![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If given an equal choice between two players and I know the foul count, I just might make use of that information....but, in some cases, I may not. It doesn't come down to one thing....I give it to the player that "deserves" it the most. And since they both fouled, I either must call a multiple foul (not likely to happen), or, in absence of any rule that tells us what to do instead of calling a multiple foul, I get to decide however I like. I might even call it on the player that reacts most to the whistle..;). Or, I might call it on the one who reacts least. It really all depends on what i had for lunch that day. |
Quote:
In the first instance it is totally up to you. I have had the foul on the mouthy player before, unless of course the other player raises his hand, wanting to take the foul. Can't really say what i would do in the 2nd instance. No i don't check the fouls. if i know, then i can make a decision if i don't then i just pick one. I'm not ignoring illegal contact or my signature. Illegal contact was committed and i called the foul. I did not ignore any illegal actions. In my league there are no "false multiple" fouls. |
Quote:
A lot of times one of the players will raise his hand really quick. Usually an indication that his teammate is a star or is in foul trouble. ;) |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I was simply responding to your statement: Quote:
Remember, there are no ties (just like baseball), so one happened before the other. Perhaps the second foul was harder, so you rule the first contact incidental. That's fine. But I can't find any rule, case, mention in the "Simplified and Illustrated", NCAA memo, or note from any of my assignors mentioing your philosophy. It sounds a lot like making the "least objectionable call" instead of the right call. Maybe in rare instances that can be done, but never as a common occurance. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
[QUOTE=M&M Guy;591392]And, as I mentioned before, I don't believe in ties, so the word "approximately" still means one happened before the other. My choice would (most often) be the player that fouled first.
Quote:
If they happen approximately at the same time then why not give it to the guy raising his hand. This is part of managing the game. Everybody sees that a guy is asking for a foul, so give it to him. Now if the "star" as you call him, OBVIOUSLY fouls before the player raising his hand then you have no choice but to give it to him, even if the "sub" raises his hand cause on tape, it is going to show that the obvious first foul is on the "star". Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Sometimes you have to do what you gotta do to survive and sometimes you have to step up and take the hit and do the right thing. I believe calling a foul on a "sub" vs. "star" with no more than .1/.2 tenths b/w fouls is doing what you have to do to not cause any more stink in the game, especially when the "sub" is raising his hand! I know we aren't changing each others mind, but this is good for people sitting on the sidelines and reading. It lets them decide how they want to ref. M&M, unless i feel it is absolutely necessary or i need to clarify something i said (which is very possible), I am bowing out of this debate. The last word is all yours. I believe this has been healthy and good for you, I and all who have read it. |
The simple answer is this:
If you have multiple fouls, call the foul on the player who calling the foul on would show your 'diversity-awareness'. |
Quote:
Multiple = Two Team B players fouling the same Team A player Simultaneous = A1 fouls B1 and B2 fouls A2 at the same time Double = A1 and B1 foul each other at the same time |
It Depends On What Base They're Running To ???
Quote:
THE TIE RULE MYTH There is no such thing in the world of umpiring. The runner is either out or safe. The umpire must judge out or safe. It is impossible to judge a tie. Lets look at the rules (OBR) 6.05 deals with a batter becoming a runner and 7.08 deals with a runner going to 2nd, 3rd, or Home. 6.05 A batter is out when: After he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base. Here, as it relates to time, the rule states the runner must be tagged before he touches first base. So if they were to happen at the same time, the runner would be safe because the runner was not tagged “before”. 7.08 Any runner is out when: He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. Here it states that the runner must reach the base before the ball, thus a perception of time being a tie, the runner would be out. With my limited knowledge of baseball rules, I have concluded that a tie goes to runner at first, and tie goes to fielders at the other bases. |
Quote:
Edited to add: BillyMac, professional instruction is to enforce the standard of 7.08 and ignore that of 6.05. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06am. |