The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Goaltending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50795-goaltending.html)

Referee24.7 Thu Jan 08, 2009 07:29pm

Goaltending
 
Not that I'm remedial, but can one of you rule gurus please pass me the rule real quick for goaltending in HS where a shot cannot be blocked/deflected once it has already hit the backboard?

Thanks.

RookieDude Thu Jan 08, 2009 07:34pm

Check the back of your Rule book...(the chart, differences between NFHS and NCAA)...

what you are stating is actually a NCAA rule.

Goaltending

NFHS....."Player touches the ball during a try/tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight."

NCAA...."Same as NFHS and includes a ball that contacts the backboard when it is entierly above the ring level is considered to be on its downward flight."

BillyMac Thu Jan 08, 2009 07:44pm

Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
 
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

Referee24.7 Thu Jan 08, 2009 08:03pm

B-Mac,

I'm talking about after the ball hits the backboard on an attempted shot and its on the way towards the cylinder, can a defender just come and slap it off with no goaltending being called?

And for reference, please DO NOT use the reference of what happened last night in the Gonzaga-Tennessee game -- that was blatant basket interference.

RookieDude Thu Jan 08, 2009 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 566364)
B-Mac,

I'm talking about after the ball hits the backboard on an attempted shot and its on the way towards the cylinder, can a defender just come and slap it off with no goaltending being called?

And for reference, please DO NOT use the reference of what happened last night in the Gonzaga-Tennessee game -- that was blatant basket interference.


REALLY?

Says who?

BillyMac Thu Jan 08, 2009 09:07pm

You Asked About Goaltending, Not Basketball Interference ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 566364)
I'm talking about after the ball hits the backboard on an attempted shot and its on the way towards the cylinder, can a defender just come and slap it off with no goaltending being called?

NFHS:
Ball on upward trajectory, outside cylinder: No violation
Ball on downward trajectory, outside cylinder: Goaltending

zm1283 Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 566364)
B-Mac,

I'm talking about after the ball hits the backboard on an attempted shot and its on the way towards the cylinder, can a defender just come and slap it off with no goaltending being called?

And for reference, please DO NOT use the reference of what happened last night in the Gonzaga-Tennessee game -- that was blatant basket interference.

You might want to check the thread about that game.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 09, 2009 04:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 566357)
Not that I'm remedial, but can one of you rule gurus please pass me the rule real quick for goaltending in HS where a shot cannot be blocked/deflected once it has already hit the backboard?

No, we can't. It doesn't exist.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 566364)
B-Mac,

I'm talking about after the ball hits the backboard on an attempted shot and its on the way towards the cylinder, can a defender just come and slap it off with no goaltending being called?

And for reference, please DO NOT use the reference of what happened last night in the Gonzaga-Tennessee game -- that was blatant basket interference.

Did the Tennessee player touch the ball? No.
Did the Tennessee player touch the basket while the ball was ON or WITHIN the BASKET? No.
Do you understand that a player is allowed to touch the basket while the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the basket? No. :eek:

Congratulations, it takes real effort to be so wrong twice in a single thread! :p

PS
I would welcome this newbie, but he likely won't be here long.

Unfortunately, we probably can't help him anyway. His beliefs seem to be quite firm. It's tough to teach someone the right way when his mind is closed and he is already SO committed to a misconception. :(

muxbule Fri Jan 09, 2009 07:01am

I believe this could be tossed in as one of the most misunderstood rules. I graded our associations test and the question that matched this sitch was easily the most missed question.

BillyMac Fri Jan 09, 2009 07:18am

Who You Gonna Call ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 566427)
I believe this could be tossed in as one of the most misunderstood rules.

See post #3.

OHBBREF Fri Jan 09, 2009 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 566364)
B-Mac,

I'm talking about after the ball hits the backboard on an attempted shot and its on the way towards the cylinder, can a defender just come and slap it off with no goaltending being called?

And for reference, please DO NOT use the reference of what happened last night in the Gonzaga-Tennessee game -- that was blatant basket interference.

the difference is that in NCAA this year, if a defender contacts a shot after it hits the backboard (ball has to be completely above rim) it is to be considered on it's downward flight and therefore goal tending.

this rule interpretation does not apply to NFHS

Regarding the Gonz -Tenn reference you need to check the NCAA rule - it requires that the player reaching through the rim contact the ball for there to be BI which did not occur.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1