The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul on shot causes travel. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50755-foul-shot-causes-travel.html)

Robert E. Harrison Wed Jan 07, 2009 09:43am

Foul on shot causes travel.
 
As a player is going up for a try he is bumped. The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket.
Do you count the basket or award two shots and disallow the basket.
I have also seen the bump cause the shooter to drag his pivot foot before releasing the ball on the try.
Thanks for the help.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 09:46am

I doubt if I'll see this travel if I'm watching the contact/foul.

Indianaref Wed Jan 07, 2009 09:51am

Why would you disallow the basket? He was in the act of shooting.

OHBBREF Wed Jan 07, 2009 09:53am

once the shooting motion starts, (ART. 3 . . . The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball. ) if the foul occurs after that point it is a shooting foul, if it occurs prior to that point, it is not a shooting foul

Fairly black and white the pivot foot has nothing to do with a try, unless you rule a travel before hand.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 09:54am

I will add if it's an airborne shooter who gets fouled, once he returns to the floor with the ball, it's gonna be two shots.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 565576)
once the shooting motion starts, (ART. 3 . . . The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball. ) if the foul occurs after that point it is a shooting foul, if it occurs prior to that point, it is not a shooting foul

Fairly black and white the pivot foot has nothing to do with a try, unless you rule a travel before hand.

Of course it's a shooting foul. That wasn't the question.

Raymond Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565569)
I doubt if I'll see this travel if I'm watching the contact/foul.

I just had this the other night. A1 gathers for his shot, gets bumped, then drags his pivot foot before releasing the ball.

Also what about a fast break where the player gathers for the shot, takes a hard smack, then takes an extra step before releasing the shot?

Indianaref Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 565581)
I just had this the other night. A1 gathers for his shot, gets bumped, then drags his pivot foot before releasing the ball.

Also what about a fast break where the player gathers for the shot, takes a hard smack, then takes an extra step before releasing the shot?

SECTION 11 CONTINUOUS MOTION
ART. 1 . . . Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
ART. 2 . . . If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

ART. 3 . . . Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 565581)
I just had this the other night. A1 gathers for his shot, gets bumped, then drags his pivot foot before releasing the ball.

Also what about a fast break where the player gathers for the shot, takes a hard smack, then takes an extra step before releasing the shot?

I'll probably count those, just because I'm not watching the feet so closely when I've already called contact.

Have you ever seen a high level official wave a shot off for this reason? I haven't, and I doubt I'd want to be the first.

GoodwillRef Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565584)
I'll probably count those, just because I'm not watching the feet so closely when I've already called contact.

Have you ever seen a high level official wave a shot off for this reason? I haven't, and I doubt I'd want to be the first.

I am guessing on this one you will need some help from your partners on the travel.

Rich Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 565588)
I am guessing on this one you will need some help from your partners on the travel.

Which you won't get, because I would be scoring the basket (in my mind) right with the calling official.

Raymond Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 565583)
SECTION 11 CONTINUOUS MOTION
ART. 1 . . . Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
ART. 2 . . . If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

ART. 3 . . . Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

I'm missing your point Indy. I know I lead my association in ruling 'continous motion' on fouls. The "on the floor" call is a pet-peeve of mine.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565584)
I'll probably count those, just because I'm not watching the feet so closely when I've already called contact.

Have you ever seen a high level official wave a shot off for this reason? I haven't, and I doubt I'd want to be the first.

Even if the player obviously travels before releasing the shot? The play I had the other night A1 obviously dragged his pivot foot for all to see. I have no problem telling either coach that the foul caused the travel but I'm still giving him 2 shots.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 565574)
Why would you disallow the basket? He was in the act of shooting.

The act of shooting ends when an airborne shooter returns to the floor.

Two FTs, no basket.

fullor30 Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 565617)
What are you talking about, where did I said I would call a violation? I said I would disallow the basket and award 2 shots.

Wow you're quick, I was editing and put in some have said but NOT you! Then just deleted it.

Ha! Talk about a New York second!!

Raymond Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 565619)
Wow you're quick, I was editing and put in some have said but NOT you! Then just deleted it.

