The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3 Jump Ball / Arrow Ques (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/5308-3-jump-ball-arrow-ques.html)

Larks Mon Jul 01, 2002 01:29pm

Worked Huggins camp last night at UC.

Three separate jump ball situations out of 6 games worked!....books at home.....please reference NF. Thanks

1. A5 and B5 on the jump both tap the ball basically straight up. B5 then taps the ball again and A5 catches it. A5 then passes to A1 and off we go to the races. Can A5 catch the ball there? We allowed it. Not sure on this one.

2. A5 and B5 on the jump both tap the ball towards the table. A1 attempts to catch it but fumbles the ball out of bounds. Throw in for B...no problem. Arrow to B or A? We gave the Arrow to A. My guess is it comes back to team control. A really never had possession of the ball and B gained that 1st control after their throw in. Am I close?

3. A5 and B5 jump and tip the ball towards B1. B1 catches the ball and passes to B2. My partner then realizes we are going the wrong way and blows everything dead and sez....we lined up the wrong way, we need to re-jump. My question...shouldnt we have waited for a made basket or dead ball to correct direction of play?

Thanks

Larks - 3rd year and still so much to know!

Dan_ref Mon Jul 01, 2002 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Larks
Worked Huggins camp last night at UC.

Three separate jump ball situations out of 6 games worked!....books at home.....please reference NF. Thanks

1. A5 and B5 on the jump both tap the ball basically straight up. B5 then taps the ball again and A5 catches it. A5 then passes to A1 and off we go to the races. Can A5 catch the ball there? We allowed it. Not sure on this one.

2. A5 and B5 on the jump both tap the ball towards the table. A1 attempts to catch it but fumbles the ball out of bounds. Throw in for B...no problem. Arrow to B or A? We gave the Arrow to A. My guess is it comes back to team control. A really never had possession of the ball and B gained that 1st control after their throw in. Am I close?

3. A5 and B5 jump and tip the ball towards B1. B1 catches the ball and passes to B2. My partner then realizes we are going the wrong way and blows everything dead and sez....we lined up the wrong way, we need to re-jump. My question...shouldnt we have waited for a made basket or dead ball to correct direction of play?

Thanks

Larks - 3rd year and still so much to know!

#1 you kicked. Neither jumper may catch the ball before
the jump ball ends. It ends when it hits the floor, a
non-jumping player, backboard or basket. BTW, neither
player may touch th eball more than twice. (As I reread this I see I should mention if the ball hits the floor
without either jumper touching it you re-do the jump.)
Look in Rule 6.

#2 Done good.

#3, do not re-do the jump. Wait for a dead ball or a
slow down in the action before turning them around.
In your play B keeps the ball, A gets the arrow of course.
Everything remains as it was, score, fouls, time.
This is not a correctable error. I believe there's a
case play on this, I'm not sure.

APHP Mon Jul 01, 2002 02:09pm

In #2--Did he muff (did not have control) or fumble (did have control)? If it was a fumble, he looses ball and arrow. If it was a muff he looses ball but gets arrow.

Larks Mon Jul 01, 2002 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by APHP
In #2--Did he muff (did not have control) or fumble (did have control)? If it was a fumble, he looses ball and arrow. If it was a muff he looses ball but gets arrow.

My thought was no control. Maybe fumble was a bad choice of words. Basically he reached with one hand to stop the ball from going out of bounds, touched it but never got control.

Speaking of control...anyone ever call double dribble when the following occurs...

A1 passes a hot pass to A2. A2 uses one hand to stop the ball which then bounces straight down on the floor, very similar to a dribble and then back into A2's hands. A2 then dribbles.

APHP Mon Jul 01, 2002 02:33pm

Pretty much the same question. Can't be a dribble unless there is control. If there is/was control (or a controlled act) then it is/was a dribble. No control (or a controlled act, then no dribble.

Stan Mon Jul 01, 2002 03:48pm


#1 you kicked. Neither jumper may catch the ball before
the jump ball ends. It ends when it hits the floor, a
non-jumping player, backboard or basket. BTW, neither
player may touch th eball more than twice. (As I reread this I see I should mention if the ball hits the floor
without either jumper touching it you re-do the jump.)
Look in Rule 6.

Neither player may touch the ball twice? If they do is that a violation or a do over?

Thanks

Jurassic Referee Mon Jul 01, 2002 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Stan

#1 you kicked. Neither jumper may catch the ball before
the jump ball ends. It ends when it hits the floor, a
non-jumping player, backboard or basket. BTW, neither
player may touch th eball more than twice. (As I reread this I see I should mention if the ball hits the floor
without either jumper touching it you re-do the jump.)
Look in Rule 6.

Neither player may touch the ball twice? If they do is that a violation or a do over?

Thanks

Violation!

