The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 06:28am
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Thumbs down Another Wreck Mess......

I’m a long-time coach and a senior ref in this Rec League. Most people know me. Last night is my son’s last B13/15 game of season. I am on the bench as Asst Coach.

Game-time and opponent only has four players. Two of their better players are not there. We are missing one of our better players, but still have seven. The game doesn't start on time. Five minutes later, another player for them shows up. Game on.

Game begins and is competitive the first five minutes. It is obvious (to me) the Reffs are not calling fouls. We begin to pull away by 10 or twelve as they are outmanned. One of the better players for them arrives late and immediately goes in and provides his team a spark. We maintain our double-digit lead.

Here's where it gets a bit testy. An older teenager from the B16/18 league is there with a few of his friends. At one point, he convinces the other coaches to play him. You're kidding right? A non-rostered, All-Star player, from the 16/18 yr old league is now on the floor?! Against 13/15 yr olds?! As Asst coach I come out of my chair, onto the court during the dead ball and tell the ref there is NO WAY he is playing!

The refs would have let it go – and the one adult knew better but is too buddy, buddy always wanting to get along.

The teen, now comes off the court and is very demonstrative. Calling me names, talking under his breath, arguing, (Why can't I play? Game is out of control. Coach doesn't care. You're not the Head Coach. You're son plays HS ball. I never played HS ball. etc) taking off his shirt, yap, yap, yapping. I ignore him. Now he starts muttering things about my son under his breath, yap, yap, yap. I ignore him.