The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Intentional Technical Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50951-intentional-technical-foul.html)

jdmara Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:15pm

Intentional Technical Foul
 
Silly situation happened last night. I know that I made the right call but I'm not sure if I signaled it correctly.

The game was getting a little chippy and after whistles the players were continuing just a little longer than they should have (but nothing too extreme). We tried to address it by talking with the players during dead balls and continuing to call the rough play. A12 seemed to be the stem of all the problems though. After a made basket by team A but before team B had the ball at their disposal, A12 turned to run up court and ran into B1. I put air into the whistle and signal an intentional foul. I didn't think it warranted a flagrant foul.

I'm unsure if I signaled it correctly though. Since the foul occurred during a dead ball, it has to be a technical. So should I first signal a technical and then follow it with the intentional foul signal? I didn't and I think that was incorrect since the bench wouldn't know that the player is disqualified if he received another technical. Thanks

-Josh

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:20pm

from what you described it sounds like a no call -- if the ball was not at the disposal then its a T.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 568510)
After a made basket by team A but before team B had the ball at their disposal, A12 turned to run up court and ran into B1. I put air into the whistle and signal an intentional foul.

If A12 "meant" to run into B1, then I agree with the IT foul; if B1 was "just in the way", then it was probably nothing.

Give the T signal only.

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:29pm

Might be a bit nitpicky, but does the term "intentional technical" even exist in NFHS? I know it does in NCAA, but NCAA tech rules are a lesson in and of themselves (and unnecessarily confusing IMO)...in Fed isn't it either administrative or player/coach, etc?

agr8zebra Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:30pm

I think we would need to know more the situation, But if you thought it should be assessed as a IntFoul, I would come up with the T 1st, not sure I would ever even give the INTFOUL signal, but that is just me. The important thing is to communicate it is a T, and such activity need not need to occur.

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568522)
Might be a bit nitpicky, but does the term "intentional technical" even exist in NFHS? I know it does in NCAA, but NCAA tech rules are a lesson in and of themselves (and unnecessarily confusing IMO)...in Fed isn't it either administrative or player/coach, etc?

Yes, the term does exist; and specifically addresses dead ball contact.

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra (Post 568524)
I think we would need to know more the situation, But if you thought it should be assessed as a IntFoul, I would come up with the T 1st, not sure I would ever even give the INTFOUL signal, but that is just me. The important thing is to communicate it is a T, and such activity need not need to occur.

It is one or the other, but not both...sounds like it was dead ball so it is a tech, if the ball is at the disposal of the thrower when it happens and you judge it to be intentional contact then it is an intentional foul, but you shouldn't signal both...

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568527)
It is one or the other, but not both...sounds like it was dead ball so it is a tech, if the ball is at the disposal of the thrower when it happens and you judge it to be intentional contact then it is an intentional foul, but you shouldn't signal both...

It is both if the ball is dead. You're right that you don't signal both; signal the tech since that's the most important part of the definition.

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 568526)
Yes, the term does exist; and specifically addresses dead ball contact.


I just searched the fed rulebook and the term "intentional technical" only shows up in the NF vs. NCAA grid at the back on the NCAA side...still looking...never heard it used at sub-NCAA level, isn't it sort of redundant since there is no difference in penalty administration regardless of what the tech is for unless flagrant (other than the indirect side of things)?

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568527)
It is one or the other, but not both...sounds like it was dead ball so it is a tech, if the ball is at the disposal of the thrower when it happens and you judge it to be intentional contact then it is an intentional foul, but you shouldn't signal both...

It is both, but you only signal the T. In HS and NCAA-M, this is an intentional technical foul.

jdmara Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 568517)
If A12 "meant" to run into B1, then I agree with the IT foul; if B1 was "just in the way", then it was probably nothing.

Give the T signal only.

His justification was "he was in my way". If I had not already signaled an intentional, he would have just bumped himself up to flagrant for his disregard but I based my call off the original assessment the contact. He was the causing a lot of the extra curricular activity after the whistle (prior to this incident) so he was already being watched closely to keep him in line and the contact was clearing intentional.

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568522)
Might be a bit nitpicky, but does the term "intentional technical" even exist in NFHS? I know it does in NCAA, but NCAA tech rules are a lesson in and of themselves (and unnecessarily confusing IMO)...in Fed isn't it either administrative or player/coach, etc?

