![]() |
Finally I have seen one, first touch after....
I have often tried to envision 9-9-1 the way we have often morphed the play.
BV, I was Trail and backing up as Team A had frontcourt possession and the passed ball was loose and bouncing toward the division line. A2 touched the pass. [Ball still bouncing toward backcourt.] A2 chased down the ball to save the violation. [I'm now on the division line.] [Ball bounced in frontcourt then 12" over the division line (but did not touch backcourt).]A2, chasing the ball, reached the ball and with his right hand batted the ball toward the frontcourt, and the ball landed on barely 1/2 of the division line and bounced into the frontcourt. [Note: Defender B had slipped to the floor and was out of the action, so A2 was all alone on this play]A2's momentum toward the backcourt forced athletic A2 [never in the backcourt] to tightrope, about 6 steps, a line less than 2 " on the frontcourt side, and parallel to, the division line. Without having touched the backcourt, A2 recovered the ball. :) |
How did A's coach respond?
BJV last weekend. A1, at the division line but still in his FC, grabs it, realizes he was going to lose the battle with Newton's first law of motion, so throws it off the defender's leg and it bounces into the BC. A1 then recovered legally in his BC. I'm C right in front of Bs coach, and he's audibly impressed. |
Quote:
|
Or Maybe I'm Missing Something Here ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by So if the ball is in control by A in the backcourt and on a pass the ball lands in the front court. The ball is then fumbled then tipped around. A is the last one to touch it and A2 recovers the ball in the bc. No violation because there hasn't been control? |
Quote:
|
? So the control in the backcourt carries over to control in the frontcourt? I guess the whole team that had control last remains in control during a loose ball situation.
What if, instead of a pass from the backcourt it is a throw in from the end/baseline. A1 touches the pass but there is no control and the ball is bouncing around and is tipped into the frontcourt and then by team A into the backcourt. Violation there? Does team control for team A start from the throw in? |
Quote:
Since there is no team control during a throw-in, the situation that you have proposed with one tip/bat after another would not result in a backcourt violation. BTW the NCAA ruling would be the same (no backcourt violation) even though there is team control during a throw-in as there is a specific exception for a throw-in written into the rules for that level. |
Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.
|
Quote:
Team control is one concept; ball and player location another. The backcourt violation rule links the two. |
Does anything change on this-
So team A throws the ball in from the endline into their backcourt. Pass is caught controlled by A1 thus establishing control. Ball then is fumbled and tipped around. If a player from Team A OR Team B is the last to touch it in the backcourt and tips it into the frontcourt where it is again batted around by Team A or Team B. Ball goes into the backcourt. Team A gets control of the ball- violation? I'm thinking yes it is a violation in either case. Even if team B touches it last(without control, loose ball) in the backcourt and again touches it again in the frontcourt, it would still be a violation if Team A gets the ball in the backcourt. So even if Team A did not touch the ball in the frontcourt they could still be called for a violation? That would be a really weird play. If it is, do you call the violation right when Team A touches the ball in the backcourt after it had gone in the front or when they have control of the ball? Example, ball backcourt then frontcourt and then back, B1 knocks it off A1 while in the backcourt. Call it there? |
Quote:
|
Ok- so the key is if B is the last to touch. A can touch it in the FC but as long as B touches it last before it goes back into the BC then it isn't a violation. kind of like the case book play, where on a looseball in A's fc b slaps it off A1's leg and A recovers it, violation because A1 last to touch it in the FC.
|
Quote:
PART B: YES, IF TEAM A was LAST TO TOUCH in FC; NO if TEAM B was LAST TO TOUCH in FC |
Quote:
Rule 9, SECTION 9 BACKCOURT ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. ART. 2 . . . While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt. |
Quote:
|
yippeee:cool:
|
I think the tough Team Control call, for some, is this scenario:
Team A, in their FC, attempts a try...the ball is momentarily controlled by post Player A1 after the missed shot. Player B1 knocks the ball loose and there is a mad scramble for the loose ball, with both A1 and B1 hitting the ball at different times. Finally, Player A1 undercuts Player B1 as they dive for the loose ball. Team A has 10 team fouls. Ruling: Team Control Foul...no foul shots for Player B1...ball at nearest point of the foul for a throw-in. |
last snitch. well hopefully:rolleyes:
If there is an inadvertent whistle for a BC violation in the examples I used, does ball go back to the original throw in spot? If the pass was controlled by team A1 or b. Pass not controlled. I guess you wouldn't put time back on the clock either |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The ball would only return to the throw-in location if no one on the court had yet touched it when the whistle sounded. Otherwise, the ball goes to the nearest OOB spot to where it was last touched by a player or in contact with the floor after the throw-in had ended. |
Quote:
I took it as his :rolleyes: icon was directed at his own post, not anyone else's. |
Quote:
That'll teach me for taking this 12 hour nightshift overtime without any daytime sleep. I deleted my overly sensitive post...thanks for the heads up.:o |
Quote:
1) Team Control 2) Ball obtains FC location 3) Team A last to touch before ball goes to BC 4) Team A first to touch after ball goes to BC Apply those to your (or almost any) situation to get the answer. 3 Exceptions: 1) Jump ball 2) Throw In 3) Defensive Player |
Quote:
The bat by A2 that hit the division line gives the ballback court status but it is not in player control so ther is no violation. once the ball bounced in the front court any player from team A could recover the ball because it now has front court status, great no call. |
Quote:
I didn't make a great no-call, nor did I make a bad no-call, for that matter. ;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11am. |