Ha! Talk about a New York second!!

I'll delete the evidence. :D

GoodwillRef Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 565590)
Which you won't get, because I would be scoring the basket (in my mind) right with the calling official.

So if you start you shooting motion and I push you and you take 3 steps you are going to going to let your partner count the basket?

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 565628)
So if you start you shooting motion and I push you and you take 3 steps you are going to going to let your partner count the basket?

Three steps, I'll see. Two steps, I'll see. Pivot foot dragging, I probably won't see.

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison (Post 565564)
As a player is going up for a try he is bumped. The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket.

Do you count the basket or award two shots and disallow the basket.
I have also seen the bump cause the shooter to drag his pivot foot before releasing the ball on the try.

Thanks for the help.

A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if successful.

If they could, a little bit of pondering will make you realize that players could take advantage of this, and how they would do it. Since we don't see players taking advantage of this situation, there must not be this situation to be taken advantage of! Whistle the foul, waive the basket off and signal the reason why: travelling. Award 2 or 3 shots.

fullor30 Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 565620)
I'll delete the evidence. :D

You weren't at Watergate were you???:D

GoodwillRef Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 565636)
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

If they could, a little bit of pondering will make you realize that players could take advantage of this, and how they would do it. Since we don't see players taking advantage of this situation, there must not be this situation to be taken advantage of! Whistle the foul, waive the basket off and signal the reason why: travelling. Award 2 or 3 shots.

A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

What page in the rule book is this on?

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 565643)
You weren't at Watergate were you???:D

obviously not. :)

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 565644)
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

What page in the rule book is this on?

Say A1 gets fouled, and then takes 3 steps, releases the ball, and it goes in. Are you going to count it?

bob jenkins Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 565644)
A player cannot commit a violation or foul after they've been fouled, and expect that the shot will still count if succesful.

What page in the rule book is this on?

The one where a ball becomews dead if a violation occurs and there's no exception for "continuous motion".

SmokeEater Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 565649)
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"As a player is going up for a try he is bumped"

ROBERT E. HARRISON
"The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket."

Therefore what BBR & Juggler says is correct.

asdf Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:39am

If you are quick enough to realize that the foul caused the travel, then you should be quick enough to know that the "travel" ends the try and no points can then be awarded...

Shoot 2 FT's and score no points.

Indianaref Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater (Post 565665)
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket."

Therefore what BBR & Juggler says is correct.

Yes. You and Bob are correct. Continuous motion does not apply since the violation occurred and before the ball had left his hand. 2 shots.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 07, 2009 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565577)
I will add if it's an airborne shooter who gets fouled, once he returns to the floor with the ball, it's gonna be two shots.



Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 02:54pm

Good point, Mark. Obviously, that's not the play I was envisioning.

eg-italy Wed Jan 07, 2009 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 565764)
Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.

I talk about FIBA rules: the act of shooting ends when the player returns with both feet on the floor after releasing the ball (15.2).

But the problem of the OP is different; Robert was only asking about the basket, not about shooting attempt. It's clear that traveling before releasing the ball, but after being fouled, causes the ball to become dead: wave off the basket and award two FT. But I concur with others in saying that I'd not be looking very closely to the fouled player's feet.

Ciao

just another ref Wed Jan 07, 2009 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 565764)
Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.

MTD, Sr.

I'd have to see this play, but I don't picture a shooting motion that starts before the first landing in this case.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565829)
I'd have to see this play, but I don't picture a shooting motion that starts before the first landing in this case.

By rule, the shooting motion starts when as a player is gathering the ball for a layup; well before the first landing. Too many officials don't give them this, though.

just another ref Wed Jan 07, 2009 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565839)
By rule, the shooting motion starts when as a player is gathering the ball for a layup; well before the first landing.

This is based on what?

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565844)
This is based on what?

This wording:
Quote:

The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

just another ref Wed Jan 07, 2009 04:10pm

I think this is a stretch. A player may do anything after he "gathers the ball" at the end of a dribble. Also, MTD's play could be any kind of shot, not necessarily a layup. A player often shoots a fadeaway after a jump stop.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565849)
I think this is a stretch. A player may do anything after he "gathers the ball" at the end of a dribble. Also, MTD's play could be any kind of shot, not necessarily a layup. A player often shoots a fadeaway after a jump stop.