4-19

ART. 3 . . . An intentional foul is a personal or technical foul which neutralizes an opponent's obvious advantageous position. Contact away from the ball or when not making a legitimate attempt to play the ball or a player, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting, shall be intentional. Intentional fouls may or may not be premeditated and are not based solely on the severity of the act. A foul also shall be ruled intentional if while playing the ball a player causes excessive contact with an opponent.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568529)
I just searched the fed rulebook and the term "intentional technical" only shows up in the NF vs. NCAA grid at the back on the NCAA side...still looking...never heard it used at sub-NCAA level, isn't it sort of redundant since there is no difference in penalty administration regardless of what the tech is for unless flagrant (other than the indirect side of things)?

4-19-5c (07-08 book)

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568529)
I just searched the fed rulebook and the term "intentional technical" only shows up in the NF vs. NCAA grid at the back on the NCAA side...still looking...never heard it used at sub-NCAA level, isn't it sort of redundant since there is no difference in penalty administration regardless of what the tech is for unless flagrant (other than the indirect side of things)?

No, it's not redundant.

1. Unsporting Ts do not have contact.
2. Intentional Ts are what you call when you have to call something for contact during a dead ball, but it's not flagrant.

You're right, the penalties are the same. Look under foul definitions, I believe, and you'll find the reference.

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 568528)
It is both if the ball is dead. You're right that you don't signal both; signal the tech since that's the most important part of the definition.

Help me out here, looking at page 71 of current fed rule book, the technical foul summary - where do we see "intentional technical"?

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 568532)
His justification was "he was in my way". If I had not already signaled an intentional, he would have just bumped himself up to flagrant but I based my call off the original assessment the contact.

Still not too late. :)

jdmara Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 568530)
It is both, but you only signal the T. In HS and NCAA-M, this is an intentional technical foul.

So signal T at the spot...come to the table, Color, number, signal "T", Intentional?, Push, (put my left foot in, left foot out, left foot in, and shake it all about), administer free throws, put ball back in play at the spot of the foul (in this instance backcourt endline since the foul happened in the backcourt lane). Thanks all

-Josh

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:46pm

I wouldn't even use the word "intentional." It's only likely to confuse the scorers, coaches, players, and fans (and maybe even the officials).

Ball goes into play at the division line, though, since it's a technical foul.

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568535)
Help me out here, looking at page 71 of current fed rule book, the technical foul summary - where do we see "intentional technical"?

It's not there because the penalties don't differ. The reference is already posted for you above, in rule 4-19.

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568535)
Help me out here, looking at page 71 of current fed rule book, the technical foul summary - where do we see "intentional technical"?

Try the Rule 4-19

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 568539)
So signal T at the spot...come to the table, Color, number, signal "T", Intentional?, Push, (put my left foot in, left foot out, left foot in, and shake it all about), administer free throws, put ball back in play at the spot of the foul (in this instance backcourt endline since the foul happened in the backcourt lane). Thanks all
-Josh

Actually, techincally, for HS, put ball back into play with a throw-in at the division line for the offended team; in NCAA, put the ball back into play at the POI, which was an endline throw-in for B after a made basket.

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 568547)
... in NCAA, put the ball back into play at the POI, which was an endline throw-in for B after a made basket.

Actually, I'm not positive, but I believe Intentional Technicals in NCAA are two shots and the ball at the division line; not POI.

jdmara Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 568536)
Still not too late. :)

You are absolutely right! Honestly, I was too busy directing traffic (keeping everyone calm), explaining to my partner what the situation was and how we were going to administer everything (he's a rookie), and then using my game management skills with the coaches. Needless to say, I was a little rattled (which typically takes a small nuclear disaster) and didn't think everything through as much as I should have before reporting.

In hindsight, I should have just gotten rid of the instigator (A12) since it was obviously his demeanor and intent with that foul.

Appreciate the other views!

-Josh

jdmara Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:54pm

You all are right, technical fouls are all put into play at the division line. That is my fault.

-Josh

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 568534)
No, it's not redundant.

1. Unsporting Ts do not have contact.
2. Intentional Ts are what you call when you have to call something for contact during a dead ball, but it's not flagrant.

You're right, the penalties are the same. Look under foul definitions, I believe, and you'll find the reference.

