The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 Team mates Foul 2 Opponents (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51192-2-team-mates-foul-2-opponents.html)

ref2coach Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:48am

2 Team mates Foul 2 Opponents
 
A fellow referee related a situation from one of his games earlier this week. He was C, he said he heard both partners' whistles simultaneously, each had called a foul. L had A5 fouling B5, T had A1 fouling B1 it was the 7th and 8th fouls committed by team A. What is the correct way to proceed.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach (Post 572304)
A fellow referee related a situation from one of his games earlier this week. He was C, he said he heard both partners' whistles simultaneously, each had called a foul. L had A5 fouling B5, T had A1 fouling B1 it was the 7th and 8th fouls committed by team A. What is the correct way to proceed.

I pointed out a couple of years ago on this forum that this situation is NOT covered by the current rules.

There is no way to proceed if the officials believe that the two fouls truly were simultaneous. Under the current rules the officials must determine that one of the fouls happened before the other and only penalize that one. The other one gets ignored since the contact was during a dead ball and was not intentional or flagrant.

ref2coach Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:57am

Thanks for the quick reply. I had spent over an hour searching the rule and case book, finding nothing.

just another ref Mon Jan 26, 2009 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 572306)
I pointed out a couple of years ago on this forum that this situation is NOT covered by the current rules.

There is no way to proceed if the officials believe that the two fouls truly were simultaneous. Under the current rules the officials must determine that one of the fouls happened before the other and only penalize that one. The other one gets ignored since the contact was during a dead ball and was not intentional or flagrant.

IOW, they must make something up? If it is not covered by rules, why could they not penalize both, like when, you know, that other thing happens. Both officials signaled a foul. I have read where this is considered binding.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 26, 2009 02:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 572312)
IOW, they must make something up? If it is not covered by rules, why could they not penalize both, like when, you know, that other thing happens. Both officials signaled a foul. I have read where this is considered binding.

The problem is when this happens while the offending team has five team fouls and neither foul involves a try for goal. The two fouls would be #6 and #7 of the half for that team, so which opposing player gets to attempt the 1&1? There is simply NO way to decide.

just another ref Mon Jan 26, 2009 02:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 572321)
The problem is when this happens while the offending team has five team fouls and neither foul involves a try for goal. The two fouls would be #6 and #7 of the half for that team, so which opposing player gets to attempt the 1&1? There is simply NO way to decide.

So since you can't decide who would shoot, you simply wouldn't count one of them? That's really thin.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 26, 2009 04:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 572322)
So since you can't decide who would shoot, you simply wouldn't count one of them? That's really thin.

Please enlighten us with your solution. I hope that it's not thin.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 26, 2009 07:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach (Post 572304)
A fellow referee related a situation from one of his games earlier this week. He was C, he said he heard both partners' whistles simultaneously, each had called a foul. L had A5 fouling B5, T had A1 fouling B1 it was the 7th and 8th fouls committed by team A. What is the correct way to proceed.

1) There is no rule extant that will allow you to ignore <b>one</b> of the fouls if both officials are adamant that the fouls occurred at the same time. Rule 2-6 states that neither official has the authority to set aside another official's call. There is no provision in Rule 2-5 either for the Referee to decide if one of the foul calls should be ignored. There is a rule covering a violation and a foul occuring at the same time. In that case you have to decide which occurred first. That's covered in case book plays 2.6SitA and 2.6SitB.
2) There is language covering fouls being committed by teammates at the same time against different opponents. Rule 4-19-12 covers that call. It says that <i>"a false multiple foul is a situation in which there are two or more fouls by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first, and at least one of the attributes of a multiple foul is absent."</i> The attribute of a multiple foul that is absent in your situation is that the fouls were not committed against the same player, but were committed against teammates.
3) The penalty for a false multiple foul is laid out in 10-6PENALTIES(Rule 10 Summary under #7--<i>"In case of a false double foul or a <b>false multiple foul</b>, each foul carries it's own penalty.</i> In this case, the individual penalty for each foul is a one-and-one by each player fouled.
4) The only thing not definitively covered is which player shoots their one-and-one first. However, you still have rules that will allow you to decide. You can use Rule 2-3 and let the R pick who shoots their FT's first.