A player may do anything after he jumps for a shot, too, but that doesn't matter. See the whole play.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 07, 2009 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565584)
I'll probably count those, just because I'm not watching the feet so closely when I've already called contact.

Have you ever seen a high level official wave a shot off for this reason? I haven't, and I doubt I'd want to be the first.

I have....once. Took a brief explanation to the coach and he agreed because he saw his player take the extra steps.

Adam Wed Jan 07, 2009 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 565894)
I have....once. Took a brief explanation to the coach and he agreed because he saw his player take the extra steps.

Extra steps I can understand; 99% of kids give up by then. I just don't know if I'd be able to see the pivot foot slide.

Rich Wed Jan 07, 2009 06:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 565628)
So if you start you shooting motion and I push you and you take 3 steps you are going to going to let your partner count the basket?

I'll let you know if that happens in the next 22 years of my "career." LOL.

Garden variety travel? I probably won't even be looking for it.

Raymond Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565899)
Extra steps I can understand; 99% of kids give up by then. I just don't know if I'd be able to see the pivot foot slide.

Well, I saw it....and administered accordingly.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy (Post 565820)
I talk about FIBA rules: the act of shooting ends when the player returns with both feet on the floor after releasing the ball (15.2).

But the problem of the OP is different; Robert was only asking about the basket, not about shooting attempt. It's clear that traveling before releasing the ball, but after being fouled, causes the ball to become dead: wave off the basket and award two FT. But I concur with others in saying that I'd not be looking very closely to the fouled player's feet.

Ciao


eg:

I knew that but I think that is a minor point. NCAA Men's use to have that same proviso but is not in line with NFHS and NCAA Women's. But I agree that once we see the contact we tend to forbet about the player's feet.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565829)
I'd have to see this play, but I don't picture a shooting motion that starts before the first landing in this case.



just another ref:

Look at it this way: What is the first thing, that a player who is dribbling the ball, have to do to shoot the ball? Stop his dribble. The stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting.

Going back to my OP. While the illegal contact can occur very early in the "potential" act of shooting. Go ahead and sound your whistle when the contact occurs, but see the whole play. Why? If at any time after the illegal contact A1 passes the ball instead of releasing the ball for a field attempt the foul is a common foul and not a foul against a player in the act of shooting.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 565984)
just another ref:

Look at it this way: What is the first thing, that a player who is dribbling the ball, have to do to shoot the ball? Stop his dribble. The stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting.

not necessarily

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565995)
not necessarily



just another ref:

It is if he ends up shooting the ball, :D.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 565996)
just another ref:

It is if he ends up shooting the ball, :D.

MTD, Sr.


A player may pick up his dribble and stand still for any period of time and then "end up shooting the ball."

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565998)
A player may pick up his dribble and stand still for any period of time and then "end up shooting the ball."

It's all about the habitual shooting motion, not just picking up your dribble. On a player shooting a layup, this starts early.

The player doing a jump stop could also start this motion on his way down as he gathers the ball for his shot.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 08, 2009 06:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565998)
A player may pick up his dribble and stand still for any period of time and then "end up shooting the ball."


Just Another Ref:

Read what Snaqs wrote in his post that precedes this one. If the play is continuous, yes, the stopping of the dribble does start the act of shooting. In your example it does not.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 08, 2009 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 565984)
If at any time after the illegal contact A1 passes the ball instead of releasing the ball for a field attempt the foul is a common foul and not a foul against a player in the act of shooting.

Reference, please.

fullor30 Thu Jan 08, 2009 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 565984)
just another ref:

Look at it this way: What is the first thing, that a player who is dribbling the ball, have to do to shoot the ball? Stop his dribble. The stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting.

