The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Stealing the tap (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51587-stealing-tap.html)

mbyron Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 578480)
PS It would really be nice if a priest would come visit and exercise the spirit of MTD Sr. from my body. :D

Exercise your body, exorcise a spirit. ;)

M&M Guy Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 578535)
Exercise your body, exorcise a spirit. ;)

What if the spirit is simply out of shape?

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 12, 2009 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 578480)
Upon reconsideration, I think that you might have a good point.
Sorry that this is a bit long, but I found the logic and reasoning to be thought provoking.

The NFHS has not clearly defined most of these situations with case book plays since adding the word "legally" to the timing rules governing the first touching of a ball in situations in which the clock is stopped. They have only provided a couple of examples and we must make our decisions in all other cases based upon what we know from those.

There are two distinct situations that we need to consider. I grouped them as follows based upon the language used by the NFHS while commenting on the touching of AP throw-ins following the recent rule change.
1. Those in which the manner in which the ball is first touched is an illegal contact. (Kick or fist)
2. Those in which the touching itself is legal, but the player is infringing some other rule at the same time. (OOB or BI or jumpball provision)

At this point the above seemed to be a proper division of the possible actions for the timing restart rules. I reasoned that whether the clock starts or not, it should behave in the same manner for all cases which fall into each categories. Yet when I examined further it seems that I discover that there is something deeper at work here, and began to think that perhaps the above two categories are not the right ways to classify these plays.

In the first classification (illegal body contact with the ball--kick or fist), the NFHS has made it clear that the touching is illegal and thus the clock should NOT be started, per case book play 4.42.5. If the timer does start the clock, then a timing mistake has occurred and the referee should correct this error if he has definite knowledge of the amount of time involved.

In the second type of case (body contact legal, but some other rule infringed), the NFHS has clarified that it considers the touch to be legal in the AP throw-in ruling, per 2007-08 Interp Sit#3. The example given was a player being the first to touch a throw-in pass while standing on the OOB line. The violation is not for the manner in which the ball was contacted, but rather the position of the player. The NFHS has clarified that this is not a throw-in violation, but an OOB violation. Therefore, the clock should start on the touch and stop immediately upon the sounding of the whistle by an official. Some time can come off here if the official is slow on making the OOB call.

Now to your two most recent examples:
A. A kick on the first touch of a throw-in. The clock should NOT start. If the throw-in is an AP throw-in the arrow will be retained by the throwing team. (Look at the difference if the throw-in is contacted by an OOB player in a normal manner. The throw-in was legally completed and the arrow is lost. Therefore, the event gets timed.)

B. The FT restart when the first touch is by a rebounder who touches the ball normally, but also somehow violates (most likely by touching OOB). It seems that like the OOB violation, this must be a timed event, if the touching itself was legal. Of course, if a FT violation was committed, then the touching would be preceded by that and the clock doesn't start.

Now I returned to the tap of the jumpball. The rule states that the clock starts when the tossed ball is legally touched by one of the jumpers. (5-9-2) (Another recent wording change in a rule.) Yet there is also a rule that neither jumper shall touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point. (6-3-7a) At this point, I thought that like the OOB violation this should be a timed event, but had an unsatisfied feeling about my conclusion.

So, in order to decide if the clock should start, I really made a concerted effort to try to decide if manner in which the tap was touched was legal or not. I found myself tracking down a very fine line and making a delicate argument based upon the situations that the NFHS has so far provided.

I believe that a clear principle can be extracted if we ask the following question: Can a player legally touch the ball while it is in that location? The location of the ball, not the location of the player, seems to me to be what is paramount. I concluded that if the answer is yes, then the clock should start. If the answer is no, then the clock should not be started.

So, now applying this principle to these situations we get:
A. Throw-in while standing on an OOB line. Ball position is legal. A player jumping from inbounds could touch it there. Result: Clock starts and then stops. This is a timed event.

B. Missed FT and the rebounder commits BI while first touching the ball. There is a rule stating that the ball may NOT be touched while in this location. Result: Clock should not be started. This is an untimed event.

