The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Sports Illustrated Kids situation - what's the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53469-sports-illustrated-kids-situation-whats-call.html)

theboys Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:32am

Sports Illustrated Kids situation - what's the call?
 
SI Kids has a section titled "What's the Call?", in which they pose a rules situation about a sport and ask the reader to make the call. They pose a basketball rules question in the June 2009 issue. I'm wondering if they got it right.

Here's the sitch:

The Manitoba Minks and the Calgary Cool are playing a basketball game under NBA rules. After a made free throw by the Minks, Calgary's Jean Giraud takes the ball to throw an inbounds pass. Giraud see his teammate Louis Jenkins breaking away from his defender. But as Giraud leans forward, he accidentally steps on the baseline. Jenkins catches the ball anyway and dribbles upcourt for a basket. Manitoba argues that the basket doesn't count because Giraud stepped on the baseline when he inbounded the ball. You're the official. Is Jenkin's basket good?

bas2456 Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:48am

If he stepped on the baseline before he throws the ball in, that's a violation, right?

Ch1town Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:49am

Did the player step over the inside edge of the line which seperates the court from OOB?

If not, count the bucket. I believe that rule is the same in all codes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 606223)
If he stepped on the baseline before he throws the ball in, that's a violation, right?

Negative.

theboys Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:53am

Yeah, that's what I was thinking. If he stepped on the line, but not over the line, he's still out of bounds, so the play is legal. SI Kids says "no bucket".

Adam Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:53am

No violation.

rockyroad Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:01pm

"On" the line is oob...this is not a violation. Had an official in my son's JV game keep calling violations (on both teams) for stepping on the line to throw the ball in. After about 5 or 6 of these calls, both coaches requested a conference with the two officials and asked why he was calling that. The other official tried to tell him he was wrong, but he wouldn't listen...so both coaches told their players to adjust and away we went...weird, but livable.

Ch1town Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:05pm

Hey at least the official was consistent :D
Isn't that what we strive for?? j/k

grunewar Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:09pm

From the Rule Book
 
Rule 4, Section XII-Throw-In

A throw-in is a method of putting the ball in play from out-of-bounds in accordance with Rule 8-Section III. The throw-in begins when the ball is at the disposal of the team or player entitled to it, and ends when the ball is released by the thrower-in.

Rule 8 Out of Bounds Section III-The Throw-In

a. The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player entitled to the throw-in. He shall release the ball inbounds within 5 seconds from the time the throw-in starts. Until the passed ball has crossed the plane of the boundary, no player shall have any part of his person over the boundary line and teammates shall not occupy positions parallel or adjacent to the baseline if an opponent desires one of those positions. The defensive man shall have the right to be between his man and the basket.

Rule 10, Section IV – Thrower-in

a. A thrower-in shall not (1) carry the ball onto the court; (2) fail to release the ball within 5 seconds; (3) touch it on the court before it has touched another player; (4) leave the designated throw-in spot; (5) throw the ball so that it enters the basket before touching anyone on the court; (6) step over the boundary line while inbounding the ball; (7) cause the ball to go out-of-bounds without being touched inbounds; (8) leave the playing surface to gain an advantage on a throw-in; (9) hand the ball to a player on the court. EXCEPTION: After a field goal or free throw as a result of a personal foul, the thrower-in may run the end line or pass to a teammate behind the end line.

b. Once an official recognizes the designated player to throw the ball in, there shall be no change of the thrower-in unless the offensive team makes a substitution, there is a regular or 20-second timeout or a suspension of play.
PENALTY: Loss of ball. The ball is awarded to the opposing team at the original spot of the throw-in.

Mark Padgett Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:10pm

From NBA rule 10:

Section IV-Thrower-in
a. A thrower-in shall not (1) carry the ball onto the court; (2) fail to release the ball within 5 seconds; (3) touch it on the court before it has touched another player; (4) leave the designated throw-in spot; (5) throw the ball so that it enters the basket before touching anyone on the court; (6) step over the boundary line while inbounding the ball; (7) cause the ball to go out-of-bounds without being touched inbounds; (8) leave the playing surface to gain an advantage on a throw-in; (9) hand the ball to a player on the court.

If SI for Kids said it was a violation, they need to go stand in a corner with a dunce cap on.

BTW - does (8) mean a player can't jump when inbounding if it gives him an advantage? Jumping is leaving the playing surface, isn't it?

Adam Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 606231)
Hey at least the official was consistent :D
Isn't that what we strive for?? j/k

A quote about hobgoblins comes to mind. :)

mbyron Tue Jun 02, 2009 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 606242)
A quote about hobgoblins comes to mind. :)

Thanks, Ralph. :rolleyes:

And: you never said which kind was foolish.

Nevadaref Tue Jun 02, 2009 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 606228)
"On" the line is oob...this is not a violation. Had an official in my son's JV game keep calling violations (on both teams) for stepping on the line to throw the ball in. After about 5 or 6 of these calls, both coaches requested a conference with the two officials and asked why he was calling that. The other official tried to tell him he was wrong, but he wouldn't listen...so both coaches told their players to adjust and away we went...weird, but livable.


