The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Start of 4th quarter.. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51890-start-4th-quarter.html)

MatthewPV Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:51pm

Start of 4th quarter..
 
Can someone point me in the right direction...

NFHS - Team A has the arrow to start the 4th quarter. I am the lead, and the trial administers the ball to team B by mistake. I notice because the action is going away from me so at first I think I am mistakenly gone to the wrong end, but my partner notices and blows the play dead. Five seconds has come off the clock. My partner decides just to kill the play and give Team A the ball at the division line. Was this the proper procedure.

I see that this is not covered in 2-10 correctable errors, and nothing in 6-4 regarding the arrow. Some "direction" would be appropriated. Thanks!

just another ref Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:57pm

There is a case play on this. 6.4.1 Situation D This is not a correctable error. Once the throw-in ends, it is too late. Leave the arrow where it is. Play on.
Say oops. Don't ever let it happen again.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 583082)
Can someone point me in the right direction...

NFHS - Team A has the arrow to start the 4th quarter. I am the lead, and the trial administers the ball to team B by mistake. I notice because the action is going away from me so at first I think I am mistakenly gone to the wrong end, but my partner notices and blows the play dead. Five seconds has come off the clock. My partner decides just to kill the play and give Team A the ball at the division line. Was this the proper procedure.

I see that this is not covered in 2-10 correctable errors, and nothing in 6-4 regarding the arrow. Some "direction" would be appropriated. Thanks!

Nice pun.

Once the ball is touched inbounds, you can no longer retract this error.

Since you had 5 seconds comes off the clock, this was obviously the case, so your partner's decision was in error. However, with no changes of possession, etc., it does seem very much the right thing to do!

I officiate college football and we're told that if anything happens and we're unsure of the ruling, to not let the next play happen, and to question the Referee (white hat) of the ruling. I think the same should have been done here: even though you thought for a second that you were out of position, kill the play with your whistle, and now it's official's time. You then can either get to the other end of the court, or give the correct team the ball.

Secondly, when you're the Umpire, do you have a quick conversation with the Referee that includes what direction and who gets the ball for the throw-in to start a quarter? If not, consider adding it to your quarter-time habits.

Here's a thread where it was discussed that maybe it should be a CE: http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ut-should.html

You'll also need to tell the coach not receiving his rightful first possession of the quarter: "Coach, you'll get two of the next three." :D

OHBBREF Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:01pm

No books
I am not sure if the throw in has to be completed or once it is at the disposal but if the throw in is given the wrong way there is nothing you can do about, however the arrow does not change the team that was slighted gets the next throw in.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 583090)
No books
I am not sure if the throw in has to be completed or once it is at the disposal but if the throw in is given the wrong way there is nothing you can do about, however the arrow does not change the team that was slighted gets the next throw in.

Yes - great idea to make sure that the arrow points in the proper direction for the next held ball situation!

Raymond Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:05pm

Matthew, something I do at the end of every quarter (and when we walk back on the court after halftime) is confirm with my partner(s) who will be making the AP throw-in when the next quarter commences. Just something real quick that doesn't need a whole bunch of conversation: "White ball coming out" and proceed to my T-O position.

referee99 Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:07pm

just to pick nits...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 583089)
Once the ball is touched inbounds, you can no longer retract this error.
:D

Once the ball is legally touched inbounds... the throw-in ends.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 583095)
Once the ball is legally touched inbounds... the throw-in ends.

Nice catch. ;)

referee99 Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:22pm

My empirical observation is that 4 out of 5 officials (HS and below) will blow the whistle, and re-do this, thinking that it is correctable and that they are entitled to "make it right."

MatthewPV Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:54pm

The odd thing about all of this is that we did have a discussion about the arrow and color. My partner even said "white ball" and then handed it to blue. I didn't think you could stop the play, but i went with it. Game wasn't close so no one complained.

With that being said...say my partner kills the play, we discuss it, then proceed with the "wrong" team with the ball at the spot where we killed it, correct? And the arrow would stay with the "right team" and not be changed, correct?

refguy Wed Feb 25, 2009 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 583130)
The odd thing about all of this is that we did have a discussion about the arrow and color. My partner even said "white ball" and then handed it to blue. I didn't think you could stop the play, but i went with it. Game wasn't close so no one complained.

With that being said...say my partner kills the play, we discuss it, then proceed with the "wrong" team with the ball at the spot where we killed it, correct? And the arrow would stay with the "right team" and not be changed, correct?

Correct.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 25, 2009 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 583130)
The odd thing about all of this is that we did have a discussion about the arrow and color. My partner even said "white ball" and then handed it to blue. I didn't think you could stop the play, but i went with it. Game wasn't close so no one complained.

With that being said...say my partner kills the play, we discuss it, then proceed with the "wrong" team with the ball at the spot where we killed it, correct? And the arrow would stay with the "right team" and not be changed, correct?

If you do decide to create your own CE for this game, then yes, give B (correct team) the ball with A (incorrect team) getting the next arrow, provided that the elements to switch the arrow are met. Who knows: B might commit an illegal screen and give A the ball back anyways. :D

The only other option is to reset the clock to 8:00 and throw-in again from the division line opposite the table. If I'm the R on this game, I imagine that's what I would likely do.

