The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-In BC Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50784-throw-bc-violation.html)

AKOFL Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:53pm

The acception rule only applies to the first one to touch, offence or defence. Once the ball is touched the provision no longer applies.

jdmara Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 566197)
Another twist. If a1, while in the air from the front court, catches and then passes to a2 in the backcourt this also is a violation. So much to think about!:)

Any case play on this?

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:04pm

thanks

CMHCoachNRef Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:08pm

This exception to the exception (ball tipped by B2 negates the normal exception permitted A2) is one of these situations that I understand completely, but with which I disagree completely as well.

Such over and back violations cause angst every time we call them. This is right up there with the last-touch-first-touch over and back violation.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 566278)
This exception to the exception (ball tipped by B2 negates the normal exception permitted A2) is one of these situations that I understand completely, but with which I disagree completely as well.

Such over and back violations cause angst every time we call them. This is right up there with the last-touch-first-touch over and back violation.

I'm okay with the last-touch-first-touch thing. I do think, however, that they should expand the exception to all situations where there is no team control. The rule would be shorter, too. "A player whose team is not in control...."

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 566278)
This exception to the exception (ball tipped by B2 negates the normal exception permitted A2) is one of these situations that I understand completely, but with which I disagree completely as well.

I understand it, and maybe I'm one of the few people that doesn't disagree with it. Look at it this way, it's not an "exception to the exception", but rather look at it exactly as it is written - it is an exception allowed <B>during</B> a throw-in. When does a throw-in end? 4-42-5 tells us that - when it touches or is touched by another player either in-bounds or out of bounds. So, when the throw-in is touched by B1, the throw-in is over, thus there's no exception to worry about.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 566278)
Such over and back violations cause angst every time we call them. This is right up there with the last-touch-first-touch over and back violation.

Most of the angst comes from not knowing or completely understanding the rule. The more we can pass along proper information, the less angst for all of us.

(I believe I have now hit a persoanl best for the most number of times using the word "angst" in a single post.)

w_sohl Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:21pm

Think of it this way...

You are where you last were till your not there anymore.

Player started in FC, jumped in the air with momentum towards BC. While in the air the last place the player was on the ground was in the FC so he/she does not get BC status till they land and touch the division line or futher back.

AKOFL Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566283)
I'm okay with the last-touch-first-touch thing. I do think, however, that they should expand the exception to all situations where there is no team control. The rule would be shorter, too. "A player whose team is not in control...."

That is exactly how the rule reads. Are you trying to confuse me? lol

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 566323)
That is exactly how the rule reads. Are you trying to confuse me? lol

My way would remove the parethetical specifics that follow. :)

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566328)
My way would remove the parethetical specifics that follow. :)

http://tbn3.google.com/images?q=tbn:...s/windmill.jpg

:)

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 566331)

Nah, I'm saving that for the AP arrow changes I want. :D

bob jenkins Fri Jan 09, 2009 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 566268)
Any case play on this?


None needed.

The exception part of the rule (I think it's article 3) says (paraphrasing) "A PLAYER ...may catch the ball and land in the BC". There's nothing about passing the ball, or the restrictions not applying until someone touching the court controls the ball, ...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1