![]() |
Out of bounds...
I know that the ball is out of bounce for a dribbler who is on or beyond the line even though he may not be in contact with the ball. But say the the player takes a dribble, takes 3-4 steps out of play, and manages to keep his dribble after returning to the court after avoiding an opposing player. Am I to enforce the rule about the dribbler being out of bounds, or the rule that the player leaft the court for unauthorized reason.
Also, if a player is not a dribbler, makes a save for a ball that is going out of bounds, returns to the floor, and if the first to touch the ball. Is that a out of bounds violation? Thanks... |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Play 1: Player A dribbling up the sideline. Player B has legal guarding position. Player a bounces ball and it remains in bounds while he takes 3-4 steps out of bounds to get arouns him. He reestablishes position inbounds and contines up the sideline.
Play 2. Player A shoots a long 3. Hits rims and is headed out of bounds. Player A saves the ball after jumping for it. He throws it in play. He lands out of bounds, comes back onto the court of play, establishes and is the first to touch the ball. |
Quote:
2. Play on. There is no first-to-touch provision in high school, and in college it only applies to a player who goes out purposefully. |
Illustrations are slightly enlarged to show detail.
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26pm. |