The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel violation??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51483-travel-violation.html)

Spence Sun Feb 08, 2009 02:06pm

Let me make sure I'm following because I had a similar play with one change. In my play it was B1 that knocked the ball loose from A1. A1 while still in the air regained control of the ball and THEN landed.

No violation since player control was lost?

Adam Sun Feb 08, 2009 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 576861)
Let me make sure I'm following because I had a similar play with one change. In my play it was B1 that knocked the ball loose from A1. A1 while still in the air regained control of the ball and THEN landed.

No violation since player control was lost?

Correct. I had this exact play. A1 goes up for a shot. B1 knocks it loose. A1 grabs it while she's still in the air and lands with it. I call nothing and the fans are kind enough to inform me that I missed something.

Raymond Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 576562)
We discussed this play a while ago. Jurassic said that it was a traveling violation for failing to release the ball on a pass or try after going airborne.
His case was supported by an old NFHS ruling that Bob Jenkins posted.

2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)
SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94)

The NCAA has a different ruling.

A.R. 85. After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a
try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball and:
(1) Recovers the fumble while airborne; or
(2) Recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?
RULING: Yes. In (1) and (2) A1 is permitted to recover the ball but after recovering the ball is not allowed to start another dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after a return to the floor), he/she is permitted to start a dribble.
(Rule 4-21.4.a, 4-31.2 and 9-7.1.c)

Had this play last night. And this time it happened with 2.1 seconds left in a tie game. I called a travel. My partners and I (plus another official in attendance) had a long discussion about it after the game.

A1 went up to shoot a floating 3-pointer, lost the ball while in the air, returned to the ground and caught the ball.

(BTW, the reason I asked the question in the OP was because I had a play Friday night where A1 went back up with an offensive rebound, lost the ball while in the air, caught the ball while in the air, and then landed. After I called a travel A2 protested that he had caused the ball to come loose with his shoulder.)

Nevadaref Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 578470)
Had this play last night. And this time it happened with 2.1 seconds left in a tie game. I called a travel. My partners and I (plus another official in attendance) had a long discussion about it after the game.

A1 went up to shoot a floating 3-pointer, lost the ball while in the air, returned to the ground and caught the ball.

(BTW, the reason I asked the question in the OP was because I had a play Friday night where A1 went back up with an offensive rebound, lost the ball while in the air, caught the ball while in the air, and then landed. After I called a travel A2 protested that he had caused the ball to come loose with his shoulder.)

It appears that the NFHS position on this play may now match that of the NCAA and that the 2000-01 Interp has been overturned. However, this ruling never got published for all to see.

Posted by ChuckElias on May 5, 2008: "The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.
...

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes."

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...3&postcount=68

Raymond Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 578498)
It appears that the NFHS position on this play may now match that of the NCAA and that the 2000-01 Interp has been overturned. However, this ruling never got published for all to see.

Posted by ChuckElias on May 5, 2008: "The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.
...

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes."

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...3&postcount=68

Wow!!! So Ms Struckoff has changed the interp but nothing has been officially published? :eek: That's not good. Do posts in this forum count as definitive information (especially those from esteemed members)? :confused:

I had emailed my colleagues the interp you provided. Guess I need to write them back and tell them I may be wrong. I have no problem with that but I sure would like to have a definitive rules citation to say one way or the other.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:42am

Sorry, my man. That's all the help that I can provide on this one at the moment.
NV does have a current member on the NFHS rules committee. I'll see if I can go through him to get something put out in print on this play for next season.

Personally, I consider this play to be legal and don't penalize it whenever I see it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1