I understand what you are saying (and I think I am splitting hairs) - wouldn't it be a true statement though to say that you can equate an "intentional" technical to a "pushing" foul..describes the nature of the foul, but really what you have with a "pushing" foul is a personal foul by definition (for instance). In NCAA it is an important distinction, where "intentional" signifies not only the nature of the foul, but also how you administer...in Fed all I have ever heard or used is Administrative, Player, etc...

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 568549)
Actually, I'm not positive, but I believe Intentional Technicals in NCAA are two shots and the ball at the division line; not POI.

Wow - You are correct for men. I assumed it was the same, but just did some digging, and found that the resumption of play is different for the two sides. POI for NCAA-W, division line for NCAA-M. Nice catch. My mistake.

zm1283 Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568560)
I understand what you are saying (and I think I am splitting hairs) - wouldn't it be a true statement though to say that you can equate an "intentional" technical to a "pushing" foul..describes the nature of the foul, but really what you have with a "pushing" foul is a personal foul by definition (for instance). In NCAA it is an important distinction, where "intentional" signifies not only the nature of the foul, but also how you administer...in Fed all I have ever heard or used is Administrative, Player, etc...

What are you asking? This paragraph is a bit jumbled.

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568560)
I understand what you are saying (and I think I am splitting hairs) - wouldn't it be a true statement though to say that you can equate an "intentional" technical to a "pushing" foul..describes the nature of the foul, but really what you have with a "pushing" foul is a personal foul by definition (for instance). In NCAA it is an important distinction, where "intentional" signifies not only the nature of the foul, but also how you administer...in Fed all I have ever heard or used is Administrative, Player, etc...

Not exactly sure where you're going with this, but the definition of a personal foul excludes all dead ball contact, unless an airborne shooter is involved.

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:02pm

Intentionals can be personal or technical. 4-19 could really be a good friend ;)

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 568565)
What are you asking? This paragraph is a bit jumbled.


Basically saying that "intentional technical" is semantics and is irrelevant the same way it is irrelevant whether you signal a "push" or a "block"...anybody ever signaled a "block" at the table when what really happened was a "push"? Did it make a bit of difference?

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568570)
anybody ever signaled a "block" at the table when what really happened was a "push"? Did it make a bit of difference?

Yes & he!! yes (if the coach knows his stuff).

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 568566)
Not exactly sure where you're going with this, but the definition of a personal foul excludes all dead ball contact, unless an airborne shooter is involved.

Agreed, wasn't going there just comparing "intentional" technical to a "pushing" personal foul.....

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568570)
Basically saying that "intentional technical" is semantics and is irrelevant the same way it is irrelevant whether you signal a "push" or a "block"...anybody ever signaled a "block" at the table when what really happened was a "push"? Did it make a bit of difference?

Fair enough, but you asked if it was actually a defined term. It is, but I would never signal the intentional part during a game.

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 568573)
Yes & he!! yes (if the coach knows his stuff).

So the coach was ok with the foul, but did not like the secondary signal so he/she jumped all over you? Guessing he/she didn't like the foul call so was going to jump you regardless of your secondary signal...point being the secondary signal is useful to indicate the nature of the foul, but it really doesn't mean anything in the scheme of things (administration, etc)...how many times have you given the incorrect one and just moved on?

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 568576)
Fair enough, but you asked if it was actually a defined term. It is, but I would never signal the intentional part during a game.

Agreed after looking it up, just have never heard it used in that way...and my primary point was that you would never signal it which we agree on..

dahoopref Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 568547)
Actually, techincally, for HS, put ball back into play with a throw-in at the division line for the offended team; in NCAA, put the ball back into play at the POI, which was an endline throw-in for B after a made basket.

That would be VERY incorrect.

Pg 135 NCAA Rulebook 2008-09

RESUMPTION OF PLAY: For any technical foul(s), play shall resume
at the point of interruption except for a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul. For a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded
to the offended team at a designated spot at the division
line on either side of the playing court.

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568579)
So the coach was ok with the foul, but did not like the secondary signal so he/she jumped all over you? Guessing he/she didn't like the foul call so was going to jump you regardless of your secondary signal...point being the secondary signal is useful to indicate the nature of the foul, but it really doesn't mean anything in the scheme of things (administration, etc)...how many times have you given the incorrect one and just moved on?

