The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I Think I Kicked It (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51104-i-think-i-kicked.html)

Nevadaref Thu Jan 22, 2009 08:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berkut (Post 571334)
Not to dive back into the question, but isn't the interp consistent with an A player standing out of bounds who is hit by a ball deflected out of bounds by B, but not touching OOB until it strikes A?

Even though B sent it out of bounds, it is still off of A. But if touches OOB BEFORE it hits A, then it is off of B.

Why isn't this the same thing?

The interp, to me, seems consistent, even if it is not really intuitive. The ball had FC status until it was touched by A, which made it have BC status, and hence we have a over and back, since A had team control the entire time.

If the OOB rule said that a player shall not be the first to touch the ball while contacting the OOB area AFTER HE/SHE OR A TEAMMATE WAS THE LAST TO TOUCH THE BALL WHILE IN THE INBOUNDS AREA, then your analogy between the backcourt rule and the OOB rule would be correct. However, OOB doesn't work that way. There are no prior requirements as there are for a backcourt violation. Our problem with the recent NFHS interp is that it ignores one of the prior requirements (last to touch the ball WHILE IN THE FRONTCOURT).

bob jenkins Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berkut (Post 571334)
Not to dive back into the question, but isn't the interp consistent with an A player standing out of bounds who is hit by a ball deflected out of bounds by B, but not touching OOB until it strikes A?

Even though B sent it out of bounds, it is still off of A. But if touches OOB BEFORE it hits A, then it is off of B.

Why isn't this the same thing?

The interp, to me, seems consistent, even if it is not really intuitive. The ball had FC status until it was touched by A, which made it have BC status, and hence we have a over and back, since A had team control the entire time.


To NEvada's comment, let me add that the OOB violation is for "causing the ball to go OOB" and there's a specific statement to the effect that "if a player standing OOB touches the ball, that player causes the ball to go OOB."

There's no similar statement / comment on "causing the ball to go BC"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1