The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wild Friday! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51013-wild-friday.html)

SCalScoreKeeper Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:49am

Wild Friday!
 
Had these plays described to me by a friend who does the books at another school in our league in their games tonight! Do these make sense to any of you?

A.Double technical is issued on A11 who promptly gets ejected by rule. Coach A then talks to the official who assessed T's and second T is revoked. I know it is possible for an official to change his/her mind on possession calls, clock situations, etc. but once an official calls a T doesn't it stand?

B.A13 is called for a foul. Official reports it and then about 10 minutes later comes back to the table and revokes the foul. Isn't this outside the window for correctable error as the ball has been in play for a quarter and some change? :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused::confused:

just another ref Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 569569)
Had these plays described to me by a friend who does the books at another school in our league in their games tonight! Do these make sense to any of you?

A.Double technical is issued on A11 who promptly gets ejected by rule. Coach A then talks to the official who assessed T's and second T is revoked. I know it is possible for an official to change his/her mind on possession calls, clock situations, etc. but once an official calls a T doesn't it stand?

B.A13 is called for a foul. Official reports it and then about 10 minutes later comes back to the table and revokes the foul. Isn't this outside the window for correctable error as the ball has been in play for a quarter and some change? :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused::confused:

A. Need a bit more information here. He reported two technicals, said that player was ejected, then changed his mind, or signaled two then only reported one?

B. This is not a correctable error, so the time involved is not a factor. Was there a question of who the foul was charged to, or simply a matter of erasing a foul out of the book? No way to do that by rule, as far as I know.

SCalScoreKeeper Sat Jan 17, 2009 02:14am

In situation A you have it correct in that he reported the second technical, player was ejected, coach talks to ref and second technical is revoked!

With situation B the ref in question reported a foul and then came back ten minutes later and told the table to erase 1 foul assessed to that player. It just seemed weird to me when I heard about it so I thought I'd ask!

just another ref Sat Jan 17, 2009 02:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 569573)
In situation A you have it correct in that he reported the second technical, player was ejected, coach talks to ref and second technical is revoked!

With situation B the ref in question reported a foul and then came back ten minutes later and told the table to erase 1 foul assessed to that player. It just seemed weird to me when I heard about it so I thought I'd ask!

Seems weird to me, too.

eyezen Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 569575)
Seems weird to me, too.

Must be a socal thing. :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1