![]() |
violation- tossing the ball aganist the defender
kind of a cheap play- anything illegal about it. Player dribbles, goes for a shot either in air or on the ground and seeing it will get blocked tosses the ball against the defender and then gets the ball again after it hits.
Or offensive player while holding the ball, puts the ball out in front and makes contact so the defender hand or body touches the ball. But it is clearly not enough to knock it loose and the player drops the ball then begins a new dribble. Violation? Double dribble or traveling? |
Quote:
B. Illegal. Since the touching by the opponent doesn't dislodge the ball from the player's grasp. The drop constitutes the start of a second dribble. |
in A. So even if there is no other offensive player nearby once the player hits the ball off the defender and goes to get the ball it is ok?
guess I can't call intentional grounding. :rolleyes: |
And: the floor can't cause a fumble. :rolleyes:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
9-5 A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
Art 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. |
Almost Only Counts In Horseshoes And Hand Grenades ...
Quote:
|
I say yes once he caught it with both hands because before that the first dribble did not end.
meant to say no here, REALLY. Confusing wording but I meant that the dribble ended once he picked it up with both hands. |
Quote:
That would be an illegal dribble violation. 9-5 is very specific. A. If the loss of control is due to a try for goal, then NO ONE has to touch it before that player may regain control and dribble again. B. If the loss of control is due to a pass or fumble, then the original player may regain control and dribble again after ANY OTHER PLAYER touches or was touched by the ball. C. If the loss of control is during a dribble, and thus becomes an interrupted dribble, then before that player may regain control and dribble again the ball must be touched by an OPPONENT. As you may recall, the NFHS updated and changed this rule just last season to reflect the longstanding manner in which it was being called. *Please note that the original player may always go recover a fumble or interrupted dribble without violating (a pass is different), but may not be allowed to dribble again. |
Very nice explanation Nevada.
|
"Good Night, Mrs. Calabash, Wherever You Are!" (Jimmy Durante) ...
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm. |