![]() |
Free Throw Position question
I had a friend ask me the other day about a FT position question. I didn't know the rule, but here's the situation.
Players line up for a FT as normal. Some players put their hands into the lane area, but they keep their feet in the spaces. Legal? Overall, I say yes. If they are slapping at one another, I'd tell them to knock it off. Can they put their hands in the lane? After that, if they can, could they put a foot in the air into the lanes spaces? Why not? Where's the rule? That's the problem I am having. I need the rule for why they can not put their foot, while in the air over the line. I imagine, there is something in the rules about breaking the plane. I just didn't see it. I read rule 8. |
The rule is they may not break the plane with their feet. Hands, knees, elbows, faces, etc., are not restricted.
The rule is 9-1-3g. |
Here's one example
9.1.3 SITUATION L: Before the ball touches the ring or backboard on a freethrow attempt by A1, B1 in a marked lane space: (a) with a foot, breaks the vertical plane of the side edge of the area between lane space one and lane space two; (b) steps on the outside edge of the lane-line boundary; or (c) extends arms over the area between the lane spaces. RULING: Violation in both (a) and (b). Legal in (c), if there is no contact. While only the area 8 inches by 12 inches is painted on the court, the neutral zone is 12 inches wide and extends away from the nearer free-throw lane boundary for 36 inches. Likewise, each 2-inch wide lane space extends 36 inches back from the nearer free-throw lane boundary. Stepping on or breaking (with a foot) the plane of any boundary of either the neutral zone or spaces along the lane or around the three-point line are violations until restrictions end. (9-1-3g; 1-5)
|
Here's the relevant portion of the rule:
"A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane…." |
Another violation to watch for is backing out of their lane space. Had that in a GV game last night; B3 was in the space closest to shooter and right after A1 released the ball, B3 circled around everyone to get into rebounding position. Coach argued that she didn't enter the lane until after the ball hit the rim (which was true) but I explained that she left her space after the shooter had control of the ball and before it hit the rim/basket.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Bumping elbows with opponents in the lane is not a violation. If it gets too vigorous before I've put the ball at the thrower's disposal, I'll tell them to cool it. I also watch for a hold once the rebounding begins.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42am. |