The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jun 26, 2002, 06:34am
Official Forum Member

Question

Fellow Officials-

Good Day, for quite sometime I have been reading your stories and sharing your experiences. And I will have to admit that I have learned quite a bit about this game of basketball from each of you.

But now I'm curious and figure it is time to get the opinion of you fine scholars of the basketball world... I have been officiating for about 5 years mostly the lower level, pay your dues kind of games that always seem the have the weidest things happen, that are NEVER covered by the rules.

Anyway my question is about camps I have gone to a few and it would seem that they all seemed geared toward the great pumpkin known as D1, all I ever seem to hear from counselors is "at the D1 level you do this, but you don't that, you call this but you would not call that. So my question is what in the world is wrong with the high school game?

I can see that what is called at the "D1" level is not necessarily called at the V1 (varsity one) level, which is a no brainer because the rules are similiar yet different. But I don't really expect to ever get to D1 and after seeing many fine officials get the call to the big show and come home with the better luck next time speech, I wonder if anyone will ever make it.

But forgive me I'm rambling like I was saying I'm tired of going to camps and getting bombarded with what they do at the D1 level. I don't work it and after hearing about all you have to go through just to have people yell at you and say mean things about your mom and sister (ok so they know my sister) I'm not sure I really want to go that high when I'm already geting this at my level.