Yet another instance of you pointing out the errors of other officials. :eek:

Obviously, you operate by a double standard in that it's okay for you to criticize others, but when anyone else does it you immediately jump on them. :(

Ref Ump Welsch Tue Jun 02, 2009 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by theboys (Post 606219)
SI Kids has a section titled "What's the Call?", in which they pose a rules situation about a sport and ask the reader to make the call. They pose a basketball rules question in the June 2009 issue. I'm wondering if they got it right.

Here's the sitch:

The Manitoba Minks and the Calgary Cool are playing a basketball game under NBA rules. After a made free throw by the Minks, Calgary's Jean Giraud takes the ball to throw an inbounds pass. Giraud see his teammate Louis Jenkins breaking away from his defender. But as Giraud leans forward, he accidentally steps on the baseline. Jenkins catches the ball anyway and dribbles upcourt for a basket. Manitoba argues that the basket doesn't count because Giraud stepped on the baseline when he inbounded the ball. You're the official. Is Jenkin's basket good?

God, I love it when a publication makes a GLARING error like this. My local newspaper had a column in their annual football preview (all the local HS, etc) which was similar to the SI Kids column. They had several plays, along with the correct ruling for FED and NCAA. One of the plays (and I can't remember it anymore, it was several years ago) had the NCAA ruling following it, and then a note that the FED ruling was exactly the same. I had to re-read the play several times, and the ruling they had printed, and it occurred to me they didn't get the right ruling for the FED. I emailed the rest of the guys on my crew and gave them the play and asked for the ruling. They all came back with what I had and not what the newspaper had. I called the sports editor and told him he needed to clear that up, and cited the rule number and all that. He said that he had talked to one of the "top" officials from our city and that was the ruling he had gotten. I suggested he call the state association and get a ruling from them, just to back up what I had. Guess what? The next year, I was asked to review the column before it ran. :cool:

Adam Tue Jun 02, 2009 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 606313)
Yet another instance of you pointing out the errors of other officials. :eek:

Obviously, you operate by a double standard in that it's okay for you to criticize others, but when anyone else does it you immediately jump on them. :(

hmmm. looking for a word.... got it.

gratuitous

BillyMac Tue Jun 02, 2009 07:03pm

Who You Gonna Call For NFHS Rule Questions ??? Mythbusters ...
 
A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.

rockyroad Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 606313)
Yet another instance of you pointing out the errors of other officials. :eek:

Obviously, you operate by a double standard in that it's okay for you to criticize others, but when anyone else does it you immediately jump on them. :(

Not true, and you know it.

I have never once had a problem with anyone - including you - pointing out an error that was made by an official. I make plenty of errors, and point those out also. The difference between you and I is that I made no judgment about the PERSON involved in the situation I shared. No comments about him being a coward, or being so fat he can't get up the court, etc., etc...that's the difference between pointing out a mistake and pointing out the person. But I think most of us already knew that.

amusedofficial Wed Jun 03, 2009 02:10am

Bless You All
 
I, too, flip to the You Make The Call section of SI Kids when it arrives. I told the kids how the ruling in the mag was flat-out wrong of they meant ON the line but not OVER the line and got the rolling eyes and the "you think you know everything about the rules" line.

So thanks for the ammunition as I reclaim my place of glory in my own home.

amusedofficial Wed Jun 03, 2009 02:11am

Whoops
 
I just noticed a honey-do list on the refrigerator. Pay no attention to remarks relative to glory, own home, etc. etc. etc.

mbyron Wed Jun 03, 2009 07:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 606377)
The difference between you and I is ...

As long as we're pointing out mistakes... :o

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 606377)
that's the difference between pointing out a mistake and pointing out the person. [redacted].

You realize that this (redacted) remark undercuts your point (which is otherwise well-taken, btw).

rockyroad Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 606393)
As long as we're pointing out mistakes... :o



You realize that this remark undercuts your point (which is otherwise well-taken, btw).

Touche.

Taken care of.

mbyron Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 606419)
Touche.

Taken care of.

No point leaving it in my post... ;)

SamIAm Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch (Post 606318)
God, I love it when a publication makes a GLARING error like this.

...

The next year, I was asked to review the column before it ran. :cool:

Per the OP, there is no error as the OP does not provide the magazines ruling only the question.

I looked for a later post that includes the magazines ruling and haven't seen it yet.

How can there be a GLARING error, yet?:p

Mark Padgett Wed Jun 03, 2009 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 606477)
Per the OP, there is no error as the OP does not provide the magazines ruling only the question.

I looked for a later post that includes the magazines ruling and haven't seen it yet.

From theboys second post on this subject: Yeah, that's what I was thinking. If he stepped on the line, but not over the line, he's still out of bounds, so the play is legal. SI Kids says "no bucket".

There's your ruling.

SamIAm Wed Jun 03, 2009 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 606498)
From theboys second post on this subject: Yeah, that's what I was thinking. If he stepped on the line, but not over the line, he's still out of bounds, so the play is legal. SI Kids says "no bucket".

There's your ruling.

Good. There is certainly an error now.:o

Adam Wed Jun 03, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 606516)
Good. There is certainly an error now.:o

Yep, in post #22. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1