The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   6.4.1 situation f (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51653-6-4-1-situation-f.html)

Rita C Sat Feb 14, 2009 02:05pm

6.4.1 situation f
 
A team member of Team A is detected dunking about five minutes before the game and a team member of B does the same thing about a minute later. RULING: The game will start with administration of the technical-foul free throws in the order in which the fouls were called. Team B shoots first followed by Team A. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table. When the thrower of Team A is bounced the ball or it is placed at his/her disposal, the possession arrow will be set pointing toward Team B's basket.

Am I missing something? Shouldn't it be team A shooting first, then team B with the ball going to team B?

Rita

Adam Sat Feb 14, 2009 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 579448)
A team member of Team A is detected dunking about five minutes before the game and a team member of B does the same thing about a minute later. RULING: The game will start with administration of the technical-foul free throws in the order in which the fouls were called. Team B shoots first followed by Team A. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table. When the thrower of Team A is bounced the ball or it is placed at his/her disposal, the possession arrow will be set pointing toward Team B's basket.

Am I missing something? Shouldn't it be team A shooting first, then team B with the ball going to team B?

Rita

Team A dunked first, then team B dunked. Therefore, Team B will shoot first, then team A will shoot and get the ball.

Rita C Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 579452)
Team A dunked first, then team B dunked.

Then if they are to be administered in the order in which they were called, team A should be shooting first.

Rita

mbyron Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:33pm

Rita, which team shoots for A dunking? ;)

Adam Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 579531)
Then if they are to be administered in the order in which they were called, team A should be shooting first.

Rita

No, team A dunked first, so team B shoots first.

Rita C Sun Feb 15, 2009 01:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 579538)
No, team A dunked first, so team B shoots first.

Ok thanks, of course. I was just having a brain fart. Doh! I knew I wasn't getting something obvious.

Rita

Nevadaref Sun Feb 15, 2009 02:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 579566)
Ok thanks, of course. I was just having a brain fart. Doh! I knew I wasn't getting something obvious.

Rita

If you didn't recover soon, we were going to have Padgett send you some of his meds. ;)

mbyron Sun Feb 15, 2009 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 579571)
If you didn't recover soon, we were going to have Padgett send you some of his meds. ;)

Brain fart meds? What's that, neuro-lax? Milk of cognesia?

mbyron Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:13am

Forgot one: Pepto-Thinkmol?

shishstripes Sun Feb 15, 2009 03:46pm

These are also indirect T's on the coaches as well, since they are not players yet but bench personnel. So don't forget the seatbelt.

And the throw-in by A sets the AP arrow to B.

Adam Sun Feb 15, 2009 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 579666)
These are also indirect T's on the coaches as well, since they are not players yet but bench personnel. So don't forget the seatbelt.

And the throw-in by A sets the AP arrow to B.

This is just a test, but when does the arrow get set?

refnrev Sun Feb 15, 2009 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 579566)
Ok thanks, of course. I was just having a brain fart. Doh! I knew I wasn't getting something obvious.

Rita

____________

No, Rita, I would actually bet that most people read it the way you did until they stop and picture going through the actual motions of it. I know I did... even though I know that when it came time to administer them the sequence would be correct.

shishstripes Sun Feb 15, 2009 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 579673)
This is just a test, but when does the arrow get set?

It's an interesting question because if it's set when the throw-in ends, what if the opponent gains control on the throw-in?

I believe it gets set when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower in this situation. Case play?

Adam Sun Feb 15, 2009 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 579712)
It's an interesting question because if it's set when the throw-in ends, what if the opponent gains control on the throw-in?

This wouldn't matter, as it happens often anyway during AP throwins.
As long as the ball is legally touched, the throwin ends and the arrow gets reversed.
It does matter, however, in case there is a held ball on the first touch, or the thrower reaches the ball across the plane and the defender ties it up, or there is a foul before the throwin ends.
Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 579712)
I believe it gets set when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower in this situation. Case play?

Rule ref. 4-3-3 "...The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1