First of all coaches don't "jump all over me" either we show a mutual respect & talk like men or they get put in check... plain & simple.

To answer your question, I had a coach say "how could that be push when he clearly blocked him?"

I've learned to give the correct signal for what actually happened since then.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568560)
I understand what you are saying (and I think I am splitting hairs) - wouldn't it be a true statement though to say that you can equate an "intentional" technical to a "pushing" foul..describes the nature of the foul, but really what you have with a "pushing" foul is a personal foul by definition (for instance).

Wrong.

IF the push while the ball is live rises only to the level of a common foul, then the same push while the ball is dead would be ignored (that is, no penalty -- I'm sure the official would address the situation).

If the push while the ball is live rises to the leve of an intentional foul (and Intentional Personal foul), the the same push while the ball is dead would be an Intentional Technical foul.

Same as the above paragraph for Flagrant fouls.

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 568583)
First of coaches don't "jump all over me" either we show a mutual respect & talk like men or they get put in check... plain & simple.

To answer your question, I had a coach say "how could that be push when he clearly blocked him?"

I've learned to give the correct signal for what actually happened since then.

Good grief, sorry if I offended your sensibilities by saying "jump all over me", it is a figure of speech. I'm not trying to argue with you all I am saying is that whether you give the correct secondary or not is irrelevant. Should you try to give the right one every time, of course good for you if you do it right every time, you shold strive to do so! If you give the "wrong" secondary from time to time does it matter? No! A) Many times no one can know which part of the contact you are signaling the foul for anyways (was it the hold or the push that happened afterwards? what if the hold and the push are simultaneous?) and B) The administration is identical

slow whistle Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 568587)
Wrong.

IF the push while the ball is live rises only to the level of a common foul, then the same push while the ball is dead would be ignored (that is, no penalty -- I'm sure the official would address the situation).

If the push while the ball is live rises to the leve of an intentional foul (and Intentional Personal foul), the the same push while the ball is dead would be an Intentional Technical foul.

Same as the above paragraph for Flagrant fouls.

Agree with you Bob, I was not trying to address the nature of the fouls, only the structure of the definitions (ie a foul is primarily personal, secondarily a push) If we are to say that a foul is primarily intentional and secondarily technical then why don't we signal the primary part of it?

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 14, 2009 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 568582)
That would be VERY incorrect.

Pg 135 NCAA Rulebook 2008-09

RESUMPTION OF PLAY: For any technical foul(s), play shall resume
at the point of interruption except for a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul. For a single intentional
or a single flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded
to the offended team at a designated spot at the division
line on either side of the playing court.

Actually, it's only half incorrect, and I corrected myself in post #25. There is no "intentional technical" foul in NCAA-W, therefore, as this is simply a player/substitute technical foul in NCAA-W, the resumption of play (in NCAA-W) from the OP would be at the POI, which was a throw-in for team B after a made basket on the endline. I was only incorrect for NCAA-M.

jevaque Wed Jan 14, 2009 05:16pm

Flagrant Technical Foul Penalty (Women) 10-3.13-17 Penalty and 10-4.8 and 9 Penalty. For any single flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded to the offended team at the point of interruption.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 14, 2009 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568522)
Might be a bit nitpicky, but does the term "intentional technical" even exist in NFHS? I know it does in NCAA, but NCAA tech rules are a lesson in and of themselves (and unnecessarily confusing IMO)...in Fed isn't it either administrative or player/coach, etc?


A technical foul in both NFHS and NCAA can occur, and term "intentional technical foul" use to be in the NFHS rule book. Back in the day when only intentional and flagrant TF's resulted in two (2) free throws being awarded and all other TF's resulted in one (1) free throws being awarded there was a very definite need for an official to distinguish between a non-flagrant TF which was not intentional and one that was intentional. It still exists in the NCAA because of putting the ball back into play situations.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 14, 2009 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 568594)
Agree with you Bob, I was not trying to address the nature of the fouls, only the structure of the definitions (ie a foul is primarily personal, secondarily a push) If we are to say that a foul is primarily intentional and secondarily technical then why don't we signal the primary part of it?

Because it's not "primarily personal, secondarily a push". It's primarily personal, secondarily common.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1