The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player leaves court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51114-player-leaves-court.html)

love2refbball Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:13am

Player leaves court
 
NAIA Womens game-
Home Player goes up for rebound and contact apparently gets "dislodged". Visitors get the rebound and push the ball on a fast break. The player with the contact runs off the floor at the table. Visitors pull the ball out and set up offense, my partner (C) blows the whistle and gives the T. (I didn't see the player leave the court as I was going from Trail to Lead.) Question: When do YOU blow this dead? What if visitors hadn't pulled the ball out and continued on the fast break? Even though they did pull it out, they were upset that we didnt "wait" on the T, since they had an obvious 5 on 4.
Any thoughts?

mbyron Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:19am

As for the "when" question, I'll stop play after the opponent's fast break ends (layup, shot & rebound, pulling up in the FC, whatever).

What I call will depend on her reason for leaving. If she's injured, I'll have an injury time out and no T (that's a legitimate reason for leaving the court). If she's mad that I didn't call a foul at the other end, then I'll call the T.

Spence Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by love2refbball (Post 571158)
NAIA Womens game-
Home Player goes up for rebound and contact apparently gets "dislodged". Visitors get the rebound and push the ball on a fast break. The player with the contact runs off the floor at the table. Visitors pull the ball out and set up offense, my partner (C) blows the whistle and gives the T. (I didn't see the player leave the court as I was going from Trail to Lead.) Question: When do YOU blow this dead? What if visitors hadn't pulled the ball out and continued on the fast break? Even though they did pull it out, they were upset that we didnt "wait" on the T, since they had an obvious 5 on 4.
Any thoughts?


Are you saying the girl left in protest or did she simply run out of bounds and then re-entered? I'm guessing its the former.

love2refbball Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 571165)
Are you saying the girl left in protest or did she simply run out of bounds and then re-entered? I'm guessing its the former.

She just ran off the court, not in protest, but she didn't re-enter either.
Had she stayed on the floor with an obvious injury (or contact problem) we would have handled it like an injury. Like I said, i was transitioning from T to L and didn't see the girl run off the court, but neither partner indicated she was upset or left in protest.

Mark Padgett Thu Jan 22, 2009 02:59pm

Maybe she just had to replace her, uh, you know. Didn't we have this discussion recently? :rolleyes:

Nevadaref Thu Jan 22, 2009 08:41pm

There is no rule that supports a T here. The player certainly didn't leave deceptively. You guys kicked this one.

BTW under NCAA rules a scoring play ends when the offensive team ceases to advance the ball in an attempt to score. That is when the officials can stop the game for an injury.

love2refbball Fri Jan 23, 2009 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 571427)
There is no rule that supports a T here. The player certainly didn't leave deceptively. You guys kicked this one.

BTW under NCAA rules a scoring play ends when the offensive team ceases to advance the ball in an attempt to score. That is when the officials can stop the game for an injury.

I have to admit after my partner blew his whistle and we got together, I really didnt know the penalty, and he had already signaled that it was a T, I've never had anyone just run off the court, and I just went with it.
I know the rule for when a scoring play ends, but we didn't have an injured player on the court, she just left, and really no one knew why at the time.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1