The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 01, 2000, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to first timer
Question

hello, i am currently a freshman in high school preparing to referee my first game..it is only a 5th grade boys game but i would like to be able to know what is going on. i myself play basektball and would like some general calls that are usually made and how i would properly see if they are violations. your advice is welcome!! please!
Old Wed Mar 01, 2000, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member

Talking

I am no veteran so don't take my word as gospel. the best advice that I can tell you is that try to remain calm and call only what you see and don't worry about waht you missed ,... becasue you will NOT see everything. TWO GUYS CRASH on a block/charge something almost alwyas should be called---but not always. An NBA ref told me this next one: 99% of the time a travel is not a travel. BE CAREFUL.

Sell a call only when you have to. Sell a call: "Be very clear and obvious who the foul is on, what the foul is and be confident."

AND THEN REMEBER THE 4 "Rules" of Refereeing

1>Call the obvious
2>Referee the defence
3>Stay in your primary area
4>Trust your partner (s)

But the most important piece of advice have fun and have fun with the kids. For that 1 1/2 hours you are their mentor and they are going to look up to you. Be a professional), be a professional during the game, and be a professional after the game.

------------------
Old Wed Mar 01, 2000, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member

Smile

quote:
Originally posted by sip on 03-01-2000 06:22 PM
An NBA ref told me this next one: 99% of the time a travel is not a travel.

Oh, please! That sounds like NBA standards, but certainly not the rest of the world's.