The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 03, 2000, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson on 03-03-2000 02:33 PM
I don’t have the book in front of me either but, causing a violation, does not establish team possession, (for example, B1 is standing on the base line and taps the ball out of A1’s hand. Violation on B, but no team B possession). I would give B the ball with A getting the arrow. It’s a tough call. – Pop Quiz. Earlier in the year I had a tap go to an open spot on the floor with A and B diving simultaneously to the ball for a tie up. No possession and a tough call right away. We re-jumped the two girls who tied up, which I believe is the correct call. Any thoughts?


Well, you're correct that "causing a violation does not establish team posession", but we're talking about team posession being a violation (see the difference?).

In HS, B gets the ball, A gets the arrow. See case 6.3.1C(d) for the exact example.

You were right on your pop-quiz. Same case, play (c).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1