The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Georgetown-St. John's final closing seconds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52047-georgetown-st-johns-final-closing-seconds.html)

flick23 Tue Mar 03, 2009 09:42pm

Georgetown-St. John's final closing seconds
 
Anyone see the Georgetown-St. John's game tonight? They're going into overtime now, but with less than 30 seconds left, Georgetown was up 2 and missed a FG. St. John's came down with the ball, and bobbled it. The player recovered it, falling out of bounds, jumped in the air as he was falling out of bounds and called time out- the ref standing a few feet away granted it. Despite the fact this was clearly against the new rule, the time out stood. St. John's ended up tying the game. Thoughts?

Nevadaref Tue Mar 03, 2009 09:59pm

Didn't see the game. Sounds like a misapplication of a rule.

Are you sure that the player didn't have one foot on the floor and that he was completely airborne?

Nevadaref Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:00pm

BTW St. John's won 59-56 in OT.

JRutledge Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:23pm

Falling out of bounds is legal to have a timeout granted. Airborne is a different story.

Peace

Nevadaref Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:34pm

"Summers missed a jumper with 17 seconds left in regulation that could have given Georgetown a four-point lead. Thomas grabbed the rebound and called a timeout although it appeared he was in the air when he called it. Thomas, whose 16 points were a career high, was fouled with 2.3 seconds to go and made them both to force the overtime." -- Associated Press

Georgetown vs. St. John's - Recap - March 03, 2009 - ESPN

Nevadaref Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:45pm

Rule 5 / Scoring and Timing Regulations
Section 12. Timeouts Not Granted
Art. 1. No timeouts shall be granted:
a. To the opponents of the throw-in team after the throw-in starts.
b. During an interrupted dribble.
c. To a player or coach when an airborne player’s momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds or into the backcourt.

SamIAm Wed Mar 04, 2009 09:06am

I once had a sitch in which I was trail, table side, near A's bench. A1 falling OOB. Coach calls timeout. Then again louder. Then again more louder. Sort of a timeout, TimeOut, TIMEOUT. I was close enough to hear the 1st timeout request and granted the timeout. This ocurred in the closing seconds of a tight game. The timeout everyone heard was TIMEOUT with A1
already OOB.
Something similiar may have happened in this sitch if the play was near an official.

JugglingReferee Wed Mar 04, 2009 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 585280)
I once had a sitch in which I was trail, table side, near A's bench. A1 falling OOB. Coach calls timeout. Then again louder. Then again more louder. Sort of a timeout, TimeOut, TIMEOUT. I was close enough to hear the 1st timeout request and granted the timeout. This ocurred in the closing seconds of a tight game. The timeout everyone heard was TIMEOUT with A1
already OOB.
Something similiar may have happened in this sitch if the play was near an official.

Very good point! Once a season I have to tell a coach that his nonchalant signal/voice makes it very difficult for us to properly grant the request. A little more effort on his part makes the request that much more obvious to us.

Adam Wed Mar 04, 2009 09:37am

Maybe the player verbalized it while "on the floor," and followed with the hand signal after going airborne.

M&M Guy Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:08am

The other possibility is that if the player was indeed airborne, it is considered an IW, no TO is granted, the ball is given back to the team last in control at the time of the whistle (St. John's), but then the coach or player could still request the TO at that point. What happens, in effect, is the official screwed Georgetown out of a turnover, and St. John's still got to request a TO during the dead ball.

ranjo Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:49pm

I think we need to note to new or rookie forum followers that we are talking about NCAA rules in this thread and not NFHS rules. In NFHS games it is permissible to call for and be granted a time out while a player is airborne and going out of bounds. See casebook play 5.8.3 Situation D.

JRutledge Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 585369)
I think we need to note to new or rookie forum followers that we are talking about NCAA rules in this thread and not NFHS rules. In NFHS games it is permissible to call for and be granted a time out while a player is airborne and going out of bounds. See casebook play 5.8.3 Situation D.

Honestly, if that has to be pointed out, that is rather sad in my opinion. ;)

It is very clear we are talking about a college game.

Peace

Raymond Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 585404)
Honestly, if that has to be pointed out, that is rather sad in my opinion. ;)

It is very clear we are talking about a college game.

Peace

Yeah, but a rookie/newcomer might not know that the ruling is different per NFHS rules set.

JRutledge Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 585405)
Yeah, but a rookie/newcomer might not know that the ruling is different per NFHS rules set.

Then they need to use a little bit of common sense and read the rule or at the very least ask a question how this relates to the high school level. Do we have to tell newer officials that the two 3 point lines do not apply to high school as well? ;)

Some things should not have to be pointed out to you. That is why they have the rulebook in the first place.

Peace

Raymond Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 585408)
Then they need to use a little bit of common sense and read the rule or at the very least ask a question how this relates to the high school level. Do we have to tell newer officials that the two 3 point lines do not apply to high school as well? ;)

Some things should not have to be pointed out to you. That is why they have the rulebook in the first place.

Peace

If they were working on a court that had both sets of lines I personally wouldn't assume that a rookie knew which line applied and for which rules set. But that's JMHO.

And based on some the questions asked by some posters I wouldn't assume everyone is in possession of a rule book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1