The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Administrative "T" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51917-administrative-t.html)

Terrapins Fan Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:15pm

Administrative "T"
 
I called one the other night. First one ever. 9 years.....

Here's the situation. less than 1 minute before the start of the game home coach comes to me ( I am the R on a 3 man crew ) and says " there is an error in the book. There is no number 45 on their team but there is a 53 who is not listed but on the bench. I looked and sure enough home coach was right.

#53 usually wears number 45 when she plays up on varsity. But she didn't bring her uniform thinking she wasn't going to play up. They gave her #53 in the locker room. Book keeper didn't know it.

So I go to my partner who had 16 years experience and asked, " Do I have to penalize this now?" He said, "yes, when it is discovered" I thought the same thing.

But I also thought we might not penalize it until she entered the game....we did it then and Home team got 2 FT and the ball at mid court. They got 1 point out of the deal and won the game by 20 points in the end.

What do you think? When should the "T" have been called? BTW, the player never entered the game.

Mark Padgett Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 583646)
But I also thought we might not penalize it until she entered the game....we did it then

BTW, the player never entered the game.

Aren't these two statements contradictory? :confused:

Terrapins Fan Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:20pm

I mean, we did it to begin the game.

Amesman Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:21pm

T is administered when player with wrong number enters the game. This did not happen. No T.

Adam Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:25pm

The T is administered when the book is changed. The book does not need to be changed if the player never enters the game.

Amesman Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 583650)
The T is administered when the book is changed. The book does not need to be changed if the player never enters the game.

Thanks for the put-back, Snaq.

Juulie Downs Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:41pm

Doesn't this strike anyone as being a little bit of a "Neener, neener" by the coach? I think if a coach came to me about this, I'd say thank you, wait till he walked away, and then talk to the book person about it. I know the book person is from the home school, but techinically they are supposed to be neutral, whereas the coach definitely ISN'T! I wouldn't want him involved.

BillyMac Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:18pm

Do not stamp.
 
3) Penalized when they occur, after ten minute time limit. The infraction occurs when the scorer is advised to add to or change the scorebook. The foul must be charged when it occurs and enforced when the ball next becomes live. Once the ball has become live, it is too late to penalize. A maximum of one technical foul per team regardless of the number of infractions for 2a, 3a, 3b, 3c, 4a:
a) A team shall not add a name to the team member list after the ten minute time limit. Team technical foul. When such a player legally enters the court, the player’s name, and number, must be entered into the scorebook.
b) A team shall not require the scorer to change a team member, or player, number in the scorebook (with exception), after the ten minute time limit. Team technical foul. If there is no request for change, or if a team member does not become a player, thus avoiding the change, there is no penalty.
c) A team shall not require a player to change to a number in the scorebook after the ten minute time limit. Team technical foul. A maximum of one team technical foul is charged regardless of the number of players, and substitutes, not wearing the number indicated in the scorebook. Each player must wear the number indicated in the scorebook, or change the scorebook number to that which the player is wearing. Any additional substitutes who become players and require the changing of the number indicated for them in the scorebook will not result in a penalty as the one maximum technical has already been charged to the team for this administrative infraction. If there is no request for change, or if the team member does not become a player, thus avoiding the change, there is no penalty.

SAK Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:19pm

No T until the player enters.

BillyMac Fri Feb 27, 2009 07:29am

Use other side for additional listings.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 583660)
No T until the player enters.

Be careful with the wording of your answer. The coach could elect to take the technical foul right away, and have the team member's name added, or corrected, in the scorebook, before the team member legally becomes a player, i.e., before the start of the game. Remember, technically, the infraction is for changing the scorebook, that's when the technical foul actually occurs.

"The infraction occurs when the scorer is advised to add to or change the scorebook."

Adam Fri Feb 27, 2009 09:57am

Leave this up to the coach. It's up to him which players will play.

SmokeEater Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:15am

I luv FIBA!
 
Thanks Coach, Scorekeeper change 45 to 53 and lets play ball.
No Administrative T's here.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater (Post 583749)
Thanks Coach, Scorekeeper change 45 to 53 and lets play ball.
No Administrative T's here.

I agree.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1