Ideally, the 2 officials will come to some kind of agreement that one foul actually did occur before the other...which means the second foul is ignored(unless the contact is intentional or flagrant). If the two officials can't decide between themselves whether one foul occurred before the other though, use the procedure outlined above. Rules rulz...and these will cover your azz.

mbyron Mon Jan 26, 2009 08:15am

My first thought when reading the OP was "false multiple foul." The sticky one is, of course, the one Nevada brings up: the case where the two fouls are team fouls #6 and #7.

For exactly one of these fouls the penalty is 1-and-1, so we need to be able to pick who should shoot. But this is arbitrary, just like picking who shoots first if they both have to shoot. Let the R pick based on 2-3.

If you have 2 shooters, would you shoot the first with the lane cleared?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 26, 2009 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 572352)
1) Let the R pick based on 2-3.

2) If you have 2 shooters, would you shoot the first with the lane cleared?

1) Yup.
2)Yup. Rule 8-1-3 sez you don't line up when the ball becomes dead on an unsuccessful last FT of a "specific" penalty. That "specific" penalty is the first 1/1. Line 'em up for the 2nd. 1/1.

JugglingReferee Mon Jan 26, 2009 08:48am

I think we need to do something to at least attempt to determine which foul happened first. Perhaps one calling official saw something peripherally regarding the other foul, or the durations between foul and whistle can be contrasted. To make no attempt, and go with 2-3, I think is not trying enough. Yes, it is very difficult, but we have to try.

Yes, the lane should be cleared if there are two shooters.

JugglingReferee Mon Jan 26, 2009 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 572357)
1) Yup.
2)Yup. Rule 8-3 sez you don't line up when the ball becomes dead on an unsuccessful last FT of a "specific" penalty. That "specific" penalty is the first 1/1. Line 'em up for the 2nd. 1/1.

It continues to be important when one shooter is awarded 1+1, and the other shooter 2 shots.

This happens when the fouls are the 9th and 10th of the half.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 26, 2009 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 572361)
It continues to be important when one shooter is awarded 1+1, and the other shooter 2 shots.

This happens when the fouls are the 9th and 10th of the half.

No, it doesn't matter diddlysquat under 8-1-3 which one you pick to shoot first. Whichever ever one you choose to shoot first, the ball is still dead on an unsucessful last FT for that "specific" penalty, whether that FT is the first or second of a 1/1, or the second of 2 shots.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 26, 2009 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 572360)
I think we need to do something to at least attempt to determine which foul happened first. Perhaps one calling official saw something peripherally regarding the other foul, or the durations between foul and whistle can be contrasted. To make no attempt, and go with 2-3, I think is not trying enough. Yes, it is very difficult, but we have to try.

R.I.F.

What part of <i>"Ideally, the 2 officials will come to some kind of agreement that one foul actually did occur before the other one....which means that the second foul is ignored(unless intentional or flagrant). If the two officials can't decide between themselves whether one foul occurred before the other though, use the procedure outlined above."</i> didn't you get? :D

JugglingReferee Mon Jan 26, 2009 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 572352)
For exactly one of these fouls the penalty is 1-and-1, so we need to be able to pick who should shoot. But this is arbitrary, just like picking who shoots first if they both have to shoot. Let the R pick based on 2-3.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 572357)
1) Yup.
2)Yup. Rule 8-1-3 sez you don't line up when the ball becomes dead on an unsuccessful last FT of a "specific" penalty. That "specific" penalty is the first 1/1. Line 'em up for the 2nd. 1/1.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 572361)
It continues to be important when one shooter is awarded 1+1, and the other shooter 2 shots.

This happens when the fouls are the 9th and 10th of the half.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 572366)
No, it doesn't matter diddlysquat under 8-1-3 which one you pick to shoot first. Whichever ever one you choose to shoot first, the ball is still dead on an unsucessful last FT for that "specific" penalty, whether that FT is the first or second of a 1/1, or the second of 2 shots.

I believe that you missed my point.

If it is true that it matters which player is issued a foul that is deemed to be the team's 6th of the half, and therefore the other foul is the team's 7th of a half, then it is equally important when it comes to 9 and 10. This is because the penalties for 9 and 10 and different, just as they are for fouls 6 and 7.

My point is that a coach should have a preference which player shoots the 1+1 and which player shoots the 2, just as he would (most likely) want the better FT shooter to be the bonus in the 6/7th foul situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1