ChuckElias Mon Jul 01, 2002 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
Neither player may touch the ball twice? If they do is that a violation or a do over?
Violation! [/B]
Just to be clear, it's a violation for touching it MORE than twice before the jump ball ends. Stan said it correctly earlier in his post, but then when rephrasing the question, slightly altered it. MORE than twice is a violation. Everybody knows it, but just in case somebody is peeking in for the first time. . .

Chuck

Stan Mon Jul 01, 2002 04:27pm

Chuck,

I was trying to quote Dan_Ref. I don't know how you guys do the " originaly posted by _____ " thing.

Two touches are ok, third time is a violation, right? Does this happen often? I can't say that I've ever seen it called.

ChuckElias Mon Jul 01, 2002 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
Chuck,

I was trying to quote Dan_Ref. I don't know how you guys do the " originaly posted by _____ " thing.

Ahh, no problem. The quotations appear by clicking the "quote" icon at the bottom of each post. So if you want to take an exact quote from this post, for example, you go to the bottom of my post. There are icons for "profile", "mail", "search", there's a couple others, I think and there's also "quote". If you click on quote, a new screen comes up for posting a new message, and inside the new screen is the entire post that you wanted to quote. Cut out the stuff that you don't want to quote and the rest shows up in your new post as a quotation. Hope that helps.

Chuck

Oz Referee Mon Jul 01, 2002 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Larks
Worked Huggins camp last night at UC.

Three separate jump ball situations out of 6 games worked!....books at home.....please reference NF. Thanks

1. A5 and B5 on the jump both tap the ball basically straight up. B5 then taps the ball again and A5 catches it. A5 then passes to A1 and off we go to the races. Can A5 catch the ball there? We allowed it. Not sure on this one.

FIBA - you got it right. Either jumper may catch the ball once the jump ball has ended. A jump ball ends once one or more of the following happen: ball touches floor, non-jumping player touches ball, ball touches backboard, ball is tapped at least twice by one (or both) of the jumpers.

Also, in FIBA it is not illegal for the jumpers to tap the ball more than twice. I have seen jumpballs where the two jumpers tap the ball about a dozen times!

Stan Mon Jul 01, 2002 04:45pm


Ahh, no problem.

Thanks, now my posts may be more accurate.

Stan Mon Jul 01, 2002 04:46pm

Drat, it didn't work. I'll try again tomarrow

ChuckElias Mon Jul 01, 2002 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
Either jumper may catch the ball once the jump ball has ended. A jump ball ends once one or more of the following happen: ball touches floor, non-jumping player touches ball, ball touches backboard, ball is tapped at least twice by one (or both) of the jumpers.
Oz, does that mean that a jumper can tap it straight up, tap it again, and then catch it on the way down? That doesn't seem to be a very good rule.

Chuck

Oz Referee Mon Jul 01, 2002 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
Either jumper may catch the ball once the jump ball has ended. A jump ball ends once one or more of the following happen: ball touches floor, non-jumping player touches ball, ball touches backboard, ball is tapped at least twice by one (or both) of the jumpers.
Oz, does that mean that a jumper can tap it straight up, tap it again, and then catch it on the way down? That doesn't seem to be a very good rule.

Chuck

Yep he sure can. Never seen it happen - if it did you would have to ask what the other jumper was doing.......

rpirtle Mon Jul 01, 2002 11:41pm

1. A5 violated when he caught the ball inside the restraining circle. And the jumpers CAN tap the ball two times each while in the restraining circle.

2. Actually, for purposes of beginning the AP arrow procedure, NF says the arrow is pointed to Team A as soon as the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a throw-in (not after Team B touches the ball in-bounds). The ball being put at the disposal of Team B is the first Team control for purposes of setting the initial AP arrow direction. This means that, should there be a jump ball situation on Team B's throw-in, the ball would then go to Team A.

3. Lining up the wrong way is not a correctable error situation. NF says you simply allow Team B to throw the ball in heading the correct direction.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 02, 2002 11:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by rpirtle
1. A5 violated when he caught the ball inside the restraining circle.
I hate to continue my role as the picker of nits (I guess there are worse things to pick, tho. . .), but catching the ball inside the restraining circle is not a violation. A jumper catching the ball is only a violation before the jump ball has ended. If B5 had tapped the ball once and then A5 stepped outside the circle and caught the ball, that still would've been a violation. On the other hand, if B5 had tapped the ball to the ground and then A5 caught it, there is no violation, even if he caught in inside the circle.

Chuck

theboys Tue Jul 02, 2002 11:29am

What if...

Both teams line up correctly, the official calls the directions correctly, but some idiot still catches the ball in the opponent's frontcourt, and scores in the wrong basket? Do you let the teams go, or do you stop the action?

