![]() |
Quote:
I love that ol' lady :D |
Given that the VAST majority of people who serve as scorers and timers are not well-versed in the rules, it is quite reasonable to expect that such a situation is not going to follow perfect protocol.
The coach is probably just going to tell the guy at the table, "Give me a time-out." After that things are likely to follow different paths. Some scorers/timers are going to ignore the coach, some won't know what to do at all, and some will try to get the attention of an official. IMO once the official learns of the situation, it seems that the ONLY reasonable course of action is to grant the time-out request. As I wrote before, it was being requested at a proper time and by a proper individual. I still think that anyone who wants to make a big deal out of a HC getting a time-out in this manner is missing the big picture and being small and petty. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
as far as i can tell, the name calling started yesterday at 3:50 (post 14) |
Quote:
|
So the visiting coach knows that it is improper for him to get the timer to buzz for his timeout request that the officials haven't seen, and so therefore he doesn't do it.
But the home coach does get the timers to buzz the horn. The whole premise of fairness is that each team has equal opportunities. There's no way I'm granting this timeout request, and if I do, home HC also gets a technical foul for over-stepping his bounds (2-3). If early in the game, I can see giving a warning. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I am only online for a few minutes tonight guys, so here is my two cents: NevadaRef has quoted the three rules that apply to this situation and the Official Timer (OT)was incorrect in sounding his horn to get the Game Officials (GO)attention so that the Head Coach could request a team timeout that is not covered by R5-S8-A4 and R10-S5-A1c. The bigger problem, as I see it, is that once the GO are made aware as to why the OT sounded his horn, does the GO grant the HC's request for a TO, assuming that he requests one for the GO once the GO gets to the Scorer's Table (ST) or does he tell the HC he can not have one because of the OT overstepped his bounds as the Timer? MTD, Sr. P.S. Have fun beating this dead horse some more. |
Here is a link to the NFHS - Instructions to Scorers and Timers
http://www.nfhs.org/core/contentmana...rerstimers.pdf Clearly the Table Crew (usually also part of the Home Team) overstepped their authority. The home team received an unintended benefit of having the game at home. If the officials recognize the horn, the home team has clearly benefited from the stoppage in play. They have an opportunity to communicate enough to set up an offensive or defensive play. At that point, is it an inadvertant whistle? Now the coach is asking for the TO and if the officials do not recognize it they will have other problems with whoever their assigning authority is. Damned if you do, damned it you don't now. |
I think what we have here is a technical foul on the table crew. The gym custodian should get two free throws and then be awarded one of the cheerleaders at the mid court line opposite the table. The table crew loses all concession stand privileges and must spend all subsequent timeouts refilling mechanical pencils.
I'm pretty sure all this is specified under NF rule 11. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm. |