The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jun 16, 2002, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to chayce
Talking

In a 15U AAU tourney this weekend, I did something I have never done before. Team A is up by 30 and has been pressing the whole game. There is 2:30 left and the two coaches have been whining at each other a bit during the game. Team B's coach is upset with Team A's coach and says something to Coach A. Coach A retaliates by taking a timeout, reinserting his starters and continuing to press. I then proceeded to whack Coach A with a technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct. He whines and shuts up when informed that another T means he won't be coaching the rest of the weekend. Both coaches got the point! Anybody else with similar circumstances?
Old Sun Jun 16, 2002, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member

chayce, I'll go ahead and warn you that you're call is probably not going get a lot of cheers. I don't think any of us like this type of thing. But to call a T on a coach for putting his starters back into a blowout is beyond our realm of responsibility. JMHO
Old Sun Jun 16, 2002, 11:39pm
I drank what?

Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
How do you know that by putting the starters back in that it was an unsportsmanlike conduct? Maybe the coach was trying some new plays and wanted to see how they work with his starters, maybe he was setting up a different press and wanted to see how his players responded. He just could have been experimenting in a game that he knew he was going to win.
Old Mon Jun 17, 2002, 12:19am
certified Hot Mom tester

Exclamation

The title of your post should be "Last Time for Everything. At first, I thought this was a joke. Let me see if I get this right - you give a coach a technical foul for making legal substitutions?