The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 15, 2009, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by WreckRef View Post
Ok, I had the strangest foul the other night in a men's league game.

A1 shoots the ball, A2 goes to tap the rebound into the basket from about 8 feet. While he's attempting the try, B2 smacks A2 on the arm so hard it forces his arm forward and actually helps him (yes, helps him) in making the basket from about 8 feet away from the rim.

I call the foul, see the ball go in (in complete disbelief because it was a line drive, think Clyde Drexler), report the foul and when I say, "Count the basket" everybody looks at me (with a WTF look) because nobody realized it went in other than me.

Just wondering if anybody else has had strange/odd baskets where the defender helped the offense to score.
The act of tapping begins when the player makes contact with the ball. Therefore, if the foul occurred before the tapper touched the ball, then not only should you have NOT counted the goal, but you wouldn't even award FTs (unless bonus) as the foul wasn't during the act of shooting.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 15, 2009, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The act of tapping begins when the player makes contact with the ball. Therefore, if the foul occurred before the tapper touched the ball, then not only should you have NOT counted the goal, but you wouldn't even award FTs (unless bonus) as the foul wasn't during the act of shooting.
So durring the tap and after you will shoot? I was looking at this the other day and was wondering. Didn't see the X factor for shooting or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 15, 2009, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
So durring the tap and after you will shoot? I was looking at this the other day and was wondering. Didn't see the X factor for shooting or not.
Rule 4
Section 41
ART. 5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s
hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
ART. 6 . . . A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as
in 5-2-5.
ART. 7 . . . The tap starts when the player’s hand(s) touches the ball.
ART. 8 . . . The tap ends in exactly the same manner as a try.

CONTINUOUS MOTION
6.7 COMMENT: If an opponent fouls after A1 has started to throw for goal, A1
is permitted to complete the customary arm movement; and, if A1 is pivoting or
stepping when A1 or a teammate is fouled, A1 may complete the usual foot or
body movement in any activity, as long as A1 is still holding the ball. If A1 starts
a dribble, the “continuous motion” immediately ends. These privileges are
granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs.
The continuous-motion rule applies to a free-throw try as well as to a field-goal
try or tap for goal. However, in a tap for goal, the motion does not begin until the
ball is touched.
The “continuous-motion” provision does not apply to batting or tipping the ball
during rebounding or a jump ball. In these cases, A1 is not considered as being
in the act of trying or tapping for goal. If an opponent commits a foul during this
type of action before the ball is in flight, the foul causes the ball to become dead
immediately.

6.7.7 SITUATION: As the hand of A1 contacts the ball to tap it toward Team A’s
basket, B1 fouls A1. The ball definitely is not airborne from the hand of A1 when
the contact occurs, but the tapped ball goes into the basket. RULING: The foul
does not cause the ball to become dead immediately. The subsequent tap of the
ball results in a goal, the same as a try for goal. The foul is penalized the same as
being fouled in the act of shooting. Continuous motion does apply to a tap. (4-
11; 4-41-2, 5)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1