken (bump) or egg (violation)? It seems as though you let what you think they are "trying to do" affect your decisions. Unless, it's a end of game situation I don't think players are ever trying to foul. |
Quote:
1. Did B1's contact cause A1 to travel? If yes, move on to question 2. If no, Travel. 2. Who was responsible for the contact, by rule. If A1, travel. If B1, foul on B1. It does not matter what B1's intent was. This play happens often, actually. Player running behind another player "tries" to stop but can't. It's still a foul. Defender was "trying" to block the shot cleanly but smacks an elbow instead. It's still a foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
RSL: I have highlighted in red the answer to your question. From your description of the play it is not a HTBT type of play. MTD, Sr. |
"Pepperidge Farm Remembers" ...
Quote:
I remember an internet video that was making the rounds. Does anybody else remember, or can anyone locate the internet video? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Bob Donnato called it. Jay Bilas of course ripped him and couldn't possibly understand how the call could ever be made in that situation. At the end of this clip in the "post game" Sean McDonough actually explains that the bump pushed the player OOB and that's why Donnato called the foul. But not surprisingly Bilas denies that rationale completely and says "you can make any technical justification you want for some of these calls, but the truth is at that stage of the game when you're 80 feet from the basket, that's one where there was no foul and you didn't see the foot on the line." I think the implication his "some of these calls" line makes bothers me the most. Arrogant know-it-all. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40am. |