C. Jumpball toss tapped before reaching its highest point. There is a rule stating that the ball may NOT be touched while in this location. It must first go somewhere else and then return. Result: Clock should not be started. This is an untimed event.

Therefore, I rescind my earlier disagreement. ;)

PS It would really be nice if a priest would come visit and exercise the spirit of MTD Sr. from my body. :D

Your reasoning/thought process and most of your conclusions (:)) are very much the same as I've had with my local colleagues.

I do disagree that time should come off the clock if A2 is OB and is the first to touch the ball after the TI release. (Not sure of your stance of this one.) Since the first touch and A2 being OB happened simultaneously, logic dictates that no time can come off the clock, since there was no time in which A2 was not OB after touching the ball.

If an interp is needed, then so be it. In practice, I do not start the clock in these cases.

Re: your sitches A, B, and C, I agree with them all if I read them correctly. (I might be misinterpreting A though.)

Amesman Thu Feb 12, 2009 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 578489)
By the way, Rich, I agree with penalizing for stealing the tap. It is a clear violation that provides an advantage the vast majority of the time and should not be ignored. There is no reason that I can think of which could be given as a good justification for passing on this, short of the ball immediately going to the opponent who is able to establish clear control.

That's right -- almost like a delayed violation on the non-shooting team during FTA. Who cares if R has to dig for his whistle and takes a few seconds to call the early steal on the toss? That is the only thing he is clearly looking at so he can, and should be able to, call it with more clarity than U.

Again, this is more of an issue with 2-man. But the player who steals it on the way up probably has made a habit of it, and often his team also has probably learned to quickly profit from it (illegally yet probably with impunity). T'ain't right.

Adam Thu Feb 12, 2009 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 578619)
That's right -- almost like a delayed violation on the non-shooting team during FTA. Who cares if R has to dig for his whistle and takes a few seconds to call the early steal on the toss? That is the only thing he is clearly looking at so he can, and should be able to, call it with more clarity than U.

Again, this is more of an issue with 2-man. But the player who steals it on the way up probably has made a habit of it, and often his team also has probably learned to quickly profit from it (illegally yet probably with impunity). T'ain't right.

A few years ago in Iowa I had a sophomore boys team three games in a row (away, home, away) by a scheduling fluke. First one they caught me off guard by stealing the tip and I flat out missed it. Next game I nailed them (I was U) for it; it helped to be expecting it.

Third game, they didn't try it; but we had a fight at the end.

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 12, 2009 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 578639)
A few years ago in Iowa I had a sophomore boys team three games in a row (away, home, away) by a scheduling fluke. First one they caught me off guard by stealing the tip and I flat out missed it. Next game I nailed them (I was U) for it; it helped to be expecting it.

Third game, they didn't try it; but we had a fight at the end.

I hope you didn't award 16 free throws.

Adam Thu Feb 12, 2009 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 578655)
I hope you didn't award 16 free throws.

LOL. Nah, but I did screw them up a bit; but not enough to affect the outcome of the game.

Amesman Thu Feb 12, 2009 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 578737)
LOL. Nah, but I did screw them up a bit; but not enough to affect the outcome of the game.

Must have been a little off your game that night.

Adam Thu Feb 12, 2009 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 578781)
Must have been a little off your game that night.

Your first fight will do that.

refgatormaz Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:06pm

Would pass as the R in this sitch. To me it is similar to being in Lead trying to get a goaltending/basket interference.

Rich Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refgatormaz (Post 578868)
Would pass as the R in this sitch. To me it is similar to being in Lead trying to get a goaltending/basket interference.

It's not at all similar.

For GT/BI, the lead is SUPPOSED to be looking elsewhere. Tell me, what other responsibility is the R passing on when making this call?

Forksref Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:26pm

"We've got spirit, how bout you?"

"Ours is stronger because we exercise it!"

Nevadaref Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 578535)
Exercise your body, exorcise a spirit. ;)

Thank you. :o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1