I played in a co-ed rec game in college, and that exact thing happened (it wasn't me!). My teammate got the tip, and dashed to the wrong end and missed a lay-up. The opponents got confused, got the rebound, and headed off in the other direction. The officials, college students like ourselves got confused. The other team raced to the wrong end (no over-and-back call) shot a lay-up and missed. We got the rebound, and sure enough, started back the other way. By this time, teammates were trying to strip the ball from teammates, people on the sidelines were screaming (mostly laughing, really). Finally, one of the officials blew his whistle, looked at us like we were a bunch of idiots (which we were), explained to us slowly and clearly which direction we were going, and started the game over, with a jump ball, of course. It was pretty funny.

rpirtle Tue Jul 02, 2002 11:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by rpirtle
1. A5 violated when he caught the ball inside the restraining circle.
I hate to continue my role as the picker of nits (I guess there are worse things to pick, tho. . .), but catching the ball inside the restraining circle is not a violation. A jumper catching the ball is only a violation before the jump ball has ended. If B5 had tapped the ball once and then A5 stepped outside the circle and caught the ball, that still would've been a violation. On the other hand, if B5 had tapped the ball to the ground and then A5 caught it, there is no violation, even if he caught in inside the circle.

Chuck

I hate it when someone picks my nit...

ScottParks Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by theboys
What if...

Both teams line up correctly, the official calls the directions correctly, but some idiot still catches the ball in the opponent's frontcourt, and scores in the wrong basket? Do you let the teams go, or do you stop the action?

I played in a co-ed rec game in college, and that exact thing happened (it wasn't me!). My teammate got the tip, and dashed to the wrong end and missed a lay-up. The opponents got confused, got the rebound, and headed off in the other direction. The officials, college students like ourselves got confused. The other team raced to the wrong end (no over-and-back call) shot a lay-up and missed. We got the rebound, and sure enough, started back the other way. By this time, teammates were trying to strip the ball from teammates, people on the sidelines were screaming (mostly laughing, really). Finally, one of the officials blew his whistle, looked at us like we were a bunch of idiots (which we were), explained to us slowly and clearly which direction we were going, and started the game over, with a jump ball, of course. It was pretty funny.

I don't believe the rules allow you a "do over". I'm sure others will be along to help me, but once you realize the "error of your ways" you fix the direction and go from there.... all points, fouls, etc remain in effect.

That said, how the heck do we not get an over and back or 10 second call????? ;)

Larks Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:31pm

How about this twist
 
Ok...we've kicked around the 3 sitch's enough. I am taking away from this the following...

1. A5 violated. B's ball and Arrow

2. We got that one right.

3. Next time I can wait for a dead ball or stop play at a slow spot and spin the teams around but I would not allow a rejump.

How about this...

A5 annd B5 jump tipping the ball between A1 and B3 who preceed to tie the ball up. Who jumps?

devdog69 Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:37pm

Ok, just to add a twist to the "going the wrong way" question:

Teams line up going the wrong way to start the overtime and the officials don't catch it. A5 taps to A1 who lays the ball up and in the wrong basket. Officials correctly allow play to continue though realizing very quickly what is happening. As soon as the basket is made R1 stops play explains that the basket will count for A and B will be given an inbound where? My question is would you walk down to the other end and give them the ball there where they would have to go the length of the court, or would you let them take the ball out under their own basket. I would lean towards going to the other end.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:37pm

Re: How about this twist
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Larks
1. A5 violated. B's ball and Arrow
Pick, pick, pick. . . Here's another of those annoying nits. Last year, you would've been correct. Starting this season, it's B's ball and A gets the arrow. So depending on whether your summer leagues are using last year's rules or next year's, you might be right or you might not.

Chuck

Camron Rust Tue Jul 02, 2002 01:55pm

Re: How about this twist
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Larks

How about this...

A5 annd B5 jump tipping the ball between A1 and B3 who preceed to tie the ball up. Who jumps?

A1 and B3 jump

bob jenkins Tue Jul 02, 2002 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Ok, just to add a twist to the "going the wrong way" question:

Teams line up going the wrong way to start the overtime and the officials don't catch it. A5 taps to A1 who lays the ball up and in the wrong basket. Officials correctly allow play to continue though realizing very quickly what is happening. As soon as the basket is made R1 stops play explains that the basket will count for A and B will be given an inbound where? My question is would you walk down to the other end and give them the ball there where they would have to go the length of the court, or would you let them take the ball out under their own basket. I would lean towards going to the other end.

Yes, you go to the other end -- A just scored, so B gets the throw-in "under" (no nit-picking here, please) A's basket. A's basket is at the other end.

If the players are lined up the right way, and a player goes the wrong way, then it's either a backcourt violation, or a 10-second violation, or a basket for the other team. As soon as the other team tries a thorw-in (if they've now become confused) blow the whistle and stop play. You *could* assess a T for this, but I wouldn't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1