The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player calls time out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51238-player-calls-time-out.html)

artmoe Tue Jan 27, 2009 03:51pm

Player calls time out
 
JC girls game, player is falling out of bounds and calls time out after securing the ball and clearly has possion. Official blows whistle and grants time out. Team has no timeouts left. Is this considered an inadvertent whistle? POI or technical.

Adam Tue Jan 27, 2009 03:53pm

Technical.

dbking Tue Jan 27, 2009 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by artmoe (Post 572991)
JC girls game, player is falling out of bounds and calls time out after securing the ball and clearly has possion. Official blows whistle and grants time out. Team has no timeouts left. Is this considered an inadvertent whistle? POI or technical.


I disagree....

It is a violation for falling out of bounds. Player can not request a time out while falling out of bounds. Even if he granted, his partner should have come to him and say, they can not request the time out. She is out of bounds. Give the other team the ball. Nothing else.

M&M Guy Tue Jan 27, 2009 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by artmoe (Post 572991)
JC girls game, player is falling out of bounds and calls time out after securing the ball and clearly has possion. Official blows whistle and grants time out. Team has no timeouts left. Is this considered an inadvertent whistle? POI or technical.

Is this junior college? Are we using NCAA-W rules?

If so, then my next question would be: was the player in the air going OOB at the time she requested the TO? If so, then the ruling would be an IW, no TO granted, with the ball going back to team A. There was a case play or interp when this rule was changed that states if the official blows the whistle to grant a TO when the team is not entitled to such, it is treated as an IW, with the ball going back to the team last in control (even if she eventually landed OOB).

If there was still part of the player on the floor inbounds as she was going OOB, then yes, the TO is granted, the T assessed for the excessive TO, and B would get the ball for the ensuing throw-in due to loss of possession instead of POI.

If you are using Fed. rules, the TO is granted, the T is assessed, and B gets the throw-in at the division line.

ODJ Tue Jan 27, 2009 04:26pm

Oh look! She stepped on the endline as she requested the TO. ;)

artmoe Tue Jan 27, 2009 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 573006)
Is this junior college? Are we using NCAA-W rules?

If so, then my next question would be: was the player in the air going OOB at the time she requested the TO? If so, then the ruling would be an IW, no TO granted, with the ball going back to team A. There was a case play or interp when this rule was changed that states if the official blows the whistle to grant a TO when the team is not entitled to such, it is treated as an IW, with the ball going back to the team last in control (even if she eventually landed OOB).

If there was still part of the player on the floor inbounds as she was going OOB, then yes, the TO is granted, the T assessed for the excessive TO, and B would get the ball for the ensuing throw-in due to loss of possession instead of POI.

If you are using Fed. rules, the TO is granted, the T is assessed, and B gets the throw-in at the division line.

Yes Womens JC NCAA rules, player is clearly in the air with ball in hands calling time out. Since she cannot call a time out by rule and they have no timeouts left then my first thought was inadvertent whistle since no timeout can be called and then POI but since I wasn't sure and I could not find a definite ruling in the rule book then that's why I posted the question here.
Thanks.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:26pm

Just remember everybody, it doesn't matter whether we are using NFHS or NCAA Men's/Women's rules, a player (or coach) canNOT call timeout, they may REQUEST a timeout.

MTD, Sr.

M&M Guy Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by artmoe (Post 573069)
Yes Womens JC NCAA rules, player is clearly in the air with ball in hands calling time out. Since she cannot call a time out by rule and they have no timeouts left then my first thought was inadvertent whistle since no timeout can be called and then POI but since I wasn't sure and I could not find a definite ruling in the rule book then that's why I posted the question here.
Thanks.

It is in the casebook, and it is also the same for both NCAA-M and NCAA-W. A.R. 137.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1