The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel violation??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51483-travel-violation.html)

Raymond Sat Feb 07, 2009 02:00am

Travel violation???
 
It's going on 2am, I've had a couple drinks, and I'm not busting out the rules or case book before I go to bed.

A1 jumps with 2 hands on ball to lay ball in basket. While A1 is in the air on the way up A2's shoulder hits the ball causing A1 to momentarily lose ball (both hands come completely off ball). While still in the air A1 regains complete control of ball but comes back to earth with the ball.


What say you?

shishstripes Sat Feb 07, 2009 02:27am

I say violation. Don't have a casebook in front of me but I think about during an interrupted dribble (which I know is completely different) if it goes off a teammate that doesn't allow me to start a new dribble and defender didn't keep me from finishing a shot.

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 07, 2009 07:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 576528)
A1 jumps with 2 hands on ball to lay ball in basket. While A1 is in the air on the way up A2's shoulder hits the ball causing A1 to momentarily lose ball (both hands come completely off ball). While still in the air A1 regains complete control of ball but comes back to earth with the ball.


What say you?

I say look at NFHS rule 9-5-3:- <i>"A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of a pass or <font color = red>fumble</font> which has then been touched, or been touched by, another <font color = red>player</font>."</i>

Nevadaref Sat Feb 07, 2009 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 576547)
I say look at NFHS rule 9-5-3:- "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of a pass or fumble which has then been touched, or been touched by, another player."

Completely, irrelevant as this play doesn't involve a second dribble.

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 07, 2009 08:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 576552)
Completely, irrelevant as this play doesn't involve a second dribble.

Neither does case book play 9.5.1 if you stop after the shooter returns to the floor.

'Splain that.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 07, 2009 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 576528)
It's going on 2am, I've had a couple drinks, and I'm not busting out the rules or case book before I go to bed.

A1 jumps with 2 hands on ball to lay ball in basket. While A1 is in the air on the way up A2's shoulder hits the ball causing A1 to momentarily lose ball (both hands come completely off ball). While still in the air A1 regains complete control of ball but comes back to earth with the ball.


What say you?

We discussed this play a while ago. Jurassic said that it was a traveling violation for failing to release the ball on a pass or try after going airborne.
His case was supported by an old NFHS ruling that Bob Jenkins posted.

2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)
SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94)

The NCAA has a different ruling.

A.R. 85. After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a
try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball and:
(1) Recovers the fumble while airborne; or
(2) Recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles
the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?
RULING: Yes. In (1) and (2) A1 is permitted to recover the ball
but after recovering the ball is not allowed to start another dribble.
However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered
by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to
start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and
while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after
a return to the floor), he/she is permitted to start a dribble.

(Rule 4-21.4.a, 4-31.2 and 9-7.1.c)

Personally, I think that the NCAA ruling is better. The loss of player control by a fumble is the same as when the airborne player gives up player control when releasing the ball on a try. Since a player can run and catch the ball when the try is an air-ball without violating, I see no reason why a player can't catch a fumble.

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 07, 2009 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 576562)
1) 2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)
SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94)

2)The NCAA has a different ruling.
A.R. 85.
<font color = red>However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to
start another dribble.</font>

1) Completely irrelevant as this play doesn't involve the loose ball being touched by another player during the fumble before player control was regained by A1. Apples and watermelons.

2) Hmmmmmm......:)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:03am

I have been slogging (Now I know how other people feel when they read my erudite postings, NOT! :D) through JR and NevadaRef's posts and I am suprised that neither of them have given a ruling; they both should become politicians, :D. Anyway, I am going to toss my hat into the ring.

Let us look at this play, step-by-step:

1) A1 jumps into the air for a field goal attempt, therefore, A1 is now in the act-of-shooting. The act-of-shooting ends when A1 releases the ball for the try. When A1 releases the ball for the try, player control and team control ceases to exist for A1 and Team A respectively.

Note #1: Both NFHS and NCAA Rules define player control as a player holding or dribbling a live ball in bounds.

2) A2 made contact with the ball and knocks the ball completely out of A1's hands.

Question #2a: Did A2's actions cause A1 to lose player control of the ball?

Question #2b: If A2's actions did cause A1 to lose player control of the ball, can A1 recover the ball and start a dribble?

I think that we are getting hung up on the word fumble and I do not think that it is relevant to this discussion because another player touched the ball in a manner that caused A1 to lose player control.

I will go on the record stating that I am sure the play looked weird, but, I will also say that A1 can recover the ball and start a new dribble.

Note to BillyMac: See no maybe, maybe not, :D.

MTD, Sr.

Juulie Downs Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:14am

Seems pretty clear to me. A2 causes player control to end. Now A1 gets a new player control. No violation, regardless of what the hypothetical violation might be called.

Juulie Downs Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 576530)
I say violation. Don't have a casebook in front of me but I think about during an interrupted dribble (which I know is completely different) if it goes off a teammate that doesn't allow me to start a new dribble and defender didn't keep me from finishing a shot.

If the ball goes off a teammate, you ARE allowed to start a new dribble. Who says you're not?

BillyMac Sat Feb 07, 2009 06:32pm

You Were Killing The Poor Fence ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 576601)
Note to BillyMac: No maybe, maybe not.

I'm glad that you finally got off the fence.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Feb 07, 2009 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 576676)
I'm glad that you finally got off the fence.


It was all those rocks that people were throwing at me that made me fall off. :D

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Sat Feb 07, 2009 06:45pm

From The "Land Of Lincoln" ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 576606)
If the ball goes off a teammate, you ARE allowed to start a new dribble. Who says you're not?

Is this relevent?

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...rupted+dribble

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Feb 07, 2009 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 576679)


Billy:

Good catch. It is most relevant. The posts that you and Camron support what Juulie and I have been postulating.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. For all of us Jayhawk fans, they looked real good at home this afternoon.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 07, 2009 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 576571)
1) Completely irrelevant as this play doesn't involve the loose ball being touched by another player during the fumble before player control was regained by A1. Apples and watermelons.

2) Hmmmmmm......:)

Reading the thread again today, I now see your point. It was late last night and I must have been tired. I misread the OP. I failed to comprehend that the ball was knocked loose by a teammate, A2. I read that as A1 and thus thought that the player smacked the ball off his own shoulder and lost control. Hence, the play rulings that I previously posted.

For the record the play in the OP is legal and A1 may recover the ball and dribble again.

Spence Sun Feb 08, 2009 02:06pm

Let me make sure I'm following because I had a similar play with one change. In my play it was B1 that knocked the ball loose from A1. A1 while still in the air regained control of the ball and THEN landed.

No violation since player control was lost?

Adam Sun Feb 08, 2009 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 576861)
Let me make sure I'm following because I had a similar play with one change. In my play it was B1 that knocked the ball loose from A1. A1 while still in the air regained control of the ball and THEN landed.

No violation since player control was lost?

Correct. I had this exact play. A1 goes up for a shot. B1 knocks it loose. A1 grabs it while she's still in the air and lands with it. I call nothing and the fans are kind enough to inform me that I missed something.

Raymond Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 576562)
We discussed this play a while ago. Jurassic said that it was a traveling violation for failing to release the ball on a pass or try after going airborne.
His case was supported by an old NFHS ruling that Bob Jenkins posted.

2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)
SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94)

The NCAA has a different ruling.

A.R. 85. After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a
try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball and:
(1) Recovers the fumble while airborne; or
(2) Recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?
RULING: Yes. In (1) and (2) A1 is permitted to recover the ball but after recovering the ball is not allowed to start another dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after a return to the floor), he/she is permitted to start a dribble.
(Rule 4-21.4.a, 4-31.2 and 9-7.1.c)

Had this play last night. And this time it happened with 2.1 seconds left in a tie game. I called a travel. My partners and I (plus another official in attendance) had a long discussion about it after the game.

A1 went up to shoot a floating 3-pointer, lost the ball while in the air, returned to the ground and caught the ball.

(BTW, the reason I asked the question in the OP was because I had a play Friday night where A1 went back up with an offensive rebound, lost the ball while in the air, caught the ball while in the air, and then landed. After I called a travel A2 protested that he had caused the ball to come loose with his shoulder.)

Nevadaref Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 578470)
Had this play last night. And this time it happened with 2.1 seconds left in a tie game. I called a travel. My partners and I (plus another official in attendance) had a long discussion about it after the game.

A1 went up to shoot a floating 3-pointer, lost the ball while in the air, returned to the ground and caught the ball.

(BTW, the reason I asked the question in the OP was because I had a play Friday night where A1 went back up with an offensive rebound, lost the ball while in the air, caught the ball while in the air, and then landed. After I called a travel A2 protested that he had caused the ball to come loose with his shoulder.)

It appears that the NFHS position on this play may now match that of the NCAA and that the 2000-01 Interp has been overturned. However, this ruling never got published for all to see.

Posted by ChuckElias on May 5, 2008: "The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.
...

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes."

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...3&postcount=68

Raymond Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 578498)
It appears that the NFHS position on this play may now match that of the NCAA and that the 2000-01 Interp has been overturned. However, this ruling never got published for all to see.

Posted by ChuckElias on May 5, 2008: "The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.
...

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes."

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...3&postcount=68

Wow!!! So Ms Struckoff has changed the interp but nothing has been officially published? :eek: That's not good. Do posts in this forum count as definitive information (especially those from esteemed members)? :confused:

I had emailed my colleagues the interp you provided. Guess I need to write them back and tell them I may be wrong. I have no problem with that but I sure would like to have a definitive rules citation to say one way or the other.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:42am

Sorry, my man. That's all the help that I can provide on this one at the moment.
NV does have a current member on the NFHS rules committee. I'll see if I can go through him to get something put out in print on this play for next season.

Personally, I consider this play to be legal and don't penalize it whenever I see it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1