The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3 Jump Ball / Arrow Ques (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/5308-3-jump-ball-arrow-ques.html)

rpirtle Mon Jul 01, 2002 11:41pm

1. A5 violated when he caught the ball inside the restraining circle. And the jumpers CAN tap the ball two times each while in the restraining circle.

2. Actually, for purposes of beginning the AP arrow procedure, NF says the arrow is pointed to Team A as soon as the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a throw-in (not after Team B touches the ball in-bounds). The ball being put at the disposal of Team B is the first Team control for purposes of setting the initial AP arrow direction. This means that, should there be a jump ball situation on Team B's throw-in, the ball would then go to Team A.

3. Lining up the wrong way is not a correctable error situation. NF says you simply allow Team B to throw the ball in heading the correct direction.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 02, 2002 11:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by rpirtle
1. A5 violated when he caught the ball inside the restraining circle.
I hate to continue my role as the picker of nits (I guess there are worse things to pick, tho. . .), but catching the ball inside the restraining circle is not a violation. A jumper catching the ball is only a violation before the jump ball has ended. If B5 had tapped the ball once and then A5 stepped outside the circle and caught the ball, that still would've been a violation. On the other hand, if B5 had tapped the ball to the ground and then A5 caught it, there is no violation, even if he caught in inside the circle.

Chuck

theboys Tue Jul 02, 2002 11:29am

What if...

Both teams line up correctly, the official calls the directions correctly, but some idiot still catches the ball in the opponent's frontcourt, and scores in the wrong basket? Do you let the teams go, or do you stop the action?

I played in a co-ed rec game in college, and that exact thing happened (it wasn't me!). My teammate got the tip, and dashed to the wrong end and missed a lay-up. The opponents got confused, got the rebound, and headed off in the other direction. The officials, college students like ourselves got confused. The other team raced to the wrong end (no over-and-back call) shot a lay-up and missed. We got the rebound, and sure enough, started back the other way. By this time, teammates were trying to strip the ball from teammates, people on the sidelines were screaming (mostly laughing, really). Finally, one of the officials blew his whistle, looked at us like we were a bunch of idiots (which we were), explained to us slowly and clearly which direction we were going, and started the game over, with a jump ball, of course. It was pretty funny.

rpirtle Tue Jul 02, 2002 11:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by rpirtle
1. A5 violated when he caught the ball inside the restraining circle.
I hate to continue my role as the picker of nits (I guess there are worse things to pick, tho. . .), but catching the ball inside the restraining circle is not a violation. A jumper catching the ball is only a violation before the jump ball has ended. If B5 had tapped the ball once and then A5 stepped outside the circle and caught the ball, that still would've been a violation. On the other hand, if B5 had tapped the ball to the ground and then A5 caught it, there is no violation, even if he caught in inside the circle.

Chuck

I hate it when someone picks my nit...

ScottParks Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by theboys
What if...

Both teams line up correctly, the official calls the directions correctly, but some idiot still catches the ball in the opponent's frontcourt, and scores in the wrong basket? Do you let the teams go, or do you stop the action?

I played in a co-ed rec game in college, and that exact thing happened (it wasn't me!). My teammate got the tip, and dashed to the wrong end and missed a lay-up. The opponents got confused, got the rebound, and headed off in the other direction. The officials, college students like ourselves got confused. The other team raced to the wrong end (no over-and-back call) shot a lay-up and missed. We got the rebound, and sure enough, started back the other way. By this time, teammates were trying to strip the ball from teammates, people on the sidelines were screaming (mostly laughing, really). Finally, one of the officials blew his whistle, looked at us like we were a bunch of idiots (which we were), explained to us slowly and clearly which direction we were going, and started the game over, with a jump ball, of course. It was pretty funny.

I don't believe the rules allow you a "do over". I'm sure others will be along to help me, but once you realize the "error of your ways" you fix the direction and go from there.... all points, fouls, etc remain in effect.

That said, how the heck do we not get an over and back or 10 second call????? ;)

Larks Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:31pm

How about this twist
 
Ok...we've kicked around the 3 sitch's enough. I am taking away from this the following...

1. A5 violated. B's ball and Arrow

2. We got that one right.

3. Next time I can wait for a dead ball or stop play at a slow spot and spin the teams around but I would not allow a rejump.

How about this...

A5 annd B5 jump tipping the ball between A1 and B3 who preceed to tie the ball up. Who jumps?

devdog69 Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:37pm

Ok, just to add a twist to the "going the wrong way" question:

Teams line up going the wrong way to start the overtime and the officials don't catch it. A5 taps to A1 who lays the ball up and in the wrong basket. Officials correctly allow play to continue though realizing very quickly what is happening. As soon as the basket is made R1 stops play explains that the basket will count for A and B will be given an inbound where? My question is would you walk down to the other end and give them the ball there where they would have to go the length of the court, or would you let them take the ball out under their own basket. I would lean towards going to the other end.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:37pm

Re: How about this twist
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Larks
1. A5 violated. B's ball and Arrow
Pick, pick, pick. . . Here's another of those annoying nits. Last year, you would've been correct. Starting this season, it's B's ball and A gets the arrow. So depending on whether your summer leagues are using last year's rules or next year's, you might be right or you might not.

Chuck

Camron Rust Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:55pm

Re: How about this twist
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Larks

How about this...

A5 annd B5 jump tipping the ball between A1 and B3 who preceed to tie the ball up. Who jumps?

A1 and B3 jump

bob jenkins Tue Jul 02, 2002 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Ok, just to add a twist to the "going the wrong way" question:

Teams line up going the wrong way to start the overtime and the officials don't catch it. A5 taps to A1 who lays the ball up and in the wrong basket. Officials correctly allow play to continue though realizing very quickly what is happening. As soon as the basket is made R1 stops play explains that the basket will count for A and B will be given an inbound where? My question is would you walk down to the other end and give them the ball there where they would have to go the length of the court, or would you let them take the ball out under their own basket. I would lean towards going to the other end.

Yes, you go to the other end -- A just scored, so B gets the throw-in "under" (no nit-picking here, please) A's basket. A's basket is at the other end.

If the players are lined up the right way, and a player goes the wrong way, then it's either a backcourt violation, or a 10-second violation, or a basket for the other team. As soon as the other team tries a thorw-in (if they've now become confused) blow the whistle and stop play. You *could* assess a T for this, but I wouldn't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1