![]() |
Washington v. USC
Anybody watching this game, play that just happened around 17:30 mark of first half? A1 goes up for a jump shot around the elbow and B1 knocks it out of his hand on the way up. Ball goes towards center line and A1 retreats with B1 chasing..A1 jumps from his FC, catches the ball in the air and lands in BC...no BC violation called....:confused: Did I drink too much vino this evening?
|
Quote:
The question to be asked is was there a shot attempt? If the answer is yes, then there is no team control when the shot is attempted. The rule allows any person to gain control of ball while in the air and then land in the back court. If the anser is no, then there should be a whistle. My guess is the referee deemed that there was an attempt for a shot. |
All kinds of good stuff in this game already! SC kid just tech'd for hanging on the rim...he came in for rebound and ball bounced off the rim to Washington, but there were two Washington guys standing under the rim so SC kid grabbed and hung til they cleared...not sure I agree with this one, there were clearly two guys underneath him and he actually waited until they started the other way to let go giving them an advantage until official blew it dead...tough call and have to see it I understand, but wouldn't you give benefit of the doubt on this type of play? Got Floyd out of his jacket he was not happy!
|
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Geez rough first half for this crew....bang-bang block/charge and C immediately goes PC and L immediately goes block, neither with any sort of prelminary signal (fist)....and we have the dreaded blarge....
|
It is a blarge!!!!!
Wow, the commentators know nothing. Just sad how dumb they are.
And you cannot go to the video dumbazz!!! Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
BTW if the ball was blocked out of the player's hands before it was released on the try, then team control would continue anyway. |
Quote:
|
TC continues untill release on a try.
|
Quote:
Doesn't the try begin with the gathering of the ball? So if you would have given the player two shots had it been a foul wouldn't that be a try? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
However, RookieDude has it essentially right - look at the definition of team control, 4-12-3(a): "Team control continues until the ball is <B>in flight</B> during a try or tap for goal." |
Dang you, Bob.
I need to attend a speed-typing refresher course. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Yep he was in no kind of position, hadn't really completed his transition yet he was still closing down and made the call across the lane...well in the lane, but on the opposite side...and went directly to hands on hips... |
Quote:
SITUATION 5: At the top of the key, A1 beats B1 off the dribble, reaches the free-throw line, and pulls up for a jump shot. At the apex of the jump and before the ball is released, B2 comes from the side and swats the ball out of A1’s hands. The ball goes behind A1, deflects off A2 and into the backcourt, where A3 is the first to touch it. RULING: A backcourt violation shall be called. Team control had continued for Team A because the try ended before the ball was in flight. (4-12-3a; 4-40-3,4; 9-9-1) |
Just Exactly How Far Back Can You Remember ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10pm. |