The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   saving the ball by throwing it at the ref (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52536-saving-ball-throwing-ref.html)

M&M Guy Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 591585)
Two questions.
  1. <font color=red>Is the coach a person?</font color>
  2. Is the coach out of the box?
Your call.

<font color=red>I think we could do a whole new thread just on this question alone.</font color> :D

Just FYI - I'm leaning towards giving the official and the player the same status when it comes to inbounds/OOB, or frontcourt/backcourt status.

Unless someone convinces me otherwise.

(I used to be indecisive. But now I'm not so sure.)

mick Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 591600)
I think we could do a whole new thread just on this question alone. :D

Just FYI - I'm leaning towards giving the official and the player the same status when it comes to inbounds/OOB, or frontcourt/backcourt status.

Unless someone convinces me otherwise.

(I used to be indecisive. But now I'm not so sure.)

I'm leaning to getting the heck out of the way, or at least [unless the official is a sundial] he's lifting one foot in an attempt to escape in this unlikely situation.

Mark Padgett Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 591585)
Is the coach a person?

From Wikipedia: There are also hypothetical persons, sentient non-human persons such as sentient extraterrestrial life and self aware machines.

I think coaches fall into this category.

ronald Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:27pm

if the hitting the ref is the same as hitting the floor, you must look at where it hit the ref. forget about strandling the line. that is a distraction. the ball hit the floor inbounds because it hit the ref's body part that was inbounds.

Ref Ump Welsch Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 591538)
Ok, just to add to mick's question - what if the player hadn't used their dribble yet, and there is no illegal dribble violation?

Go with OOB. Gotta give the coaches something to howl about. :D

M&M Guy Thu Mar 26, 2009 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch (Post 591626)
Go with OOB. Gotta give the coaches something to howl about. :D

Ok - at least you're consistent with your reasoning. :D

Scratch85 Thu Mar 26, 2009 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 591618)
if the hitting the ref is the same as hitting the floor, you must look at where it hit the ref. forget about strandling the line. that is a distraction. the ball hit the floor inbounds because it hit the ref's body part that was inbounds.

I don't have books with me so correct me if I am wrong. 4-4-? lumps player and official together when determining ball location. Therefore, I am using the same criteria for player and official.

I think the case book uses the "same as touching the floor where the official is standing" reference. In your argument; is an official who's left foot is touching inbounds and who's right foot is not touching the floor but clearly outside the inbounds playing area still inbounds? What if the ball hits his right foot and caroms inbounds?

I do not believe an official can be inbounds and OOB or in the FC and the BC at the same time.

M&M Guy Thu Mar 26, 2009 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 591665)
I don't have books with me so correct me if I am wrong. 4-4-? lumps player and official together when determining ball location. Therefore, I am using the same criteria for player and official.

I think the case book uses the "same as touching the floor where the official is standing" reference.

4-4-4 is the rule. However, the wording is slightly different than what you remember, hence our discussion. "A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location." 4-35 covers player location, but does not specifically mention the location of an official. So, when the ball hits the official's leg that is inbounds, is "the ball touching the floor at that individual's location" inbounds?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 591665)
In your argument; is an official who's left foot is touching inbounds and who's right foot is not touching the floor but clearly outside the inbounds playing area still inbounds? What if the ball hits his right foot and caroms inbounds?

How would that be any different than hitting a player's foot/hand/torso/head in that same situation? Clearly still inbounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 591665)
I do not believe an official can be inbounds and OOB or in the FC and the BC at the same time.

Can you find the rule reference or case play to back that up? Again, that's the direction I'm leaning, but I wish someone could back up their argument with hard evidence one way or the other. If not, mick's suggetion is best: get out of the way so you don't have to make that decision! :)

just another ref Thu Mar 26, 2009 04:26pm

4-35 refers to the location of both a player and a nonplayer. Since it is not specified elsewhere, as far as I know, we must assume that an official is a nonplayer.

mick Thu Mar 26, 2009 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 591698)
If not, mick's suggetion is best: get out of the way so you don't have to make that decision! :)

There shouldn't be a problem for most officials to get out of the way, because they are generally moving and purposely giving way to get that 'great view'.

Now, what happens when *Partner* gets hit in that awkward position and, wide-eyed, looks to us for help.

M&M Guy Thu Mar 26, 2009 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 591705)
4-35 refers to the location of both a player and a nonplayer. Since it is not specified elsewhere, as far as I know, we must assume that an official is a nonplayer.

Hmm, you know, that specific wording did escape me. Curious that "nonplayer" is not mentioned elsewhere in that same section.

Ok, good enough for me. I can now leave work knowing I accomplished something today. :D

M&M Guy Thu Mar 26, 2009 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 591706)
There shouldn't be a problem for most officials to get out of the way, because they are generally moving and purposely giving way to get that 'great view'.

Now, what happens when *Partner* gets hit in that awkward position and, wide-eyed, looks to us for help.

Even though I was kinda on the fence, I was leaning pretty heavily towards the "player location is the same as official location" side. Besides, the grass was looking greener on that side...

So, now thanks to jar, I can come up to my partner and semi-confidently give them the information they need. (As far as the wide-eyed look, I use that alot myself.)

mick Thu Mar 26, 2009 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 591712)
Even though I was kinda on the fence, I was leaning pretty heavily towards the "player location is the same as official location" side. Besides, the grass was looking greener on that side...

So, now thanks to jar, I can come up to my partner and semi-confidently give them the information they need. (As far as the wide-eyed look, I use that alot myself.)

I think semi-confidence is about as good as it gets for half a rule.

M&M Guy Thu Mar 26, 2009 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 591713)
I think semi-confidence is about as good as it gets for half a rule.

You're more than half-right about that.

mbyron Thu Mar 26, 2009 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 591716)
You're more than half-right about that.

I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1