The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Held ball- T - arrow? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51899-held-ball-t-arrow.html)

zeedonk Wed Feb 25, 2009 09:47pm

Held ball- T - arrow?
 
Just remembered a play that I am not 100% on so here ya go-

8th grade girls. I am trail in 2 ref game. I got a held ball in front of me. Whistle stops play, and A1 continues her tugging for the ball motion, B1 (on the other side of the ball) loses her balance and A1 pushes the ball and B1 to the ground. Tweet- T for A1 (I deemed it not flagrant, so no ejection).

We shoot the foul shots and I give the ball to Team B at the division line for a throw in and keep the arrow where it was. The T cancels the AP, right?

Z

mick Wed Feb 25, 2009 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zeedonk (Post 583290)
Just remembered a play that I am not 100% on so here ya go-

8th grade girls. I am trail in 2 ref game. I got a held ball in front of me. Whistle stops play, and A1 continues her tugging for the ball motion, B1 (on the other side of the ball) loses her balance and A1 pushes the ball and B1 to the ground. Tweet- T for A1 (I deemed it not flagrant, so no ejection).

We shoot the foul shots and I give the ball to Team B at the division line for a throw in and keep the arrow where it was. The T cancels the AP, right?

Z

With the Technical foul, you are correct to not use the arrow.

Athough the play was a *Had-to-be-there*, as long as B1 wasn't hurt to badly, I may have stepped in and sternly reminded the players to stop on the whistle.
-or-
I may have double whacked the players for not stopping on the whistle, without a warning.

zeedonk Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 583293)
With the Technical foul, you are correct to not use the arrow.

Athough the play was a *Had-to-be-there*, as long as B1 wasn't hurt to badly, I may have stepped in and sternly reminded the players to stop on the whistle.

It was absolutely a HTBT play- B1 wasn't hurt at all, I gave the T because it was basically a foul on a dead ball, and I didn't particularly care for the manner in which it occured (A1 pushing ball and B1 down- an attitude thing) but in the end, it wasn't flagrant, hence only a T and not an ejection.

mick Thu Feb 26, 2009 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zeedonk (Post 583391)
It was absolutely a HTBT play- B1 wasn't hurt at all, I gave the T because it was basically a foul on a dead ball, and I didn't particularly care for the manner in which it occured (A1 pushing ball and B1 down- an attitude thing) but in the end, it wasn't flagrant, hence only a T and not an ejection.

You felt it was unsporting.
You whacked her.
And the lesson was given.
That works. :)

Texas Aggie Thu Feb 26, 2009 02:42pm

I've had this a bunch in girls games. The problem with penalizing it is that you are essentially penalizing one girl for being stronger than the other, or for one not losing her balance while the other one did. While all situations are potentially different, USUALLY, both girls are still holding onto the ball. I tell them in our pregame, "if you hear the whistle, let go of the ball." If they don't and they get body slammed, well, maybe next time they'll let go.

Without something more -- like physical contact or taunting afterwards -- I'm not sure how you can make a T call on this play. I agree that certain situations could (possibly including the OP), but with nothing more than 4 hands on the ball and neither letting go, I've got nothing. I do, however, get in there and sternly warn them to keep themselves under control, hopefully preventing this the next time.

bradfordwilkins Thu Feb 26, 2009 03:07pm

Clarification question --

Does the jump ball call make the AP arrow change... followed by the technical voiding the possession.

IE Possession arrow points to Home, jump ball. Technical foul on Home player.

Do visitors get both ball and possession arrow in their favor?

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 26, 2009 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bradfordwilkins (Post 583555)
Clarification question --

Does the jump ball call make the AP arrow change... followed by the technical voiding the possession.

IE Possession arrow points to Home, jump ball. Technical foul on Home player.

Do visitors get both ball and possession arrow in their favor?

No, the arrow would not change. So, V would shoot 2 shots, and have the division line throw-in. The arrow would stay pointed in H's favour.

The arrow is reversed when the throw-in ends.

When does a throw-in end? Thanks for asking!

A throw-in ends when:
  • the inbounds pass is legally touched inbounds, OR
  • the throwing-in team violates

bradfordwilkins Thu Feb 26, 2009 03:24pm

Thanks!

mick Thu Feb 26, 2009 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bradfordwilkins (Post 583555)
Clarification question --

Does the jump ball call make the AP arrow change... followed by the technical voiding the possession.

IE Possession arrow points to Home, jump ball. Technical foul on Home player.

Do visitors get both ball and possession arrow in their favor?

bradfordwilkins,
We use the arrow when we don't know who is supposed to get the ball next.
Following a Technical foul, part of the penalty is getting the ball for a throw-in. So in that case, we do know who gets the ball, ... thus we don't have to use the arrow at all.
We ignore it. We leave it alone. We don't need it.

zm1283 Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 583559)
No, the arrow would not change. So, V would shoot 2 shots, and have the division line throw-in. The arrow would stay pointed in H's favour.

The arrow is reversed when the throw-in ends.

When does a throw-in end? Thanks for asking!

A throw-in ends when:
  • the inbounds pass is legally touched inbounds, OR
  • the throwing-in team violates

I had this tonight on an AP throw-in where the ball was kicked by the defense. A1 released it, B1 kicked it and it went out of bounds. I look at the table and the arrow had already been switched. I told them to switch it back and don't change it. Of course at the next held ball, Team B's fans were going nuts: "They got the last one! It's ours!"

BillyMac Fri Feb 27, 2009 07:35am

Times approximate.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 583677)
I had this tonight on an AP throw-in where the ball was kicked by the defense. A1 released it, B1 kicked it and it went out of bounds. I look at the table and the arrow had already been switched. I told them to switch it back and don't change it. Of course at the next held ball, Team B's fans were going nuts: "They got the last one! It's ours!"

zm1283: Good catch. I had the same situation in a game last month. My rookie, unlicensed, probationary, partner caught it. Kudos to our training committee.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1