OHBBREF Wed Feb 25, 2009 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 583137)
The only other option is to reset the clock to 8:00 and throw-in again from the division line opposite the table. If I'm the R on this game, I imagine that's what I would likely do.

JR - realize that probably no one int hte gym but you and your partner knows what to do here, and it isn't going to make a difference one way or the other,
but now you start really screwing things up if you put time on the clock and re-issue the throw in to the right team, knowing my luck if I did this, the coordinator for a conference I'm trying to get into is in the stands and I just kicked a couple of rules in front of them!:o

Don't do it! :)

zm1283 Wed Feb 25, 2009 04:14pm

I have to admit that my partner and I did the same thing a couple weeks ago. It was the start of the fourth quarter in a freshman game. Red had the arrow. I'm T and my partner takes his spot as L on red's end. For some reason, white's player walks over to the division line and after we count players, I bounce him the ball. They threw it in but we immediately blew it dead and brought it back. I realized after the game without even looking at the book that technically we should have let it go since the throw in had ended, but we made our own CE like someone said. At least I know now to not have my head firmly planted in my butt in between quarters, as this was pretty embarrassing.

BillyMac Wed Feb 25, 2009 08:02pm

Place your seats and tray tables in the upright, locked position.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 583086)
There is a case play on this. 6.4.1 Situation D This is not a correctable error. Once the throw-in ends, it is too late. Leave the arrow where it is. Play on.

*6.4.1 SITUATION D: It is Team B’s turn for the next throw-in under the alternating procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. RULING: Once the throw-in ends – it is too late to change anything. The possession arrow will remain or be pointed toward B’s basket so Team B will have the next throw-in under the alternating procedure.

Adam Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 583095)
Once the ball is legally touched inbounds... the throw-in ends.

Or the throwin team commits a throwin violation.

CMHCoachNRef Thu Feb 26, 2009 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 583109)
My empirical observation is that 4 out of 5 officials (HS and below) will blow the whistle, and re-do this, thinking that it is correctable and that they are entitled to "make it right."

This precise situation has been discussed before (within the last month). Not only would 4 of 5 officials do the "re-do" thing, there would be fewer than 1 out of 10 coaches who would complain (regardless of score) since they know it is the "fair thing to do."

We have a correctable error situation in which a team can get fouled on a non-shooting foul, score on an inbounds play, have the horn sound (with the scorer informing the officials that the previous foul was the SEVENTH team foul, and therefore the 1+1 should have been shot), have the team that just scored shoot and make both ends of the 1+1 for a FOUR (4) point play, YET we cannot correct our own boo-boo in situation of the wrong team inbounding.

I am convinced that the Rules Book writing team wants to keep the "Corrrectable Error" section nice, short or succint. We can only correct something having to do with free throws.

As several have said, the NF Rules Book was never put to a "Logic" Test.

BillyMac Thu Feb 26, 2009 06:17pm

You must be this tall to go on this ride.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 583372)
We can only correct something having to do with free throws.

Who says?

NFHS 2-10 CORRECTABLE ERRORS
ART. 1 Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and
results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

Official incorrectly signals a "touchdown" three, when the shooter is clearly inside the arc. Within the confines of the correctable error time limit, at the next dead ball, timeout, situation, scorekeeper asks the same official, "Was the last shot a two, or a three?". Official replies, "It was a two, I don't know why I made the touchdown signal". Correctable. One point comes off the scoreboard.

bradfordwilkins Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:35pm

So if we have this situation, possession belongs to home... Visitor team throws it in, ball is legally touched in bounds... and 5 seconds in your partner blows the whistle to attempt to correct a non-correctable error.

You discuss this with your partner and agree it cannot be corrected.

Do you then (by rule), give the ball to Visitor team and indicate an inadvertent whistle (assuming visitor team had team control at the POI)?

Let's also say the above scenerio WITHOUT the whistle (because both you and your partner have read this thread so know the rule...). The table, going on auto-pilot, changes the possession arrow (this is more likely in a rec game where there is no clear home or away). You don't realize they changed it until the next jump ball. Is the clock/book official or your personal method of keeping track with definitive knowledge (I switch a card in my pockets) the official ruling?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 27, 2009 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bradfordwilkins (Post 583811)
So if we have this situation, possession belongs to home... Visitor team throws it in, ball is legally touched in bounds... and 5 seconds in your partner blows the whistle to attempt to correct a non-correctable error.

You discuss this with your partner and agree it cannot be corrected.

Do you then (by rule), give the ball to Visitor team and indicate an inadvertent whistle (assuming visitor team had team control at the POI)?

Yes.

Quote:

Let's also say the above scenerio WITHOUT the whistle (because both you and your partner have read this thread so know the rule...). The table, going on auto-pilot, changes the possession arrow (this is more likely in a rec game where there is no clear home or away). You don't realize they changed it until the next jump ball. Is the clock/book official or your personal method of keeping track with definitive knowledge (I switch a card in my pockets) the official ruling?
I make sure the arrrow is corrected at the next stoppage.

If I know the arrow is wrong, I'll go with what I know is right. I don't use the "whistle in the pocket" trick.

BillyMac Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:37pm

Sealed for your protection, do not use if safety seal is broken.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 583962)
I don't use the "whistle in the pocket" trick.

Required mechanic here in my little part of the Constitution State.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1