Going back to my OP. While the illegal contact can occur very early in the "potential" act of shooting. Go ahead and sound your whistle when the contact occurs, but see the whole play. Why? If at any time after the illegal contact A1 passes the ball instead of releasing the ball for a field attempt the foul is a common foul and not a foul against a player in the act of shooting.

MTD, Sr.

I think I know what you're trying to say, yet wording imho is not clear.

To say the stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting by it self is erroneous. Secondly, we've all encountered a player attempting a try and by the force of the foul, alters their attempt and passes. It is an officials judgement whether or not he was in the act of shooting. No rule, just common sense.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 08, 2009 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 566088)
Reference, please.



Bob:

My statement refers to the play I described in my OP.

NFHS R4-S11-A2 states: "If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight."

Going back to my play: If A1 releases the ball for a field goal attempt, anytime after he was fouled, then A1's attempt started when he stopped his dribble. If A1, passes the ball to A2 at anytime after he was fouled, then A1 was not fouled during the act of shooting. The definition of continuous motion does not imply a patient whistle but does imply that the official see the whole play. The official must recognize the foul but watch the whole play.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 08, 2009 01:14pm

To fullor30.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 566092)
I think I know what you're trying to say, yet wording imho is not clear.

To say the stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting by it self is erroneous. Secondly, we've all encountered a player attempting a try and by the force of the foul, alters their attempt and passes. It is an officials judgement whether or not he was in the act of shooting. No rule, just common sense.


fullor30:

1) You said: "To say the stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting by it self is erroneous."

I don't think you understand the defintition of continuous motion. Go back and reread my posts in this thread. Not ever stoppage of a dribble is the start of the act of shooting but when it is part of one continuous act of play by one player it can be the start of the act of shooting.


2) You said: "We've all encountered a player attempting a try and by the force of the foul, alters their attempt and passes. It is an officials judgement whether or not he was in the act of shooting."

I do not disagree with you. That is why we are paid the big (:D) dollars to officiate.


3) You said: "No rule, just common sense."

Lock your common sense in the car when you arrive at the game site. Use the rules and logic instead.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 566172)
Bob:

My statement refers to the play I described in my OP.

NFHS R4-S11-A2 states: "If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight."

Going back to my play: If A1 releases the ball for a field goal attempt, anytime after he was fouled, then A1's attempt started when he stopped his dribble. If A1, passes the ball to A2 at anytime after he was fouled, then A1 was not fouled during the act of shooting. The definition of continuous motion does not imply a patient whistle but does imply that the official see the whole play. The official must recognize the foul but watch the whole play.

MTD, Sr.


I'm 95% certain that there's an NFHS interp to the effect that "if A1 was inthe actr of shooting at the time of the foul, then it's a shooting foul even if A1 passes after the foul."

fullor30 Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 566174)
fullor30:

1) You said: "To say the stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting by it self is erroneous."

I don't think you understand the defintition of continuous motion. Go back and reread my posts in this thread. Not ever stoppage of a dribble is the start of the act of shooting but when it is part of one continuous act of play by one player it can be the start of the act of shooting.


2) You said: "We've all encountered a player attempting a try and by the force of the foul, alters their attempt and passes. It is an officials judgement whether or not he was in the act of shooting."

I do not disagree with you. That is why we are paid the big (:D) dollars to officiate.


3) You said: "No rule, just common sense."

Lock your common sense in the car when you arrive at the game site. Use the rules and logic instead.

MTD, Sr.

mark, I understand continuous motion. I'm being nit picky in your writing which the stand alone sentence "The stopping of the dribble is the start of the act of shooting" is wrong. What you meant to say............oh never mind we both agree.

Yes we do get paid the big bucks!

I equate common sense with logic........again semantics.

I feel for you with that Buckeye loss, I was pullin' for them.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 566216)
I'm 95% certain that there's an NFHS interp to the effect that "if A1 was inthe actr of shooting at the time of the foul, then it's a shooting foul even if A1 passes after the foul."


Bob:

To be honest, I do not ever remember just an interpretation. In general, a live ball becames dead when a foul occurs. Continuous motion provides an exception that prevents the defense from gaining advantage by committing a foul. One still has to see the entire play.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1