![]() |
Quote:
No, that is not Cadillac. In the ancient days of two-man mechanics, when the team shooting at the basket to the right of the scorer's table had the ball, the L would be table-side and the T would be opposite the table and when the team shooting at the basket to the left of the scorer's table had the ball, the T would be table-side and the L would be opposite the table: This was called Cadillac (also call right-handed mechanics) whenever a throw-in (or a jump ball) required the officials to officiate using left-handed (opposite of Cadillac) mechanics the T would iniate a switch once all ten (10) players where in the front court and the ball was in the mid-court (look up that definition in your Funk & Wagnals, :D) area. In either case, court coverage in the front court was defined by the Block and L. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The term 'right-handed mechanics' I remember. It was one of those things I had to unlearn after taking 26 years off. |
Quote:
You are a little late to the discussion. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Speaking of post #11, if the throw-in ends above the FT line extended is the T the only official who chops & below the FT line extended the T mirrors the L chop?
|
Quote:
I doubt it -- both officials should chop |
Guess I heard wrong then :confused:
Can't remember where I heard that, but I think reasoning was, say if the throw-in ends near the division line or in the b/c, how would the L know when it ended if he/she were refereeing their PCA. Could any of you who work NCAA-W tell me where to find clarification in the manual or post it here?? |
Quote:
The same way T knows it's been touched if the throw-in ends in L or C's PCA -- peripheral vision. |
Quote:
Not trying to argue with what you're telling me, just want clarification. ie; what page of the manual can one find this info?? |
No change for IAABO officials
IAABO is not adopting this change of calling official going table-side trail on shooting fouls. It will continue to have the officials switch on all fouls, with the trail going table opposite.
|
Where did you hear this info?
And is it just relative to your State? Last year per IAABO we were supposed to have the calling official go opposite in 3 person, but our association decided to wait until the '10 season. |
Quote:
His exact words:"As of four years ago, IAABO has its own Crew of 2 & 3 manuals. The NFHS change will not be included within the IAABO manuals." IAABO tries to standardize its mechanics among all IAABO boards, but local deviations remain common. |
Thanks!
I wonder what we're going to do... worked a 2 gm set last night (2 person) & must've forgot to stay tableside at least 5 times :( |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08pm. |