The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jun 21, 2002, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member

I have never done 3 man mechanics before (our assn. uses 2 man exclusively) but I was invited to do a high school varsity summer tournament during which I will be evaluated in the event that we switch to 3 man. I need advice on how to prepare. What areas do you think might be emphasized on an evaluation? Floor coverage? Rotations? How can I best impress these folks? Thanks in advance for your assistance!
Old Fri Jun 21, 2002, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member

Study the coverage areas. In 3 man, you really have to trust your partners and stay out of the areas. That's probably the biggest thing they'll be looking for. The primary areas are different than with 2 man. If you don't know where your primary is, you'll find yourself calling 2 man areas.
Old Sat Jun 22, 2002, 07:53am
In Memoriam

Lightbulb

Flexing:
  • As Lead, feel free to move across to create strong side coverage. Don't let a Center handle four to six players and the ball by himself. Get over there and help. You may not be "on ball" on the "cross over", but you will be available.
  • As Trail and Center, know where the Lead is and adjust immediately to Lead's positioning.

Slow Center:
  • On a backcourt change of possession, (in particular an endline throw-in with the presence of two or more defenders) the New Center should be "slow" in leaving for the front court in order to assist the New Trail with back court pressure.
  • If there is no fast break, pause at the division line to assist with a potential problem.
  • During a fast break, of course, the "Slow Center" is busting down the court to help the New Lead.
  • A three-man crew is only as good as it's Center.
    Old Sat Jun 22, 2002, 11:22am
    Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
    Quote: