![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Refsmitty: There two possible infractions of the rules in this play. And we are paid to the big $'s to decide which one occured. Play 1: A1 is just swining his elbows excessively in an effort to get people away from him so he can get the the rebound. Play 2: Did A1 swing his elbow in an attempt to hit B1 and missed? Attempting to hit an opponent is a flagrant TF. From the description of your play, I would go with Play 1. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
OK, perhaps a bit far-fetched but what if a defender (say they're in a zone) swings the non-contact elbow? With perhaps some low-level "get out of my area" display but no intent to harm (No T)? It's a slow day here ...
|
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe, maybe not. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
As a new official I've leaned towards the "maybe not" but I'm not sure what I would have to see to call the violation in this scenario.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Spence: I am glad you didn't think I was being flip in my previous response. I should have added that it is a HTBT type of play. As someone who has taught new basketball officials (MTD, Jr., is a second year official) I would actually hope that a new official would be more prone to put air in his whistle than not put air in his whistle. The biggest problem with new officials is to call anything, because it is all new too them and there is so much information to process. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Now Tell Us What You Really Think ...
Wow, such a definitve answer. Is that your final answer, and are you sticking to it?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe, maybe not. ![]() MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
four situations
This is what I have been told what to do -
1) If a player swings their elbows to create room or space and no contact --> elbow violation 2) If a player swings their elbows to create room or space and there is contact --> player control foul 3) If a player swings an elbow (not elbows) and misses --> technical foul. Then it is the descretion and intent to determine if you consider it flagrant or intentional. Flagrant, the player is disqualified. Intentional, the player stays. 4) If a player swings an elbow (not elbows) and makes contact --> flagrant foul. Flagrant, the player is disqualified. |
|
|||
Contact doesn't matter. If you deem the swinging excessive, call the violation.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Don: Contact does matter, because if there is contact it means that a personal foul has occured. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
You're not actually saying that it's a violation even if our intrepid elbow swinger contacts an opponent, are you?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
OK, blanking out and nobody's bailed me out yet: What's the penalty/action after this? Especially since it could be off ball/away from the play? Just blanking out.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Proper Signal for Elbowing | Toxic Czar | Basketball | 2 | Sun Dec 16, 2007 03:50pm |