![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Either way, you see how all this information must be processed in that instant, and the reason some officials simply call the travel instead to avoid making that decision. |
I actually disagree based on the logic M&M gives. Once the player gains the ball, time and distance are not a factor.
|
Quote:
So, I will amend my original statement somewhat and take out the part about time and distance on the airborne player. But it still doesn't change the reason for the initial comment on having the foot back down on the ground - no time and distance is required for the guard, as opposed to the guard needing to be in the spot before A1 went airborne. |
Quote:
I was thinking of the case when the airborne player puts a foot on the floor just prior to contact. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In order to definitely state that, it is necessary to know that the offensive player with the ball to returned at least one foot to the floor prior to the contact occurring. If the contact occurs before either foot comes down, then we don't have enough information to decide whether PC or blocking is correct because we need to know whether the defender obtained a legal position on the court PRIOR to the opponent going airborne. That is what the call will depend upon in that case. Quote:
|
Quote:
The NFHS does not provide a definition for a step, but the rules book does mention "the other foot touches in a step." I think that we are going to be arguing with coaches who interp it to be whatever supports their cause. I can state that what I described above is always considered a step by those on TV reviewing a replay and counting feet hitting the floor. That doesn't mean that they are correct, but if that is the prevailing opinion of the masses, then the NFHS just made our job much more difficult and opened us up to taking unnecessary grief. |
Quote:
Bright idea here! Since we can't agree on my first scenario, I'll just disprove this statement with a completely different example. 4-33: "A pivot takes place when a player who is holding the ball steps once, or more than once, in any direction with the same foot while the other foot, called the pivot foot, is kept at its point of contact with the floor." That action certainly isn't illegal. :D |
Quote:
One can split hairs and argue language specifics here, but the bottom line is that this sentence: Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38am. |