![]() |
Duke/WFU end of game
Anyone see this one? Tie ball game, with a few seconds left, Duke rebounds the ball while a Wake Forest player is on the floor. The Duke player lands on the WFU player, causing him to fall to the floor. The officials call a travel on Duke, giving WFU the ball on the endline with almost 3 seconds left. They score and win.
If the guy is on the floor, presumably he doesn't have LGP, no? If contact is made that puts the ball handler at a disadvantage, wouldn't you have a foul? |
Quote:
|
This is already being discussed on this site.
http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=51269 Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Is it still in force? That is a matter of opinion. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Let me take it a step further, I also do not think the rules were intended or it makes good common sense to call a foul on anyone in this specific situation. But that is after all an opinion. I am sure some might disagree. I just would like a rule to back that up before I am able to make that leap. Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
To have a foul on the defense, they are required to have established LGP? Are you listening to yourself? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
You said: Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
You must not understand those interpretations or understand why those interpretations were made in the first place. Look, I am not claiming the officials missed the call because of who was playing or who was watching, you were. If a player is not in LGP by being on the floor, then you have to have some other ruling that suggests that this was a foul? I will be waiting patiently for your answer with a rules reference. ;) Peace |
NCAA Casebook A.R. 97 (Page 40)
B1 slips to the floor in the free throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. Ruling: Foul on B1, who has taken an illiegal defensive position. (Rule 4-35.4a) |
Quote:
A stationary player with his back to the dribbler doesn't have legal guarding position. But, if he gets run over by the dribbler, the foul is on the dribbler, because the defender had legal position. That said, this is enough for this thread. Keep the discussion to the other thread that is open. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23am. |