The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basketball timeout (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50914-basketball-timeout.html)

js2397 Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:23pm

Basketball timeout
 
After a made basket can the defense call a timeout at any point before the ball is inbounded?

fullor30 Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by js2397 (Post 567987)
After a made basket can the defense call a timeout at any point before the ball is inbounded?

No, if inbounding team has possesion, no TO. Now that I said that, by rule if basket is made and B grabs ball after made basket and is still inbounds I'm pretty sure defense can still call TO. No rule book at work.

NCAAREF Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:33pm

Not Quite
 
The defense can call time out until the offensive player is in control of the ball for the throw in.

Freddy Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:50pm

5-8-3-b . . . 6-1-2-b

M&M Guy Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCAAREF (Post 567992)
The defense can call time out until the offensive player is in control of the ball for the throw in.

Not quite - I believe there was a ruling or interp that stated "at the disposal" was when the official has started the 5-second count, not just "in control of the ball". Perhaps someone with outstanding search skills will come up with the past threads?

Adam Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 568023)
Not quite - I believe there was a ruling or interp that stated "at the disposal" was when the official has started the 5-second count, not just "in control of the ball". Perhaps someone with outstanding search skills will come up with the past threads?

I recommend a poll.

socalreff Tue Jan 13, 2009 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by js2397 (Post 567987)
After a made basket can the defense call a timeout at any point before the ball is inbounded?

They can be granted a timeout until you start the 5 count for the thrower in.

Scratch85 Tue Jan 13, 2009 03:01pm

I believe I learned this from Bob on another forum. The throw-in, the count, "at disposal" and "too late for the other team to be granted a time out" all occur at the same time. If you have one, you have them all. If you don't have one, you don't have any.

Always listen to Bob.:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1